We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel in Prague” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Archibald At the Charles Bridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Archibald At the Charles Bridge to your Saves list
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Na Kampe 508/15 | Prague 1 - Malá Strana, Prague 11800, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel in Prague”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I am so glad that I spent months researching hotels in Prague and finally came up with this one. Prague is such a crazy gorgeous but crazy BUSY city! It was exactly like Venice in August but this was April! That is why I am so delighted to have found this hotel. It is the prefect combination of excellent location and away from the throngs. The Charles bridge is a sight to see, and even thought there are hundreds of people on that bridge all the time, this hotel is tucked in a series of small cobblestone streets just under the bridge. In this way, you can go everywhere on foot, to all the major sights, but you are in such a charming area where the throngs often don't go. I loved this hotel...it had it all - charm, cleanliness, location, excellence in service and very good value. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone visiting Prague.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Sir,
thank you for a great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. You are absolutely right that the city is very busy in this time of year. However the hotel´s location allows for a quiet night sleep in a central location. If you will intend to return to our hotel and you will have any special requests, please contact our reservation department. With kind regards from Prague,E.Aljanabi, FOM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    174
    22
    5
    5
See reviews for
122
322
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Everything here its amazing, the best is the location of the property, its close to everything you want to see in Prague, (the Castle, Bridge, old town, new town) the staff its courteous (except for the night shift, but minor downside) the rooms are clean and comfortable (the room 11 has vitava river views) the breakfast its good, i little bit repetitive but good, and the free WiFi always a plus. I recommend this hotel to everybody who are visiting Prague.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Sir,
thank you for the nice review and of course your stay! Thank you also for mentioning the minor issues you had here. We will definitely look into it, it´s a great way to improve our service. Wishing you a nice spring time, E.Aljanabi, FOM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This hotel was such a lovely surprise in Prague and the view across the river was wonderful. We really were not expecting anything special but as soon as we saw the room we were pleasantly surprised with the size and quality of the room and couldn't drag ourselves away from the view from the window. The bed was very comfortable, the room really spacious with a couch and table (large rooms are not common in Europe) and wonderful big fluffy towels. Service from the staff was prompt and efficient and the transfers to the train station arranged via the reception went smoothly. Breakfast was plentiful and a larger variety than other European hotels we've stayed in. There are several places to eat without leaving the Square and you are right there on the river with quick access across the bridge. If ever in Prague again I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: River view rooms are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Madam,
thank you for your nice words about our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful city and our hotel. The location just at the Vltava river is really nice, especially in spring and summer time! Once again, thank you and have a great day! E.Aljanabi, FOM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

