We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Save Saved
You added Vintage Design Hotel Sax to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jansky Vrsek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 11800, Czech Republic (Praha 1)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #52 of 668 hotels in Prague
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location, near the center but in a quite place (near USA embassy and Malastrana square). Clean, big and original rooms. Incredible relation quality vs price. We will come back ti this hotel un Prague.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear guest,
i would like to thank you for your nice review, it is great to see another satisfy comment from our guest. We hope you will really come to visit our hotel again.
Best regards
Dagmar and hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    513
    134
    26
    3
    5
See reviews for
77
418
47
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here as a couple for 4 nights in Nov 12 in a deluxe room. The hotel is located in the Lesser Town near the US embassy. Prague Castle is a short walk away and the Lesser Town is generally quieter than the more touristy Old Town. Prague itself is a pretty small city so everywhere was within walking distance for us when we were exploring both the Old Town and the Lesser Town (which is separated by the Charles Bridge). You will need good flat walking shoes to tackle the cobblestone streets as we learnt the hard way.

The funky decor of the hotel is an interesting contrast to the old gothic feel of the city itself. Staff were friendly and spoke good English. The room was quite big with a sofa and a separate sitting room. All the amenities worked well and the bed was comfortable. Our booking included free breakfast buffet which we found to be excellent (I've posted some pictures of the dining room and the breakfast you get). I also got a 1 hr massage on one of the days at the hotel and would recommend it. In terms of location, it took us about 5-7 minutes to walk from the hotel to the beginning of the Charles Bridge. I personally preferred this quieter side of town but wouldn't be staying here if was travelling alone.

As a side note, we did a day trip out to Karlstejn Castle by train on one of the days and I would recommend this for those who have a bit more time. It was nice to see a different part of the country and it was very easy to get to ourselves (1 hr train ride from the main Prague train station).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear guest,
Really big and warm thanks for so many beautiful photos of our hotel. Also it is really nice of you to write such a nice comment about us and Prague. You are absolutely right with recommendation about comfy shoes, definetly it is not good idea to take a heels for exploring Prague :D Also your trip to Karlstejn castle was really good choice, this is a gorgeous castle, the famous czech film Noc na Karlestejne was filmed there.
With kind regards
Dagmar and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Clean and very accommodating. Pretty far from most activities, but if you are ok with the walk, this hotel has everything a traveler would need. It's nice having a laptop with internet right in the room!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear guest,

i am glad to thank you for your time to share your memories from Prague to other visitors.
With kind regards
Dagmar and hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This hotel is very quiet. Few meters from the center but in a position far from crowd and noises. Staff kind. The hotel doesn't have a real restaurant but there are many places where to eat and/or drink nearby, some very good. Breakfast good with choices of many foods, salty and sweet. Beautiful furniture in vintage style. Ev'ry kind of comfort in room (pc, dvd player, wifi connection free etc). Four stars instead of five because I've booked a suite but, even if it was comfortable and large enough, there wasn't a real separation beetween night and day spaces as happens in other suites of other hotels. For example (we were two) if one wanted to sleep and the other watch tv it wasn't possible. Other suites have a day space (with tv and couch) separated from night space with bed. It's a little sin and the hotel is worth trying at all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear guest,
we are really sorry you didn't like your room, there are two types of suites in our hotel. Altough there is sleeping part and relaxing part of room it wasn't separate in your room. Another rooms have separate rooms (bedroom and livingroom). We hope you will come to visit us again and we promise that you will get the other type of suites.
with kind regards
Dagmar and hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We (two couples) stayed here in October 2012 on the recommendation of a friend. It exceeded our expectations as we were prepared to find some aspects of its quirkiness irritating... but no! It's the sort of place that makes you smile, but it all works and there's nothing dowdy or faded about it despite it being such a treasure trove of 70s and 80s style. The rooms were excellent and the laptop in the room was appreciated by our friends. Breakfast choice was very varied, the afternoon tea a nice touch if you're about at that time of day, and a 12 noon checkout and 2pm check in time helpful to those only coming for a brief stay. Because of flight timings, we arrived at 12 noon and were delighted to be given our rooms straight away (though that's not of course guaranteed.) If you are coming by public transport, be aware that it's 5min from the tram stops and 10 mins from the nearest metro- though that's a plus point when it comes to noise, as the location on a small but characterful street is remarkably peaceful for such a busy place. The hotel will offer an airport pick up/return for about 750 crowns each way- but note you can get the same service from an airport transfer for 550 crowns per taxi each way and it worked perfectly- just 25 minutes to get from the hotel to the airport terminal on a Sunday afternoon.
Staff offered restaurant recommendations but when we took them up on it, came up only with two fairly expensive ones, one of which was the other side of Charles Bridge. In fact there are lots of choices nearby and we had two very good meals within 3 minutes' walk of the hotel. As ever, it probably depends on who you ask. I'd recommend using your free laptop and use it to look on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear guest,
we are really happy you didn't find anything what could irritate you :) it is sooo nice to see how many satisfy guests we have. Due to your information about transport service.... our prices are fixed on the other hand another companies charge you persuant to the kilometres and also waiting time (red lights, traffic jam.....)
Have a good time
Our warm regards
Dagmar and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

