We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, odd room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Waldstein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Waldstein to your Saves list
Hotel Waldstein
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Valdstejnske Namesti 6, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic (Mala Strana (Little Quarter))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #205 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Taunton, Somerset
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great location, odd room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We booked Christmas away via Easyjet holidays, picking the Waldstein as our base for the 3 days.

On arrival at the hotel it looked exactly as it does on the website, in the parliament area of Prague, very grand and regal, the door was opened on our arrival and we were led to reception, the staff looked worried by something and we both thought 'here we go, something's up' eventually we were given a room number 231 and asked to wait for the porter to take our cases to our room. The porter then led us away from the hotel to the next street, he took us to a large wooden door and struggled to open it with our keys, it eventually swung open to a very dark hallway, the porter admitted that this was the first time he had been to this building and had no idea where the lights or our room were, I quickly found the lights and we were led up some very stone steps to the first floor. The porter asked us to wait while he searched for our room, he's a big man but he's out of shape as he eventually returned, wheezing and sweating, he told us he had found our room but we would take the lift. The list was just around the corner and was not really designed for the giant porter, myself, my wife and two cases, we stood nose to nose, trying not to crack up laughing.

Once the lift door opened our room was just outside it, the porter led us in, took his tip and was gone, we took in the ambience, don't think hotel room, think flat. We started in the kitchen, the room then opened into a living room/bed room which contained a single bed, 2 twins pushed together, a large TV and a table, the next room had another 2 twin beds pushed together which then led to the bathroom, which had another door leading back to the kitchen.

The flat was very musty and the linen smelt of stale cigarettes, we couldn't get the bath tap to work, we checked with reception and they got the maid to check the boiler, to be honest it was just a really stiff tap, which one day came off in my hand and landed on my foot.

There was something about the rooms, we don't know what but we never really had a good nights sleep, we were a little uneasy, we didn't really feel the security of being part of the hotel and a little out on a limb.

When we first went out of the room to explore we bumped into the porter again, who was walking down the street with a large suitcase, he told us where Charles bridge was and how to get into town, very handy!

The hotel and our room were perfectly located for food, drink, trams, the castle and the old town, as it's in the parliament area it has regular police patrols which were nice to see as that area of town is quickly deserted at night.

Our TV didn't work, after bathroom water issue we couldn't be bothered to report it to reception, we popped down to breakfast on our first morning, not being part of the hotel we didn't really feel we belonged there so eat elsewhere from then on.

The maid kept the rooms very clean, and we sort of got used to the musty cigarette smell after a day, although there was something sticky on the bathroom floor when we got there and it was still sticky when we left.

When we left we wanted to go to the airport earlier than our planned airport shuttle ride was booked, the lady on reception was incredibly helpful and wouldn't take a tip from us.

For our first visit to Prauge the Waldstein was ok, we would have liked some more sleep than we actually got, when we visit again we might try the Best Western.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    160
    41
    32
    22
See reviews for
72
162
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We booked this hotel because it offers 4* standard. Does 4* standard hotel offers bathroom and toilet on the corridor accessible for other guests? Unfortunately we got the room no.123. It hasn't got a bathroom, bathroom and the toilet is on the corridor! When we wanted quit and leave the hotel, the receptionist offered us another room. On the ground floor with a view on the wall of the building. Room was very small, no wooden floor, with an entrance straight from the backyard (it was a problem because of snow on shoes) but with a nice, new bathroom. Breakfast nothing special, no fruits and vegetables. Be careful on this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a long weekend in Prague. The hotel had a lot of character as it was located on an inner court in a middle of an governmental district, with high security as there were police patrols monitoring the buildings next to the hotel. The hotel reception was not open when we arrived there late evening but the concierge from the hotel next door came to bring the keys and took us to our room. Not a big minus as I had read before that the hotel's own reception is not open but there will be the service still.
The hotel had seen it's best days but the room was warm, cozy and had it's own entrance, small inner yard, living room, separate bed room, and even upstairs (I think the room was ment for up to 6 persons) as it was a delux room. There even was a complimentary bottle of wine and water for us. The breakfast was good and had quite alot to choose from.
The most important thing was location. The Prague's Old Town was right there, 10 mins walk to the Castle and 5 mins to the St. Charle's Bridge. If you went to stand outside, you could see the Castle and you notice, how quiet the neighborhood is. On the Malostranska namesti, you could find Starbucks, if you are a coffeeholic or in need of a free WiFi. The restaurants (locals and int'ls) are worth while checking as well.
I'd be happy to recommend this hotel for a long weekend or even for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Spend some extra for deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Four of us stayed here from 2nd to 5th November 2012. Hotel very old with lots of character. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms were amazing. Breakfast varied. Very close to the Castle and to Charles Bridge. Perfect location. Couldn't fault it. We would stay there again (not that we are planning on going to Prague again as this is our second visit) but would recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front with a view of the Castle which was perfect but the only downside to this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent. England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

When I booked this hotel, for my wife and myself for our wedding anniversary, I understod that it was situated in Prauge's Old Town, but it is, in fact just off the Lesser Old Town, over the Charles Bridge (Karlov Most) on tbe other side of the river, overlooked by Prague Castle and St Vitus Cathedral, which are only a short walk away. The famous Old Town and Wencleslas Square are, again, not far to walk (ten to twenty minutes walk). The hotel itself has no "bells and whistles" but is a simple hotel that provides a good quality of accommodation and service. Whilst the hotel does not accommodate lunch or dinner, their breakfast is a well presented selection of hot and cold buffet. We enjoyed our time at the Waldstein and benefitted from its proximity to do nany places of interest and, if we hadn't been on that side of the river, may have missed the delights and enticements of the Lesser Old Town. I woild be happy to stay at the Waldstein again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Couldn't have wished for a better location. Within easy walking distance of all main attractions, shopping areas, restaurants etc. If walking a problem close to tram lines & hopper bus the latter of which we used 48hr ticket including 1 hour boat trip good value for money. Booked a double room but allocated a suite of two rooms sleeping five people (5 extra large single beds) with kitchette and bathroom dining table & chairs, TV. Beds very comfortable furniture was old dark wood but added to the character. Room 213 very spacious, bathroom tired but adequate for a long weekend (4 days) & piping hot water which in my book beats a modern bathroom anyday. Breakfast was self service and the choice varied. Would definitely stay here again. Absolutely enthralled with Prague. Would recommend visiting attractions at opening time as very popular. By the way we found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful we also had a man carry our bags to our room which was around the corner to the main hotel.

Room Tip: Having seen some of the pictures others had posted I think it may be a luck of the draw as to the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Yes, the location is great. And yes, it is clean. That is about the only positive things that can be said about the place. This hotel is dated and plain. from a service level, it is a motel - think holiday inn, maybe in the middle of Iowa. No bellman, no valet, no friendly staff, just a addled front desk clerk in a cigarette perfumed cubby hole, and outdoor walk ups to the rooms. Furniture - cheap and dated, beds - creaky and dated. Bathroom, Cramped and dated, and i upgraded to one of the "luxury apartments". The rate here was nuts as well - value for money was simply not even close to where it should be. And the US reservations service was difficult to reach, and not too full of information. Pictures are misleading too. If you like paying way too much for way to little value, stay here by all means

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Waldstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldstein

Address: Valdstejnske Namesti 6, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Waldstein 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The romantic Hotel Waldstein is situated directly in the historical centre of Prague in the neighborhood of the Prague Castle, close to all places of interest and a metro station. Due to the preserved unique architectural elements, the building was included in the Czech National Immovable Heritage List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Waldstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Waldstein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.