We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Praga 1

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Praga 1 to your Saves list
Hotel Praga 1
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zitna 5 | Praha 1, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Praha 2)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #251 of 661 Hotels in Prague
nyc
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Hotel Praga 1 provided us with great shuttle service from airport. Staff was very polite and helpful. They gave us complimentary drink coupons for the hotel bar which was a nice treat. Rooms were basic and clean. The size of the room was good for 2 people. The buffet breakfast included cereal, fruits, eggs, breads, ham, sausage, yogurt, danish, coffee, tea, and many other breakfast choices. We were able to walk to most of the attractions. The metro and trams are very close, walking distance. There are many shops, pubs, and cafes around this area to go if you wish to avoid the city center. We were very pleased with this hotel and enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praga11, Team leader at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you very much for your stay at the hotel Praga 1. And also thank you for your positive comment on TripAdvisor. It is very important for us. We´re happy you enjoyed the good location of the hotel and friendly staff.
We would be more than happy if we have a chance welcome you again in the future.
I wish you all the best
With best regards
Federica Fiori and reception team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    170
    62
    14
    4
See reviews for
59
169
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pardubice, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Better than average, but less than very good (make it 3.5 /5?) We got this hotel through an opaque hotel aggregator for a nice price. It was clean, had wifi, a decent breakfast, friendly staff and well, it was a great place to lie down at night. The only thing is... we'd been expecting something a little more. It was advertised as a 4-star hotel, and it really isn't. There are no perks or frills (say, bathrobes or slippers, rugs on the floors, etc.), the bathrooms are tiny and the rooms are spartan. We previously stayed at the Mamaison Riverside Hotel (also 4-stars) for a similar price and there's a world of difference in comfort and luxury between the two.

So, if you're looking for a place to sleep and not much else, this really is a fine hotel and we had no problems whatsoever. It's just not exactly what we were expecting.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

We originally booked at hotel Galileo but arrived to be told it was over booked. Angry at first, we were quickly taken by cab (paid for by the hotel) To Hotel Praga 1. Upon arrive we were upgraded to a suite and also this move meant we were situated only 5 minutes walk from Wenceslas Square.

We had an amazing stay at this hotel. Staff were very friendly and the breakfast always started the day well. Thank you for your stay and also acting quickly about our original booking. Have internet access was also a bonus.

P.s if you ever need an iron just ask. They found one and delivered to my room with the board. Thanks :-D

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praga11, Team leader at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this review, March 2, 2011
Dear traveler,

Thank you very much for your stay at our hotel Praga 1 and also your comment on TripAdvisor.
I´m happy you enjoyed the good lacation of the hotel, friendly staff and your room. (after the problems with overbooking in hotel Galileo.We again deeply apologize.)
We hope that in future you use our services again.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
With best regards
Federica Fiori and reception team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for four nights in February.

On arrival at the airport we walked to the designated pick up point which was very easy to find. The driver greated us, along with others, and took us to the hotel which was around 30 minutes away. The only downfall to this is that they only sent one 7 seater taxi and there were over 15 people waiting. Also, we had to wait 1 hour 15 mins in the airport terminal as the service is every 2 hours. However, we were lucky enough to be taken in the first taxi.

The first impression we had was that this was a very well presented hotel. This impression stayed with us throughout our stay as it was always clean.

The room we had was 601...top floor and apparently the best view the hotel had to offer...thank you! This room is very spacious and looks out towards the hillside and the castle. The chambermaids were excellent in maintaining the room for us...thank you. On a few occasions we could smell cigarette smoke from another guest's room...disgusting. Not the hotel's fault, just an idiot guest.

The room had a safe for small items at no extra charge. I felt the security of the hotel to be excellent as the door at night remained locked but easily accesible as the receptionist had full view of the door to let us in. They also had security camera's monitoring who enters and leaves on the outside.

Breakfast was good. Between 7 and 10am so we did not feel rushed and we could get up and about at a reasonable time. One thing missing though...Beans. One outstanding offering was the pancakes. I just wish they were offered everyday not just every other day.

