We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel at an excellent price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saint George

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Saint George to your Saves list
Hotel Saint George
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tyrsova 2 | corner with Sokolska, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic (Praha 2)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #328 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel at an excellent price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

It's been over a month now since we stayed at this hotel and I've been meaning to write a review since then. It's not very often I do this but felt that this hotel deserves some recognition.

For 15euros per person per night bed and breakfast it is hard to find fault. The room was spacious, clean and warm, the breakfast had a decent enough selection and was readily replenished. All of the staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to help us.

Tip, after a long day walking the cobbled streets book the fitness suite for an hour and relax in the hot tub - perfect!

The only very slight downside (and it is a small one) is that it is perhaps a 20 minute walk to the old town so perhaps not ideal for people who don't like to walk but there is so much to take in it was quite nice doing the walk. Plus the metro and tram stop are 5 minutes away if you really are that lazy.

As I say, at the price we paid this went beyond our expectations and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    227
    81
    16
    14
See reviews for
38
228
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

We booked this 3 weeks prior to arrival and got an extremely good deal.

On arrival there was no fuss, just a courteous welcome and an English speaking receptionist who gave us all the help we needed on our first night in an overseas country.

I cannot describe breakfast as I was still asleep when they were serving.... as we spent most evenings out late in Prague's drinking dens.

The room was made up impeccably on a daily basis. Clean towels and bed refreshed every day.

I know i had a good stay at any hotel when the only fault i can pick out of my entire week was a slightly dodgy shower head fitting that kept sliding down....but was easily solved by jamming the thing up with the water hose.

All round ...... I'd definitely stay there again...... 10 walk from Wenceslas Square.... exceptional value for money and very clean.

Finally.... the "amenities scores" on this website are entirely irrelevant.... I didnt need a Business Centre, a Fitness Centre, Free High Speed Internet, Free Parking, Pets Allowed, Room Service or Swimming Pool............ i needed a clean, well aired place to sleep and refresh which was very local to the city centre...... go there...its a nice place!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

We stayed at Hotel St. George for 2 nights in Oct 2009. Booked it b/c of good reviews on Trip advisor and good price. We paid $ 60 USD per night incl. taxes for our room. What a great hotel for the price!! The location is good. It's a 5 min walk to the nearest train and tram stations. The metro in Prague is amazing and will take you everywhere. The tram 22 is even better. The hotel is a 10 min walk to Wenceslas square and a 20 min walk to the old town square (but just take the tram or metro). All day pass on any public transport is only 100 Kc and totally worth it for going to Prague Castle and other places.

They serve a continental breakfast in the morning and it was excellent. Croissants, juices, toasts, fruits, cereals etc. We were jet-lagged the 1st morning and didn't wake up on time for breakfast and the lady was nice enough to still open the kitchen and give us some breakfast. Their staff is really nice and helpful.

They have a fitness center and a lounge area w/ a shared computer for free internet use. It's great if you didn't carry your laptop to Prague. The rooms are clean and spacious. Our room had it's own private bathroom and timely room service everyday. Very minimal street noise b/c the hotel is located on a quiet small street. They have 2 elevators. Take the big one cuz the smaller one may make you claustrophobic.

If you wanna stay right in old town square in the middle of all the action, this hotel is not for you but remember...you'll pay a lot more for that hotel. But if you don't mind taking a 5 min tram ride to old town square, or a 20 min walk, this hotel is ideal.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

corridors and toilets have been refurbished, good sound proof windows, the only bit of noise came from some brits room neighbours that were drunk...staff is pleasant except one that was a bit abrupt (army like), but overall nice and helpful too. enough internional tv channels (CNN, BBC...). location is not bad at all, 15 min walk from old town square...but nothing interesting to go to around the hotel (pubs/restaurants...)...it s a hotel area with a communist feeling to it ( which is interesting in a way )

the only downside, is the breakfast ...too simple a bit disappointing
but overall i would recommend this hotel without hesitation...very good quality/price

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

Good budget hotel in the Nove Mestro district. We had a quiet room at the back of the hotel on the first floor - there is a busy main road out front so there could be some noise from traffic. The room was basic but clean and tidy. It had air-conditioning, TV, fridge, bathroom with hairdryer & shower (shampoo/soap/shower caps provided).

