We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel with excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel William

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel William to your Saves list
Hotel William
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hellichova 5, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Mala Strana (Little Quarter))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #259 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great value hotel with excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Great location in Mala Strana, in a calmer and more quiet part of the city but very close to all main attractions, especially the Charles Bridge. There's a tram stop right in front which makes it easier to go around when not on foot, we never needed to take a cab.
The hotel is very comfortable and clean, and we would definitively recommend it. As noted in other reviews, the hotel has a fancy decoration style at the entrance and lobby, but the rooms are quite comfortable, with a simple clean design. We had a large and spacious room at the 5th floor, and we didn't have any noise issues as described in other reviews. The hotel even had a lift, which evidently helped carrying the luggage to our room. There was a reasonable breakfast already included in the rate. The staff was friendly and helpful. All in all, we had a pleasant stay and the hotel was really great value, since the last minute rate we got was actually lower than double rooms with private bathrooms at hostels, with much better quality.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_at_William, Manager at Hotel William, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Globetrottersaopaulo,
I am very pleased to read your kind comments on TripAdvisor. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay at hotel William.
We welcome you again at our hotel during your next visit.
Kind regards.
Greetings from Prague
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    167
    65
    20
    4
See reviews for
64
167
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The hotel is situation just half a mins walk from the local tramline (Hellichova) which provides a good connection to the rest of the city to see most everything that Prague offers. It was good budget price and clean but a few things to be noted which is not noted on its website.There is one long flight of stairs to reach the floor where the (tiny) elevator is situated and from there when you get out on any floor, you have to either climb one flight of stairs up or down to get to the floor where your room is. That was a problem for me as i have mobility issues but otherwise may not prove to be a detriment to others
The hotel is clean but has no fans so gets a bit stuffy in summer, and there are no toiletries given in the bathroom. Also the towels are not changed unless you leave them inside the shower cubicle - thats a point to note. The continental breakfast spread was good.
This hotel is only very good if you want to be on a strict budget.
The hotel is situated only about 8 mins walk from Charles Bridge ...and if you cross the bridge its another 5 mins walk to reach the Old Town Square, which itself is 5 mins walk from the new town square (or little town square). Its two tramline stops to the nearest Metro station in Malostranska from where its just one underground stop to Prague Castle. From Hellichova if you take the tram to one stop on the other side to Uzjed stop then its 3 mins walk to Kampa where there is a tiny island strip...and if you follow that route it brings you to the base of Charles Bridge in 10 mins - this is an interesting place as it has lovely restaurant by the River Vlatava. Also there are some lovely shops beneath the bridge to shop for Czech art glass - they are varied and interesting. From there ofcourse its just a 10 min walk back across the bridge to Hellichova to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_at_William, Manager at Hotel William, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Mun M.,
thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay with us at Hotel William.
As a new hotel manager since 01.09.2013 I will do everything for improve our services.
Greetings from Prague
Tomas Lev
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed here in December 2012 for 5 days. Excellent location, 5 minutes from Charles Bridge and within easy walking distance of attractions in the city. We expected to buy transport tickets but saved the money as we could walk almost everywhere. Lots of attractions in the city and there are also a few near the hotel such as Petrin Hill and the furnicular railway and some sculpture art which is quite interesting. The tram stops right outside the hotel. We got a tram from the airport, connected once and arrived right outside the hotel. The fare was very small. £3 pp at the most. Took a taxi back to the airport from the main square 5 mins from the hotel and was priced at the standard fare. Hotel breakfast was substantial with lots of cold meats and bread and cheeses and there was also a hot option of eggs, bacon and sausage. Most of the guests were Russian and German but don't let this put you off, the receptionists spoke good English and were able to direct us to some good restaurants on the same street as the hotel and further afield. Rooms were average size and warm and bathrooms were very modern. Booked with Thomas Cook city breaks and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher floors less noise, better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_at_William, Manager at Hotel William, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear ShophieL438,
I am most grateful for your kind comments on TripAdvisor. Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your experience and for indicating you would recommend our Hotel William.
We certainly look forward to welcome you.
Sincerely
Tomas Lev
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Hotel is located just a few minutes walk from Charles bridge and just under Petrin hill. Our room was in good condition however squeaking floor from next door woke me up few times. Bathroom looked brand new and everything was spotless. Stylish breakfast room had a good selection to choose from.