You know how it is! You spend hours looking at the reviews on Tripadvisor to try and find that needle in a haystack, a great place to stay in a city you have never been too. Look no further than this place for a stay in Prague. I decided to book here for three nights so that my mother, sister and I could enjoy a mother/daughters getaway in a special city and was not disappointed. An initial mix up upon check in (we were given a double room, when had booked a suite) was dealt with efficiently and without drama. I had booked one of the three new Courtyard rooms for my mother and the room was immaculate, modern and very roomy. She was very comfortable staying here and loved her little private oasis. My sister and I had a suite, which was beautiful. We asked that we have twin beds set up for us, and this was done quickly. The wooden floors, extremely comfortable beds, little area to sit, free wi fi all added to the wonderful experience of staying here.
The breakfast was nice, and plentiful. I would have liked to have had an option to ask for eggs being poached or fried (as opposed to scrambled every morning). Mind you - this is only a very minor point so I am wondering if a little sign indicating that this can be done could be put somewhere. I most likely could have requested this; however, I wasn't sure and didn't want to appear "fussy" because everything was so nice anyway.
Now for the location! As mentioned in other reviews, this Hotel is in a very quiet area, on Kampa Island, all within a hop, skip and a jump to Charles Bridge. I found Prague to be easily accessible on foot, so staying here meant that you were away from the noise of the other side of the bridge yet no further than a leisurely 20 - 25 minute walk to the Astronomical Clock and old town square, and the very interesting Jewish Quarter. I personally found the Lesser Town side of the Charles Bridge my favourite area. From the Hotel, you can walk to the Lennon Wall and St Nicholas Church without stress. You can also find a mini supermarket on the Main Street off Charles Bridge (where you won't receive service with a smile, lucky this place doesn't get reviewed for friendliness!) but you can get some very cheap alcohol and basics.
I suggest that if you want to see Prague Castle, catch the Furnicular Tram (no more than a 15 minute walk from the Hotel) up Petrin Hill and walk through the park to the Castle, it saves you hiking up the massive hill to the castle and if the day is clear, you get a very good view of Prague. It cost 24 kc, cheap as chips for a fun trip (although make sure you have some change so you can get a ticket from the ticket machine).
The staff at reception were friendly, informative and very helpful. We decided to catch a taxi to the main train station upon leaving (we caught an overnight train to Cologne) and this was organised by the staff. A set fee for the trip in the taxi meant that we didn't need to worry about the possibility of being overcharged by taxi drivers and the company they use was punctual and the taxi was clean.
So....... in summary, Archibald At the Charles Bridge was a fantastic, small and very professionally run Hotel. It deserves all the positive reviews it has received. I am planning a trip back to Prague with my husband and kids next time, and will not consider staying anywhere else.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Sirs,
thank you for your visit and for the amazing feedback for our future guests! We are happy to have been a good assistance during your stay in our hotel. We are also glad that you liked the rooms in our garden which we are very proud of.
If you ever think of returning to us and you will have special requests, please contact directy our reservation department.
Wishing you a great spring time, E.Aljanabi, FOM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Fantastic hotel. Location to die for with views towards Charles Bridge - boats passing by 50m away. Idyllic! Beautiful room with hardwood floors/natural finishes, great breakfasts, incredibly helpful staff.

Amazing transport system. Costs 32kn, approximately £1, to travel to & from airport. Took 45 mins. From airport take 119 bus to Dejvicka then transfer to no.20 tram or "A" line metro - all very frequent services. Buy ticket at information desk in airport. It lasts 90 minutes once stamped. We came in on tram & left via metro & because of the central location of the hotel, these were the only times we used public transport. We had comfortable walking shoes which were essential!

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Sirs,
thank you for your review, we really appreciate it! We are especially glad that you enjoyed the room, as we are constantly working on improving the design and comfort. And thank you for the transportation tips for other readers! Wishing you a nice day, E.Aljanabi, FOM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I booked this hotel for a city break to Prague with my wife and parents based on other Trip Advisor reviews and reccomendations. The hotel is superb. For a start, the location is perfect. On the quieter Lesser Town side of Charles Bridge with views over the river, and just a stone's throw away from Prague Castle. We booked two deluxe double rooms that did not dissapoint. The rooms were massive, with a huge bed and furnished in a manner in-keeping with the style of the hotel. The exposed beams and soft furnishings added to the room's homely feel, and there was no skimping on mod cons, with well-equiped (if little small) shower room, fridge, safe, flat screen tv and telephone. We were also treated to a view of the river and Charles Bridge from the window. The breakfast, served in the rather wonderful brick-arch cellar restaurant, is typically european with a choice of pastries, breads, yoghurt, cereals, ham, cheese and hot options such as eggs and bacon. The reception staff are helpful and there is also free wi-fi throughout the hotel. We didnt eat at the restaurant (other than breakfast), but the staff were again friendly and helpful the two times we had a drink there.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room and were very impressed. The standard rooms did look a lot smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Sir,
thank You for Your kind review! We are really glad that You enjoyed Your stay with us. It´s great that You enjoyed our lovely Deluxe rooms, the wooden beams make it special indeed. Thank You once again, we all wish You a great spring time and we are looking forward to Your next stay! E.Aljanabi, FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Archibald At the Charles Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archibald At the Charles Bridge

Address: Na Kampe 508/15 | Prague 1 - Malá Strana, Prague 11800, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#39 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#42 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Archibald At the Charles Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Archibald At the Charles Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Archibald u Karlova Mostu (At The Charles Bridge) Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Archibald At the Charles Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.