We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Save Saved
You added Vintage Design Hotel Sax to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jansky Vrsek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 11800, Czech Republic (Praha 1)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #51 of 668 hotels in Prague
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Back in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel was amazing!! It was very well located on the castle side and allowed us to walk in the early mornings before the hoards of tourists descended upon the area. The breakfast buffet was a great start and the afternoon tea was a very welcome treat to rest the feet in the afternoons! We absolutely loved the decor - patterned wallpapers and blast from the past artifacts made it very special. Would be lovely as a couple getaway too.

Room Tip: We got bumped up to a luxury room under the roofs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your beautiful review. We are delighted with your feedback and also with the fact that you really enjoyed your vacation at our hotel.
With kind regards
Dagmar Malá and hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    531
    134
    25
    3
    5
See reviews for
74
412
44
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Malden, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We spent four wonderful days in Prague. The hotel is a real experience. It seems to really live in those wonderful 60's (with a bit of nostalgia). Inside, the presence of numerous objects of the most famous designers in the world make this experience even more charming and unique. The hotel is situated in an ideal location as it is safe and quiet but at the same time close to the castle and Charles Bridge. Breakfast is excellent as well as the 5 o'clock tea in the lobby. The staff is friendly and very professional ... our special thanks to Martina, Jan and the friendly driver from / to the airport. We recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to live in prague as a unique experience. Miriam & Luca from Italy

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear guest,
we thank you for so nice comment and we are really happy that you did enjoy your stay at our hotel with our personal treatment.
Thank you for your visit.
Our best regards
Dagmar Malá and hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is a great hotel, located very close to Prague castle (and super close to public transit!). It's a little hard to find, without a good map, but once you've found it, it's very easy to get back to.

We stayed on the top floor, and had a view of the St Nicholas church, and a partial view of Prague castle. The view, was simply, amazing. We took so many pictures out the window, at different times of day, just because of how stunning the view was.

The hotel itself has a really retro design - but with a modern spin. The rooms are equipped with a laptop (HUGE surprise!), and satellite tv (although, we couldn't figure out how to work the satellite part -- but regular tv worked).

The room and bathroom were both quite a bit larger than most rooms we've encountered in Europe, which was a nice surprise. It's tucked away in a little neighborhood, which is just far enough off of the main path, that it's quite quiet. The location, with regards to all the sites in Prague is really great. You can walk to everything, within 10 - 15 minutes. We also found that it was close to a tram line, which helped for lugging around luggage.

The breakfast they serve (which i believe is included in the room rate) is really awesome. They had everything one could imagine.

The staff is also really attentive, and willing to help the guests with everything (they also speak fluent english, for those of you who aren't fluent in Czech!)

I'd definitely stay here again, and recommend to friends/family!

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor - amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear guest,
i am glad to thank you for such a warm review. You are right, the view from 4.th floor is really breathtaking. We hope you will come to visit us again.
With kind regards
Dagmar Malá and hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location, near the center but in a quite place (near USA embassy and Malastrana square). Clean, big and original rooms. Incredible relation quality vs price. We will come back ti this hotel un Prague.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear guest,
i would like to thank you for your nice review, it is great to see another satisfy comment from our guest. We hope you will really come to visit our hotel again.
Best regards
Dagmar and hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here as a couple for 4 nights in Nov 12 in a deluxe room. The hotel is located in the Lesser Town near the US embassy. Prague Castle is a short walk away and the Lesser Town is generally quieter than the more touristy Old Town. Prague itself is a pretty small city so everywhere was within walking distance for us when we were exploring both the Old Town and the Lesser Town (which is separated by the Charles Bridge). You will need good flat walking shoes to tackle the cobblestone streets as we learnt the hard way.

The funky decor of the hotel is an interesting contrast to the old gothic feel of the city itself. Staff were friendly and spoke good English. The room was quite big with a sofa and a separate sitting room. All the amenities worked well and the bed was comfortable. Our booking included free breakfast buffet which we found to be excellent (I've posted some pictures of the dining room and the breakfast you get). I also got a 1 hr massage on one of the days at the hotel and would recommend it. In terms of location, it took us about 5-7 minutes to walk from the hotel to the beginning of the Charles Bridge. I personally preferred this quieter side of town but wouldn't be staying here if was travelling alone.

As a side note, we did a day trip out to Karlstejn Castle by train on one of the days and I would recommend this for those who have a bit more time. It was nice to see a different part of the country and it was very easy to get to ourselves (1 hr train ride from the main Prague train station).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear guest,
Really big and warm thanks for so many beautiful photos of our hotel. Also it is really nice of you to write such a nice comment about us and Prague. You are absolutely right with recommendation about comfy shoes, definetly it is not good idea to take a heels for exploring Prague :D Also your trip to Karlstejn castle was really good choice, this is a gorgeous castle, the famous czech film Noc na Karlestejne was filmed there.
With kind regards
Dagmar and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Clean and very accommodating. Pretty far from most activities, but if you are ok with the walk, this hotel has everything a traveler would need. It's nice having a laptop with internet right in the room!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear guest,

i am glad to thank you for your time to share your memories from Prague to other visitors.
With kind regards
Dagmar and hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This hotel is very quiet. Few meters from the center but in a position far from crowd and noises. Staff kind. The hotel doesn't have a real restaurant but there are many places where to eat and/or drink nearby, some very good. Breakfast good with choices of many foods, salty and sweet. Beautiful furniture in vintage style. Ev'ry kind of comfort in room (pc, dvd player, wifi connection free etc). Four stars instead of five because I've booked a suite but, even if it was comfortable and large enough, there wasn't a real separation beetween night and day spaces as happens in other suites of other hotels. For example (we were two) if one wanted to sleep and the other watch tv it wasn't possible. Other suites have a day space (with tv and couch) separated from night space with bed. It's a little sin and the hotel is worth trying at all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear guest,
we are really sorry you didn't like your room, there are two types of suites in our hotel. Altough there is sleeping part and relaxing part of room it wasn't separate in your room. Another rooms have separate rooms (bedroom and livingroom). We hope you will come to visit us again and we promise that you will get the other type of suites.
with kind regards
Dagmar and hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vintage Design Hotel Sax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Address: Jansky Vrsek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 11800, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Prague
#43 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#44 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#66 Business Hotel in Prague
#67 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Design Hotel Sax 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you admire the design of the 1970s, or would you rather surround yourself with the furniture of the 1950s or 1960s? Every room or suite has an original appearance. The style in which you wish to experience your stay is up to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Vintage Design Hotel Sax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Prague
Hotel Sax

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vintage Design Hotel Sax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.