We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Archibald At the Charles Bridge

Save Saved
You added Archibald At the Charles Bridge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Na Kampe 508/15 | Prague 1 - Malá Strana, Prague 11800, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 668 hotels in Prague
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel over New Year's. Hotel is located away from hustle and bustle in a charming neighborhood near the Charles Bridge but yet is close to all the sights. We walked everywhere from our hotel. Our room on top floor was very roomy and charming. The view from our room of the New Year's Eve fireworks display and the Charles Bridge was absolutely perfect! Breakfast was fine and staff friendly. We ate in the hotel restaurant on New Year's Eve. The New Year menu offered was slightly disappointing compared to price charged and quality of food we had eaten in other similar restaurants on our travels. I would not hesitate to stay here again and would highly recommend to others. Perfect location and charm.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Madam, thank You very much for Your kind review. We are really glad, that You liked our hotel. We appreciate Your comments about the New Year´s menu. We will do our best for You to enjoy not only our hotel, bur also our lovely restaurant in the future! Wishing You a great Year 2013 E. Aljanabi, FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    388
    158
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
111
296
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights over the new year and would recommend the hotel and stay again if I came back to Prague. The hotel arranged transport from the airport and all staff at the reception were really helpful. The location is great, really close to all the sights but still seems really quite and away from the bustle of the old town. The local area was nice to walk around, and some excellent bars / restaurants nearby. It was great to be so close to Charles bridge for the new year, and to stand outside the hotel on new years day watching the fireworks.
We stayed in room 10 over looking the river. Others have given negative reviews of room 10 but I thought it was great, really big room with twin beds and a sofa, comfy beds and great view. Yes the bathroom is small but is totally functional, although agree the hairdryer is pretty useless and really should be replaced.
Only other criticism would be the tv - it is advertised as Sat-tv but there were only 5 or 6 channels of which most were different news channels (inc BBC world service). It would have been nice to have more choice, particularly of english channels but we got over this by using the free I-pad and wi-fi provided by the hotel...a great idea!
The restaurant served traditional czech dishes and great czech beer and all the staff were really friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Director of Sales at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guests,
first of all I would like to wish you Happy New Year and Thank you so much that you decided to stay in our hotel...I am happy that you enjoyed our riverview room - I think that you had really one of the best place for watching fireworks:) Thanks a lot for your kind feedback and also for few points you mentioned - of course, it´s good to know what should we improve to make stay for our guests even more comfortable. It will be pleasure for us to welcome you back in future!
Kind regards from Prague,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Really not much more to say - the title says it all. The hotel is not luxury standard, with lots of services, but it is clean, comfortable and in a nice quiet street two minutes walk from the Charles Bridge. It doesn't get much better than that! The breakfast was good and the wifi was free - as it should be!
Great value - highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your recent stay in our hotel and for your nice feedback you posted here, on Tripadvisor.....I am glad to read that you were satisfied with our services and that you enjoyed your winter city break in Prague. On behalf of Archibald team I wish you Happy New Year 2013 to London!
Kind regards,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Husband and I spent 4 nights in this hotel over Christmas we had a great time the hotel is special
we had a room 26 looking out over the street no noise at night the bathroom was big only one thing was the shower height a bit too low and i am only 5"4 the bed was fine don't know why they give you 2 small Quilts but it was ok the rooms are cleaned &clean towels every day breakfast was in the bar area the breakfast was good a good choice we also had a meal one night it was good the staff where all nice.on returning to the hotel on Christmas eve they had left us a nice bottle of red wine and some sweet treats nice touch.this is the 3rd time we have been in Prague and the location of this hotel is the best right next to the bridge we have stayed at there other hotel The Archibald City for new year 2005 but we think this is the best out of the 2 would recommend it anytime.we spent 4 fab days this was the first time we have went away for Christmas it was great would do it again we had great Christmas meal over looking the bridge
and the highlight was a trip to the ballet on Boxing day to see The Nutcracker is the first time we have seen a ballet enjoyed it so much.Prague is still one of the best city breaks it has everything you need food/Beer and things to see the people are nice too

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your Christmas stay in Prague...I really appreciate your kind comment written about it and it´s nice for me to read that you enjoyed these special days and you had a memorable time here. Thanks a lot for your previous stay at Archibald City hotel as well! Please be sure that you´ll be welcome anytime in future...We wish you good luck and Happy New Year 2013 to Scotland!
Regards, Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here for couple of nights with family and it was definitely the best place that I have ever stayed in Prague. We had a little mix-up with the rooms, but they resolved it immediately and gave us two rooms (because it was four of us and the room we originally had was pretty tight for 4 people). We booked and payed it in advance and it was pretty good deal, especially considering it is in such a great location right next to the Charles Bridge on the river.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Director of Sales at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Mr.Pilsen,
on behalf of Archibald team I would like to Thank you very much for your stay with us and also for the 1st review posted in 2013! Your kind words are perfect New Year´s start for all of us and I do believe that we´ll continue with getting comments like this from our satisfied guests:)
With kindest regards from Prague to California,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great hotel overlooking a quiet square just steps away from the Charles Bridge. Our rooms had beautiful views of the river and had everything we needed for a few days away. Every member of staff we met in the hotel was cordial and polite: Ondrej was especially helpful and welcoming.
The area around the hotel is beautiful and all of the main attractions are within walking distance. The Charles Bridge is at its best in the early morning before the crowds arrive: trying to cross it on Saturday afternoon was a challenge I would avoid when I return!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have river views, are comfortable and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We booked the Archibald via the British Air website for a 5-day getaway to Prague and could not have been happier with the choice. Location is perfect for getting around and sightseeing. We were in room #20, which was really big and came with a small twin bed and a baby cot. Bathroom was tiny and the shower always managed to flood, but it wasn't the end of the world. View of the garden and the river were both really nice. Easy walk to get to the funicular to ride up the hill, 2-minute walk to get to Charles Bridge, lots of restaurants close-by to choose from, but more on that below.
The kids loved the breakfast "cave" room, good breakfast although not a massive amount of options to choose from. We arrived around 11:00 in the morning and the front office staff told us we would have to wait until 2:00 for the room to be ready. Kind of annoying as the hotel was clearly not full (and we had a baby who needed changing), but they were able to find a room for us within 15 minutes.
Front desk staff tries to steer you towards eating in the hotel restaurant (10% discount for guests), but we always try and venture out to local spots so we never had lunch or dinner there. (Lovely pints of Pilsner Urquell though!). We had two dinners at Tri Stoleti (HIGHLY RECOMMEND!), once at Kolkovna Olympia (pretty good, excellent duck), and once at Hergetova Cilhena (part of Kampa group, fancy, but very good). Two local spots that must be avoided at all costs: Servena Cedma (across the square from hotel) and Velkoprevorsky Mlyn (restaurant/pub just before the bridge heading towards the Lennon Wall). It's voted one of the worst places in Prague on TA (should have checked TA before going!), trust me, do not go.
Overall, we loved the Archibald and would stay there again next time we are in Prague. First time we have stayed on this side of the river, but fun to see the city from a different point of view. Would definitely recommend it for families with children.

Room Tip: Have a beer in the restaurant, cheap and excellent. Avoid the Velkoprevorsky Mlyn restaurant at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Archibald At the Charles Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archibald At the Charles Bridge

Address: Na Kampe 508/15 | Prague 1 - Malá Strana, Prague 11800, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#32 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#33 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Archibald At the Charles Bridge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Archibald At the Charles Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Archibald u Karlova Mostu (At The Charles Bridge) Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Archibald At the Charles Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.