We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous design, perfect location, wonderful service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vintage Design Hotel Sax to your Saves list
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jansky Vrsek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 11800, Czech Republic (Mala Strana (Little Quarter))   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gorgeous design, perfect location, wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

We have just returned from a four night stay at Hotel Sax. It really made the holiday - the rooms were beautifully designed; each one choosing a different wallpaper to backdrop the bed, the furniture was retro and interesting, and each room had a laptop with wifi (great for checking out local restaurants!).

The hotel has a recently built spa area, with sauna, jacuzzi and massage area. It is possible for guests to spend time in it by themselves.The manager was keen that we enjoy it; the staff made it look gorgeous with candles and lights - all included in the room rate. On our final night we were upgraded to a suite - a really luxurious added bonus!

Breakfast was lovely and was served until 11am- so plenty of time for a lie in!

Staff were always helpful and polite.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to couples...in fact I'd love to go again!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    167
    33
    6
    5
See reviews for
91
506
58
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

Last week I was my company sent on a business trip to the Czech Republic. At first I thought it was not happy, but then I was very pleasantly surprised. Prague is beautiful and more amazing experience to hotel accommodation Sax. The hotel is in an excellent location, up the street from the US embassy in a very quiet part of of the old town, just below the Castle. You can easily walk to any of the top tourist sites, including the Jewish Quarter, the Castle, and the bridge.

Room, where I was staying was a small but very cozy. All rooms are with a unique design in each of them you can find some element of the world's leading designers. Another advantage of the notebook rooms with broadband Internet connection, DVD player and 30 DVDs.

But what pleased me most was the sauna and massage. Conveniently Jacuzzi with various therapies have given me new energy to the next business day. The hotel Sax and his staff, I was very pleased. When I go back on a business trip to Prague, so the houses are like again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

Location: In the old beautiful part of town! If you are driving be prepared to be stopped by the US consulate as it is practically next door.

Value: EXCELLENT! We got a super rate that included breakfast (which was really good!)

Rooms: A little strange....i liked the hotel but i wasn't very comfortable in the room...it did not feel very private.

Pros: Cool Design, location, value for money

Cons: The girl at the front desk wasn't very helpful

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

The hotel has at least six rooms which have doors which open out into, and the windows look out into, a small, poorly ventilated enclosed atrium.
We had the misfortune of making the mistake of booking one of these rooms. There was no functioning ventilation to the room and the chiller unit was broken, consequently the room was stuffy and unbearably warm. There is no privacy in these rooms with the curtains open from other guests walking through the atrium.
We were not advised or informed by any of the information provided at the time of booking of the lack of external windows and we requested to be moved to another room.
Our request for a alternative room was granted but we had to go through an undignified session with the manager the following morning who eventually, very reluctantly, agreed to continue to provide us with a room with external windows for the rest of our stay without any additional charge. In the meantime we had packed our bags and were ready to change hotels.
Despite this problem the hotel is in a good, safe and quiet location. The breakfast buffet was adequate and well served.
The hotel is interesting but the decorations are tired, the carpet in the lobby and lift was shabby. The chiller/heater unit in our new bedroom still did not work.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, January 22, 2010
Dear Guest,

We are very surprised with the negative comment about our hotel though we do not have any experience like this. We always want the best for our clients. In case there is any guest who is not satisfy with his room, we are there for him to find the best solution and with pleasure offer him a new room as he will like.

On the other hand any personal opinion for SAX HOTEL presents a great value to our team in our constant strive for improvement of the services and facilities we provide.

And this accident has another important aspect. We´ve informed all responsible people for our booking and reservations to provide the information regarding the view from our rooms.
I´m sure many clients will spend an enjoyable and pleasant stay with us.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

We loved the hotel. Vintage Design Hotel Sax in Prague is without doubt one of the best boutique hotel I have ever stayed at!
The location was great!! For me the nicest place of Prague, under the Prague castle, and close to Charles Bridge and the old city. Everything just 2min walking from the hotel.
The staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful. They were always on hand to make sure our stay was as comfortable as possible.
Also the breakfast was delicious!! and the snack and afternoon tea was perfect after the all day out, then relaxing at the jacuzzi (all included in our rate! )
We will definitely come back one day..

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

Start the new year I spent on the road. One of my trips was also the capital of the Czech Republic in Prague. I stayed here for only 3 days and I had the opportunity to live in a very nice hotel called Sax, which is located right in the center of Prague.
I was very pleasantly surprised to design the hotel, which was equipped in the style of 60-70years of 20th century. Room, where I was staying, was with an amazing view of Prague Castle. In my room I found the styling cues from Andy Warhol, which is my favorite artist. Unfortunately, I had the opportunity to inspect your stay in Prague, but the comfort I felt after a hard day's work release as a sauna and massage. Operation and servicing of the hotel were friendly, fast and sweet. This hotel can only recommend them for a short working accommodation and for a longer cognitive accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

First, what i d like to say that i was really amazed of the design and atmosphere in this hotel. You fell yourself like in the movie of 60th and the interiors around are very creative.
All the people working there were friendly and helpful.
My apartment was roomy, bright and full of different useful things: DVD, laptop, and even camera showing the weather outside. It feels like home.
More of all they have 5 o’clock tea with the wonderful Czech pastry, plus there is a lounge in the evening they offer free snacks. Breakfast buffet has big variety: starting from yogurts, fruits, meats, cheeses, juices finishing with a hot plate.
There is also a spa room at your disposal, sauna, and massage. This people know how to treat clients, because I felt like a queen, enjoying in Jacuzzi. Even some small details are aimed at client’s desire.
Big plus of the Hotel is its location -directly in the old city center, where you will find numerous restaurants, pubs and bars.

I’d love to advise you this place, course it is just unique, cozy and value for money.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#81 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#74 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,193 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
#66 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#24 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#14 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Design Hotel Sax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Address: Jansky Vrsek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 11800, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Prague
#57 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#57 Family Hotel in Prague
#58 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#108 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Design Hotel Sax 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you admire the design of the 1970s, or would you rather surround yourself with the furniture of the 1950s or 1960s? Every room or suite has an original appearance. The style in which you wish to experience your stay is up to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Vintage Design Hotel Sax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Prague
Hotel Sax

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vintage Design Hotel Sax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.