From the outside you would be forgiven for wondering what the fuss was about, Vintage Design Hotel Sax is a 3 story + loft conversion building, part of a old terrace in a narrow cobbled street. However, once inside, Sax blow you away with a time-bomb of stylish interior features and artefacts. Explore the public areas of the hotel and upper corridors and discover wonderful gismos. I kid you not, you have simply got to see the WC off the breakfast room, pure Star Trek.

The quiet side-street location is ideal, particularly for light sleepers. And for the security conscious the local police have highly visible 24*7 on-street patrols in place for the neighbours (the US Embassy). The “safest hotel in Prague” according to our taxi driver.

We had a 3-night stay in a de lux double room. Room was a decent size, comfy king bed and all mod cons, including a free-to-use laptop, safe and mini-bar. Bathroom was modern and clean.
Buffet breakfast, good range of options, all tastes catered for including vegetarian and the afternoon tea is a lovely treat after a day out doing the tourist thing. Mini-bar prices in the hotel were reasonable e.g. can of beer CZK50, mini-spirits CZK70 and a room service full bottle of sparkling wine for CZK250 (£8 or €10).
The staff were friendly, fluent English speakers and no shortage of tourist advice. We comfortably walked to all major attractions, Lesser Town Square, Prague Castle and the Charles Bridge.
This is a small and intimate hotel that leaves you feeling like your business was very much appreciated.
For children of the 80’s, bring your Mam + Dad, they will love it.

Room Tip: 3rd floor gives you a rooftop view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your review. We are really happy that you did enjoy your stay at hotel SAX also with our breakfast and 5 o'clock tea, it is very popular and everybody loves this complimentary service.
Best regards
Dagmar and hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

we stayed for a weekend in a deluxe room and really enjoyed the playful and stylish look of this hotel. staff is super nice and helpful and the hotel is very clean and in a quite side street of the center.also they had a laptop in the room for free which was great to look up stuff since we did not bring one. the tiny common balcony is really cute. only thing i didn't like was the fact that the window of our room, being a bit particular, faced the corridor. but overall a super nice funky place with great staff that should not be missed.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest, We are very greatfull for your nice review. It is pleasure for us to hear a compliments. Thank you very much for taking your time to post your tips and suggestions to other guests.
Best regards Dagmar Malá and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vintage Design Hotel Sax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Address: Jansky Vrsek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 11800, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Prague
#45 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#45 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#68 Family Hotel in Prague
#70 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Design Hotel Sax 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you admire the design of the 1970s, or would you rather surround yourself with the furniture of the 1950s or 1960s? Every room or suite has an original appearance. The style in which you wish to experience your stay is up to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Vintage Design Hotel Sax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Prague
Hotel Sax

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vintage Design Hotel Sax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.