We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and excellent service ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Union Praha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Union Praha to your Saves list
Hotel Union Praha
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ostrcilovo Namesti 4/468, Prague 12800, Czech Republic (Praha 2)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #259 of 662 Hotels in Prague
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel and excellent service ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was at the Union for the second time. Clean and nice hotel, located ten minutes from downtown. During our stay taking care of us receptionist Barbara who was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and many thanks to Ivanka in restaurant, For the next visit we will definitely return.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    81
    42
    20
    7
See reviews for
33
72
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014


I gave the hotel 5 out of 5 because my experience was excellent.
Me and my boyfriend stayed in room 111 on the first level.
I am a very light sleeper but the trams or trains didn't woke me up. I suppose it's because we kept the window closed (very cold weather in November!)
The room was very clean and looked after everyday. Towels changed every day. The bathroom was very clean and the shower had very good pressure. The room was warm and the bedding clean.
The breakfast had more than enough choices to pick from. Reading some other reviews, I really don't know what people expect?
There was a young blonde girl looking after us in the mornings during breakfast, she was very sweet and polite.
The receptionist which we came in contact with most was called Blanka. She was very nice and helpful.
Maybe the hotel was different a few years ago but at the present time I really don't have any negative observations. I truly had a lovely experience. I think some of the people that wrote reviews for the Union need to review their expectations in regards to hotels.
Other than that, the location is absolutely perfect no matter which side of the city you're going. You have trams right as you exit the hotels.
I'll definitely come back here!

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Very good hotel, with excellent price/performance value. On very good location, with clean and nice rooms.Personal is very polite and helpful, what is rare for touristic cities as Prague. I recommend this hotel to many friends and all of them were happy.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourdelles, France
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

Nice, cozy place to stay. We were worried reading some reviews. But everything was excellent -room was functional and good enough for travelers as we. We made upselling from standart room to deLux room and it was big and fresh, nice bed, great view on Vysehrad wall, we had a good breakfast, at the hotel great wifi. Helpful staff. Beautiful building of the hotel. Convenient location, close to the castle. We walked to the city center its not very far.
my recommendation for good value.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed for 4 nights at the Union hotel in Prague 2. We booked it online. Made very welcome The room was extremely comfortable, clean and big. Bed is also very comfortable. The staff were very friendly, and helpful and made us feel very welcome. Every day wewent for breakfast and it was very taste and fresh. The price for the hotel was excellent value, thank you.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje Region, Republic of Macedonia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

I was staying in hotel Union 13 days and definitely is not a 4 stars hotel. The breakfast was poor not much to pick up, couple of things only . They surf some cafe which not tasty at all. In the room i notice a couple of times spiders in every shape. They don't have nice lobby where you can meet you friends or something similar. Whatever i don't recommencemend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szczecin, Poland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Well, the location would be good but proximity of huge train terminal gives unbelievable noise. Forget about sleeping with windows opened. Forget also about A/C - there is none.
Staff friendliness was average.
Breakfast without anything fancy.

It's quite easy to recognize it was much better hotel back in 80's or 90's - especially when you realize they divided big rooms into two smaller, keeping the door between them locked.

Room Tip: Avoid room from the street side - there is train hub near by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barush K, Generální ředitel at Hotel Union Praha, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Hello Mr. Jarekl!

We are glad to receiv the review from you. It passed a long time when you stayed in our hotel. We are happy to tell you that many thing were changed in our hotel
Now we have personal air conditions in rooms.
The breakfast is completely changed with new equipment and new design in the restaurant.
In many rooms which are facing the street we changed windows and the sleeping quality was improved.
We made many personal education lessons for our staff and I believe they are really friendly and helpful.

Please Mr. Jarekl visit our hotel and find the difference by your self and give us your helpful feed back. We will prepare for you special price and room upgrade. Contact me on my email office@hotelunion.cz

General manager
Buskova Blanka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Union Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Praha

Address: Ostrcilovo Namesti 4/468, Prague 12800, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Prague
#54 Best Value Hotel in Prague
#138 Business Hotel in Prague
#169 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#217 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Union Praha 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Union Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Praha Hotel
Union Praha Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Union Praha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.