The location of the hotel is fantastic. It is not in the loud centre of town (The Square) nor is it so far out that you need transport to get there. I would estimate the times to walk casually to the main square to be 5 - 10 minutes, old town 15 - 20 minutes and the castle 40 - 45 minutes all depending on which route you take. We booked an excursion one day to Terezin which was organised very quickly and efficiently by the receptionist through an external company...thank you Tomas for doing this for us.

There is a small off-license shop next door to the hotel selling essentials at reasonable prices. Much cheaper than the prices charged for the hotel room mini-bars.

What we found great about the hotel:
Great location for most things
Friendly and Helpful Staff
Convienient for pretty much everything
Pancakes at breakfast...more please!
Security

Things for the hotel to consider:
We could smell cigarette smoke coming from another guest's room (not the hotel's fault, just inconsiderate idiots)...maybe install smoke detectors?
The lift made a 'bing bong' noise when the doors opened whcih could be heard through the night. (Would be great if this was de-activated)
Had to wait over an hour for the free shuttle to come and pick us up, some people were left behind as only one taxi had come for over 15 guests.
I could not get the FREE WIFI in our room...is the signal strong enough?

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay and recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Prague to see the sights of the city. One tip though...in February you need to wrap up...it was -16 on the day we left...ouch.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praga11, Team leader at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for your choice for staying at our hotel Praga 1. I appreciate the time you took to write your review. I am very happy to hear that you have been satisfied with our service and staff.
Please accept my apologies - problem with our airport shuttle lies in the fact that we never know how many people will be at the airport. It often happens that no one use our free shuttle service form the airport therefore we can not have more cars at the airport.
Hopefully we will have opportunity to welcome you again back!
With best regards Federica Fiori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

Great find! Hotel is a 20 minute walk from the old town and most of the tourist attractions, and less than 5 minutes from many great bars an restaurants. We were able to walk everywhere; never had to take a cab/bus/tram etc. The free shuttle from the airport to hotel was very convenient, but you have to find your own way back. (We took the subway to airport on the way back which was easy and cheap -about $3)
The included breakfast was delicious and very filling (eggs, sausage, cereal, coffee, juice, baked goods, yogurt.)

The room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. Only downsides were lots of noise from some construction, loud guests in the hall at times, and one rude and unhelpful front desk staff. Other than that it was a great hotel and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a reasonable and comfortable place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praga11, Team leader at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
Dear Madam/ Sir,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay at our hotel Praga 1. We very appreciate.
We are glad you enjoyed the good location and services.
We are looking forward to your next visit. I wish you all the best.
With best regards
Federica Fiori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Nice quiet and clean hotel with great location. I really liked the staff that is very friendly and helpful but also the rooms are very good quality for money.
Near enough to everything you need. I would love to go back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praga11, Team leader at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
Dear Sir,
I´m very happy to hear that you have been satisfied with your stay at our hotel Praga 1 and I would like to thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
We hope that in future you use our services again.
With kind regards
Federica Fiori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

Hotel is in New Town (est. 1348), on the edge of Old Town - walk around the corner and you're into the main tourist area. Room was spacious with a full queen bed, fridge, modern TV (not that we used it), good clean bathroom (shower stall a little small for me). Clean and comfortable older hotel with marble staircase with wrought iron rails.. friendly staff who looked up train schedules for us, helped with directions, etc. Really good breakfast buffet. We booked through hotwire and got a great price. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praga11, Team leader at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
Dear Sir / Madam,

I would like to thank you for your stay at hotel Praga 1 and also for sharing your experiencies on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is very important to us.
I hope we will have a chance to welcome you back in future.
With best regards
Federica Fiori and reception team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Praga 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praga 1

Address: Zitna 5 | Praha 1, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#167 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praga 1 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Praga 1The Hotel & Residence PRAGA 1 is situated in the centre of Prague at 5 Zitna Street.There is an underground and tram station nearby (approx. 100 m) named ″Karlovo náměstí″, from where you can get anywhere you need to go. The famous Wenceslas square is only 5 minutes' walk from our residence. We look forward to your visit and we wish you a pleasant stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Praga 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praga 1 Hotel
Praga 1 Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Praga 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.