Breakfast was buffet style with a selection of bread/rolls, cold meats, cheese, cereals & yoghurts. Coffee was available from a machine or pot with hot or cold milk. There was also a good range of teas available.

The staff were friendly, helpful & the front desk is manned 24 hours. The automatic doors are locked after about 11pm, but a ring on the front doorbell will get the night porter's attention.

From the hotel it's about 20 mins walk to Wenceslas Square & another 10-15 mins to the Old Town Square or Charles Bridge. There are frequent buses & trams, but we used the metro. The I P Pavlova station is less than 5 mins walk from the hotel and from here you can easily access all the main sights. Tickets cost 100kc for 24 hours travel. Time stamp the ticket before the escalators, and you can use it on all trains, buses, trams & also the funicular at Petrin Park.

From the airport we used Cedaz Minibus service, which has a booth near the exit. They charge 480kc to the hotel. There is also a bus service to Wenceslas Square.

A couple of recommendations for eating out:
Sherwood Restaurant & Bar
5 mins walk from Wenceslas Square. Walk down Opletalova - it's on a corner on the left hand side. Great value, excellent well presented food (Czech/pasta/steak/international). Good selection of wines & Staropramen on tap.

Corleone
A bit of a trek, but worth it. Take the metro yellow line to Andel in the Smichov district, the restaurant is on the corner of Na Belidle. This is an Italian restaurant with a great value selection of pastas & pizza. Don't worry if it looks busy upstairs as there is a large non-smoking area downstairs.

Recommended Bars:
U Vejvodu
A restaurant & bar on the corner of Jilska & Vejvodova, 5 mins from the Old Town Square.
Upstairs is a bar with great atmosphere & Urquell at 29Ck. Downstairs is a beer hall restaurant serving traditional Czech food.

U Medvidku
Traditional Czech pub on Na Perstyne 7. A bit smoky, but great atmosphere.

El Mojito
Cocktail bar on Dlouha, 5 mins walk from the Old Town Square on the left hand side. Over 300 cocktails to choose from (including 25 different Mojitos). Pleasant relaxing bar with a spanish feel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

Just got back from Prague and just to let you know that the hotel was superb in our eyes just a bit out of the way but only a 10 min walk to the Museum. Room was spacious and very clean staff very friendly and breakfast although continental was plentiful would definatley stay there again

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

A good hotel for budget travelers.
Clean room, a little bit dated.
bathroom small but oke.
Airconditioning not super, its not possible to shut it down.
4th floor is smoking free.
Frontside rooms maybe a lttle bit noisy, rooms on the back are very quiet.
Staff is friendly and helpfull.
Breakfast, only cold, is good and offers everything you need.
Conclusion: What do you need else? nothing.
Good hotel for a good price.
We would come back again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Central Hotel Tiepolo
Central Hotel Tiepolo
#300 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Prague Centre Plaza
#418 of 662 in Prague
3.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Residence V Tunich 14
Residence V Tunich 14
#354 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Pension Brezina
Pension Brezina
#352 of 662 in Prague
3.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#183 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#91 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint George

Address: Tyrsova 2 | corner with Sokolska, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #328 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint George 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Saint George is set in a renovated historic building dating from the 18th century. It is located 700 metres from Wenceslas Square and offers a wellness area featuring free hot tub and fitness facilities, sauna for a surcharge. The interiors at the Saint George are elegantly decorated with Biedermeier-style furniture. The spacious rooms all feature individually controlled air conditioning, satellite TV and a minibar. Guests can relax in a lobby bar with a billiard table, which is opened from morning to late evening. WiFi is available in all guest rooms and public areas free of charge.The I. P. Pavlova transportation hub can be found within 200 metres and the Prague Opera and the National Museum can be reached within a 10-minute walk. The Charles Square is 800 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Saint George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St George
St George Prague
St George Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saint George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.