We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Vyse-rude” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vysehrad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vysehrad to your Saves list
Hotel Vysehrad
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Marie Cibulkove 29, Prague 140 00 , Czech Republic (Praha 4)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #422 of 662 Hotels in Prague
A TripAdvisor Member
“Hotel Vyse-rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2005

Two of us stayed at the Hotel Vysehrad for 2 nights. Upon arrival, we were very jetlagged and were treated very rudely when we reached the hotel. We were told not to use the elevator and had to lug our suitcases to the top floor on our own--even when the elevator was working. The room was not the best: the bedsheets didn't completely cover the mattress, the pillows didn't smell quite right, and something in the room was musty. The hotel staff, even though they spoke good English, were very unhelpful with questions regarding where to find a bank that accepted travelers checks and where to eat. We were returning to Prague to live (we moved into our apartment the day we checked out), and knew several people. One of our friends visited us in our room one evening and the hotel staff gave us a very rude, accusatory lecture on their unpublicized "no-guests" policy. They also wanted to charge us for a third person because our friend had visited our room. We asked if we could leave our baggage only for a few hours upon checkout, and were shown a public hallway in which to leave our things and told the hotel was not responsible for any stolen items. Upon return to the hotel to collect our bags, we asked if the hotel staff would phone a cab for us. I was handed the phone, with which I did not have the code to dial out of the hotel and was provided no assistance. We ended up using a public phone elsewhere because of the staff's refusal to assist us in our call. Overall, I would not recommend Hotel Vysehrad unless you want to feel very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    21
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
3
15
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2005

I think that Hotel Vysehrad's slightly less than central location really added to its charm. Our room was more than ample, clean, and comfortable. Our window faced the front of the hotel, so admittedly, our view was ...more inspiring...than those on the other side. But above all, it was the staff that made it more fun to stay there. Very friendly and helpful. And because it's best to avoid random cabs, all we had to do was call the hotel from wherever we were, and they'd send a cab for us. Sure, they got some kickbacks, but it was cheaper than getting ripped off; the peace of mind alone was worth it. Also, because it's in an outlying neighborhood (about 20 minutes away from the Old Town by foot and Metro), you get a little taste of real-life Prague that you might not get if you don't venture beyond the city center. The Hotel Vysehrad was a played a big part in making our 5-day stay in Prague a success!

  • Stayed July 2003
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2005

What an awful hotel. When we arrived, we were one hour before check in and asked to leave our bags and come back later. Sheer rudeness in response. When we did return and went to our room, the decor seemed to be a cross between a cottage and a 70s show. There is chintz everywhere and the bathroom pottery was red! There was a whirlpool which seemed like a good idea but when we turned it on, it stank. The maid doesnt know how to use a hoover properly either. There was construction work going on when we were there (Feb 12-14) at the back of the hotel and we were woken up at 6.30 each morning. Another guest asked the hotel clerk if there was a cheaper way to get to the airport rather than the taxi the hotel had booked - he said they could walk!! I have the say the breakfast was very good and very fresh but I wouldnt stay here again if you paid me to! If you are unfortunate to have already booked and cant cancel, at least its convenient for the metro (Im clutching at straws). There is a very cheap cafe at the Vysehrad metro stop which does lovely honey cake. Incidentally, get the metro to the end of the line then a bus from there to the airport - it works out about 60p each - not the rip off £15 or so quoted by the hotel for a taxi! There was a tourist guide in our room with a metro map and details of how to get to the airport. Incidentally, make sure you get your metro ticket stamped at first entry in one of those little yellow things otherwise its a £10 fine each! Its not well signed and we got caught out. There seemed a nice hotel in the centre - the Liberty - dont know how much it is but has to be a whole lot better than this dog kennel.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2004

Ok, the hotel was in a good location and the main attractions were only a couple of stops away on the metro which was a 5min walk away. BUT there is no way that the hotel lives up to the description given to us by our tour operator 'Leisure Direction'. I do intend to write to them about our dissapointment. The hotel is definately not 4* and not comparable to other 4 star hotels in Prague. In my opinion it would be a 2-3 star here in the UK, apparently the hotels apply their own rating which would explain it. The hotel was clean but the staff were quite ignorant, the facilities were basic and the rooms were small. The TV didn't work properly and the breakfasts were also quite basic and exactly the same every day! I certainly will not be returning to this hotel, especially at the price we paid, I expected much better and should have got much better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2004

Very happy with the hotel and its location. Nearest metro station is a short walk away and it only takes a few minutes to reach main areas of Prague because of the very efficient transport system.
Bedroom comfortable and very clean; breakfast a wide-ranging buffet; staff helpful-although a little uncertain about us leaving luggage when we arrived early.
We only paid just over £30 p.p.per night so thought that this hotel was good value.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2004

A wonderful hotel except for the location. Although it is only two stops down from Wenceslas Square, it is only truly accessible by subway. The hotel is about a seven minute walk to the station. There appears to be no tram accessibility to and from this hotel. This is a negative because Prague is best viewed via the tram. It is travel by tram that helps one appreciate the architecture and attitude of the city.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2004

Having read the reviews before I left, I was confused as to what to expect. I need not have worried. The Hotel was a few seconds over 6 mins amble from the metro stop beyond Vysehrad itself, or alternatively the tram was only a few yards further on, and a very pleasant ride. (no 18). ?4 ish buys you a 3 day pass for all tram, metro and bus travel, and is valid for 72 hours from validation, very good value. The hotel was as we expected of a 4* hotel in eastern europe. Clean and tidy but no frills. (No tea and coffee facilities in the room, but very cheap and nearly always available in the bar). The staff were lovely and always willing to help, but not in your face. At ?50 per night on a deal, and very good and inexpensive food and drink in the restaurant, I can only recommend this as a place to stay if you want to keep your costs down. We would go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vysehrad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vysehrad

Address: Marie Cibulkove 29, Prague 140 00 , Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #422 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vysehrad 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vysehrad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vysehrad Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vysehrad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.