We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 star ?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Union Praha

Save Saved
You added Hotel Union Praha to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Union Praha
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ostrcilovo Namesti 4/468, Prague 12800, Czech Republic (Praha 2)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #355 of 668 hotels in Prague
Fleet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“4 star ?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

just stayed 3 nights in this hotel, only hand held showers, taps very stiff, shower cubicle door came off hinges, we were moved to another room but there was no cubicle or curtain at all. Taps just as stiff. We asked if we could upgrade to a room with proper shower and were told that none of the rooms have fixed shower which we thought was strange for 4 star. Had to ask for toilet paper and there were no handtowels after the first day. Breakfast very poor! Lingering smoky smell on bed day cover and cigarette burn hole in sheets. Safe not particularly secure, only built in wooden compartment within the cupboard. Not suitable for light sleepers, tram stop right outside hotel (which was handy) and noisy train track very close. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    90
    46
    25
    7
See reviews for
28
61
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We were upgraded to a family room due to overbooking of doubles, but it was all fine-a bit of noise from the railway line but nothing to spoil our stay. A lovely touch was the complimentary bottle of champagne for my husband's birthday, which was not announced by us but the receptionist noticed from entering his date of birth on the register.
Room was beautifully clean. Breakfast was OK -some random choices of hot food but hey ho 'when in rome' etc.Lovely walk along the river to the old town took us about 30 mins.

Room Tip: Away from the railway line if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Couldn't ask for a nicer experience! Very clean hotel. Staff is very friendly and ready to help you out with all your needs. They will provide taxis at a good price to and from airport, which is an easy 30 minutes away. They help with recommendations to restaurants and attractions...very nice and all have a wonderful sense of making you feel at home.
The rooms were spacious for Europe and their restaurant was very good as well as there free breakfast every morning.
Clean, great sleep, would stay here again in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We were staying in the hotel in july 2011 and our stay was awesome! The airport transportation to the hotel and back to the airport was easy and both drivers were very kind and the trip was confortable and secure.

The staff in the reseption and the bar as well as the staff in the breakfastroom were extreamly friendly, sweet, helpful and everybody had a very good sense of humor. They sell daily transport tickets, what we strongly recomend to buy, it is so easy to travel with it. The tramstops were in few steps away and took us quickly to the several places...metro station, straight to the theatre , castle of prague and to the shopping center. What ever we asked for the reseption they found out it if they did not know...and they knew a lot!

The room was clean and fresh and even our window was towards to the street, the noise of the trams did not reach us. May be this was because we did not have to keep windows open...the central aircondition worked perfectly well even it was quite hot outside. The beds were more than comfortable. They were hard, but good for the back! And the breakfast was delicious.

The location could not be better. It was very hot outside and when we went to the old town something was in the air what made our eyes flow. But when we came back to the hotel it stopped. The air was in that area cleaner and more fresh.

We strongly recomend you this hotel to stay. Other of us has been several year as a tourguide in many countries and she said, that this hotel including all above is one of the best compact through the years.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at the Union for a week. We had a non soling room on the first floor overlooking an interior courtyard.
The room was charming, clean and quiet. It had a huge bathroom and a good sized bath tub with an endless supply of hot water.
The hotel staff are friendly and very helpful.
The location of the hotel is a short tram ride from the major tourist sites. There Is a tram stop in front of the hotel.
It is actually a very pleasant walk to the major tourist sites from here. The neighborhood surrounding the hotel is reasonably upscale; it is calm and quiet. Google the location, this is a nice area.
A very short walk from here is an old railway station that has an excellent Czech style restaraunt with huge portions of meaty goodness and cheap beer for an inexpensive non-tourist price. I wished we had found this place sooner.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I have stayed in a number of hotels in this area of Prague, and for the money this one is the lowest value. The (single) room is small but the real issues are that there are no power outlets anywhere near the desk, there are cigarette burns on the upholstery in a non-smoking room, the bathroom was also small so that when you sit on the toilet your knees hit the shower sliding door. Most annoying is that the radiator in the bathroom is next to the sink on a location that is hard to avoid bumping into it as you enter the bathroom, and the regulator knob projects out so that it interferes with your movement when you stand in front of the sink. The breakfast is the worst I have seen in Prague. The "eggs" are from reconstituted powder and the orange "juice" is like very diluted Kool-Aid. The sausages were slimy and the coffee from the machine they had was gritty. On the bright side, the bed sheets were clean and the bed itself was comfortable. Even though the location is next to a busy street and a major rail line, the room was quite enough and it is right next to a tram stop. The staff was friendly and helpful but better values are available...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Having worked for a travel company I am very aware of the complaints that people have, so was on the lookout for any problems. We booked a triple room, and to be honest, we could easily have slept 5 in the room. The room did not have the most modern furnishings, but it was very clean, and everything was in working order, the fridge even kept everything really cold. The one draw back was the railway line. We were on the top floor facing the line, however, on saying that, the noise did not keep us awake or wake us up, but seemed noticable when everthing was quiet. We got used to it after the second night. The staff were very pleasant, and the breakfast was sufficient. There was cereal, yoghurt, cold meats, cheese and a variety of bread/rolls. There was a hot option as well, but sometimes seemed to be left over vegetables fried up. Most days there were fried viennas and on 3 mornings there were eggs in one form or another. We are sorry we did not try the lunch in the restuarant sooner. It cost us about £3.50 each and had soup and pizza. I can honestly say, one of the nicest pizza's ever. Did not eat there at night tho. One night we went around the corner to the Caravel restuarant. That was also reasonable and although they did not seem to have a lot of what was on the menu, we eventually settled for pork chops, however eneded up getting ribs - but they were delicious, again really cheap
The hotel is a little out of town, but we did walk in one morning. The 18 and 24 trams are just outside the hotel, and after the first day, got the hang of them. There is a lot of graffiti all aound Prague, but we found the streets to be litter free and very clean.
We felt the hotel was really value for money and would stay there again without hesitation, but take your own kettle.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the railway side. Make sure you get tram tickets before going out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Union Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Praha

Address: Ostrcilovo Namesti 4/468, Prague 12800, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Prague
#207 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Union Praha 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel Union Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Praha Hotel
Union Praha Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Union Praha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.