We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel at great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel William

Save Saved
You added Hotel William to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel William
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hellichova 5, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #237 of 668 hotels in Prague
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good hotel at great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Value for money 3 star hotel. We booked it via hotels.com and got a good price for 3 nights stay. The hotel is situated at good location, about 10 minutes walk to Charles Bridge. Even the Prague Castle and St.Vitus Cathedral was within walking distance. We did not even take the tram, but did all the walking tour as the location of the hotel was great. Even the Church of Our Lady of Victory where the Infant Jesus is being kept is 2 minutes away. Museum Hudby is next door.

The only limitation is the hotel does not provide any complimentary water but the tap water was good enough for us. Hair dryer could be borrowed from the reception for a deposit of 200 corona. The pillow was too thin.


In general, the hotel was clean and good, the receptionists were nice and warm people.

I would recommned this hotel for anyone.

Room Tip: Room 202 was nice....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomasLev, Manager at Hotel William, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Arrow24,
I am very pleased to read your kind comments on TripAdvisor. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay at Hotel William.
We welcome you again at our hotel during your next visit.
Kind regards.
Tomas Lev
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    161
    63
    21
    3
See reviews for
57
151
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dalat, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

When my friend and I picked Hotel William for it convenient location, but also because we mistook that it would be an above-budget, if not luxurious, hotel. But when we checked in, we realized that the room we got (twin-beds) was tiny and more than a little musty. The bed linen was clean, but well-worn. We spent a weekend in Prague, and spent most of our time outdoors, so we saw our room only at the end of a tired day of walking around Prague's cobbled streets. The location is definitely a big plus. It's walking distance to the Old Town and the tram stop is right outside. Many other reviewers had raved about their breakfast. But that too turned out to be a disappointment, with very little variety or below-average quality of food. But we felt we paid more than average hotel rates for a hotel that was just not worth that, in terms of the room and the breakfast buffet.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomasLev, Manager at Hotel William, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Mr.Supernova84,
thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay at Hotel William.
As the new manager, thank you for your suggestions for improving services. I believe that the next time you will be more satisfied with our services.
With best regards
Tomas Lev
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Best for people requiring quieter stay - which we did. Easy walk to bridge and old town. Staff were excellent - very friendly and most helpful. Room was spacious (for two) and very clean. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomasLev, Manager at Hotel William, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Clive P.,
I am most grateful for your kind comments on TripAdvisor. Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your experience and for indicating you would recommend our Hotel William.
We certainly look forward to welcome you.
Sincerely
Tomas Lev
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sèvres, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel is okay. The location is 2 minutes away from karlove moste and 30 seconds away from petrinska park, beds were cozy, maids and cooks friendly, the buffet breakfast was pretty complete, and decoration fancy (in a good way).... BUT: I asked for the hotel's transportation to pick us up at the airport a MONTH prior to our arrival, but when we arrived there was none. ???. Then we asked for changing beds,we booked for 1 large bed and 1 single bed but they said not possible so We had to stick to the 2 single bed. I thought, Okay the hotel Must be booked up, whatever. But then we had to face stubbornness or resentment, idk. The receptionist didn't book the taxi for our arrival, then, we asked for being waked up at 8:30 am by phone... didn't happened. We asked at reception counter for the hotel's transportation, never arrived either and i felt a certain lack of regard from the receptionists when asking for anything except when I had to pay for it. Once I asked where was the nearest laundry (no so popular in Czech Rep) they shown me that place near wenceslas square which is a long way fro the hotel. I finally found one 200 meters away. I was willing to tell them where it was on a map so it could be useful for next customers... They stared at me like I was some freak.. While the maid were lovely, and appreciated that we made little effort to learn a few Czech words, and even offered to make us sandwiches for lunch!!! So I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to avoid eye contact or doesn't need a reception at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomasLev, Manager at Hotel William, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Decoust H,
thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.com.
Allow me to introduce myself. My name is Tomas Lev and I'm the new director from 1st. of September at Hotel William.
I really do apologize for the experience from our hotel. I am confident that your next visit to the hotel will have no complications and you will be fully satisfied.
With best regards

Tomas Lev
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We only spent a night in William hotel in one of their apartments in the first floor. Very spacious and comfortable, quiet enough to get rest and night sleep after walking the "marathon of Prague". Location of the hotel made it perfect for short outings nearby and shopping sessions in downtown quarter, same for coming back to our apart. for downloading the shopping basket, or breaks for rest.
Wifi-internet connection & reception service - all right, but not to speak highly about ~ ( their ' speed ' is not exactly 'high speed' ). Pleasant personnel, but only the concierge was speaking English - I think :) .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_at_William, Manager at Hotel William, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Altauprieten,
I am very pleased to read your comments on TripAdvisor. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay at hotel William.
Kind regards.
Tomas Lev
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location to visit the center of Prague!

We stayed for two nights with our baby daughter, brought our own travell crib. Our room was nice and spacios, but it only had one window to a tiny courtyard. As we used our room only for sleeping, maybe it was better this way, as the room was really quiet.

The breakfast was good, and they had a highchair as well for the baby.

The only disadvantage of the hotel when travelling with a baby is that the elevator operates only between the first and the fourth floor. You have to climb about 20steps from the entrance. Our buggy is not the smallest, that is true, but it did not fit in the elevator we had to leave it in the car.

The hotel has a private parking (relatively expensive) but the parking situation in the center is terrible, so we were happy about it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_at_William, Manager at Hotel William, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Centperle,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay at hotel William.
Kind regards
Tomas Lev
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cremona, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

pro:
- central position
- room is clean
- breakfast is ok

contro:
- room is extremly noisy, even with the double window closed. you hear your neighbours walking in the room.
- there is nothing to darken the room in the night; light from 5 a.m.
- room is very small

Room Tip: if you just slep in the room, and don't mind noises and light, is ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_at_William, Manager at Hotel William, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Diecan68,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and your observations.
Greetings from Prague
Tomas Lev
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel William

Address: Hellichova 5, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#158 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel William 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
William Hotel Prague
Hotel William Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel William, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.