Room Tip: If possible ask for the room not facing the main street as trams run until about midnight and could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_at_William, Manager at Hotel William, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Jozef76,
thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay with us at Hotel William. I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your trip.
Thank you for your positive rating and for recommending our hotel to TripAdvisor.
Best regards.
Tomas Lev
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent, a few minutes walk to the Charles Bridge, surrounded by pubs and restaurants. The room was a little on the "cosy" side, but the bathroom was a decent size, very clean. The breakfast area is very quaint with a good selection of cheese, meats, breads, fruit, cereal, pastries and a small selection of hot food, sausage, bacon, eggs and beans.
Easy quick check in and out, small elevator and friendly helpful English speaking staff.
The hotel is located in the Lesser Town area which was a little quieter than the Old Town but very central to The Castle and Cathedral, Petrin Hill, Old Town Square and the Astronomical Clock. The zoo was very good, a metro and bus ride away. Cheap transport tickets can be bought from newsagents left and opposite of hotel. A 24 hour pass for Metro, trams, buses and Funicular railway to Petrin Hill is 110 CZK (around £3.60). Food and drink is very good value especially the local dishes outside of the main tourist areas.
We have already recommended this hotel to our friends and family and would have no doubts staying there again when we return the beautiful fairytale city of Prague.

Room Tip: Try to request a higher floor room away from the main street to avoid the slight noise of the trams
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_at_William, Manager at Hotel William, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Mutterfamily,
Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your experience and for indicating you would recommend our Hotel William.
We certainly look forward to welcome you.
Sincerely
Tomas Lev
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The location of this hotel at the price we paid is hard to beat. It is just minutes to Charles Bridge, close to Petrin, right next to Kampa Island. Tram station is right in front of the hotel which is very convenient but may result in a lot of noise at night if you end up with a room facing the street. I recommend asking for a room with a courtyard view. There is no AC, so if this is a deal breaker, book somewhere else. We stayed twice in July 2011 and August 2012 and noticed that not all the rooms are the same size. Breakfast was always decent but they don't always seem to refill everything they run out of during the serving hours, so it pays to get there early. I grew up in the Czech Republic, so language was not an issue for me, but had a chance to observe that the front desk staff spoke fluently at least English and Russian. Upon request, they arranged a ride to the airport for us. It was more expensive than taking a cab but seemed worth it. The driver was on time (actually early), helped with luggage, spoke English (which we did not need), did not drive us around (as cabs often do to charge more) but went straight to the airport, price was preset (however, he charged less in the end that what we agreed on with the hotel receptionist). Overall, the hotel is good value in a great location for a reasonable price; however, nothing fancy and I have to admit, that the decoration of the interior is--well not my taste. The only reason why I am not giving it 5 stars is that on our second visits, it looked like the sheets, towels, and tablecloths have seen better days and the hotel would benefit from some upgrades. But I have to admit, I will take a less than brand new-looking towel over a price of other hotel in the area. Tip: The hotel is 5-10 minutes away from Charles Bridge which gets really crowded in summer. My recommendation:Get up early and have quick breakfast an walk to the Charles Bridge through Kampa. Get there before or around 8 a.m., don't forget your camera, and if the weather cooperates, you won't regret it. You will probably be rewarded by the bridge almost to yourself and have the ability to take some pictures without hundreds of tourists in the background.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a courtyard room to avoid the noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_at_William, Manager at Hotel William, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Vera L.
I am very pleased to read your kind comments on TripAdvisor. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay at hotel William.
Our hotel offers several sizes of rooms, it is true, and this is due to the historical construction of buildings.
Thank you for your insights for breakfast quality, I will do everything for your satisfaction on your next visit.
Greeting from your home country.
Tomas Lev
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Great old style hotel, which would benefit from some improvements especially in the public areas. The carpet on the stairways looks like it hasn't been cleaned since they opened the Hotel ages ago:-) We would also suggest those intending to come with a bicycle to thing twice about alternatives as the locker room provided is upstairs and doubles as storage for normal luggage, which hve to be removed every time you want to get your bikes out.

Overall a great place to stay with some limitations. We witnessed a few guests heavily complaining about the street noise. We were lucky staying here this May as it seems to be the best month to visit Prague and especially this Hotel - in the summer the guests staying on one of the rooms towards the streets surely will have a little bit bigger problem as we did as you can either close the windows and are reasonable protected against the sounds of the streets.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_at_William, Manager at Hotel William, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Helgolander,
thank you for your review from your stay at hotel William and also thank you for your information and observations to the services of cyclists.
With best regards
Tomas Lev
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel William

Address: Hellichova 5, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#168 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel William 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
William Hotel Prague
Hotel William Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel William, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.