We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm oasis in a busy city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Archibald At the Charles Bridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Archibald At the Charles Bridge to your Saves list
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Na Kampe 508/15 | Mala Strana, Prague 11800, Czech Republic (Mala Strana (Little Quarter))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #52 of 663 Hotels in Prague
Lancashire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Calm oasis in a busy city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Just returned from 3 nights at this charming hotel. Situated in a small quiet square, moments from Charles Bridge & half way between the Castle and the Old Town Square. The only sound we heard was the Vltava running over the weir outside the window. Our room was large and well appointed in traditional Czech style. Good food, excellent staff & free wi-fi - all added up to a great stay. Even the installation of a lift during our stay didn't cause any disturbance! We'll select this hotel again when we next visit Prague.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your lovely comment you wrote about your summer stay in our hotel.
I am really happy that you were satisfied with our location, room and relaxing atmosphere with sounds of the river - that´s the best advertisement for our services...I hope that you´ll have a chance to visit us in future - of course you are welcome anytime, thanks a lot!
Kind regards to Lancashire,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    219
    27
    5
    5
See reviews for
145
393
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brasília
Level Contributor
644 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10,052 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

POSITIVE:

Hotel on an exceptional location (on the castle side of the city), glued to the Charles Bridge, in a quieter area, but close to the principal points of interest.

It is a very good hotel in a restored building.

Comfortable rooms, as well as the bed.

Good Wi-Fi.

Breakfast well suited.

Cleaning is very adequate.

The hotel staff has an efficient service.

The view is beautiful, but only for those rooms facing the river (and the Charles Bridge).


NEGATIVE:

No lift, which makes difficult manage the bags.


CONCLUSION:

I really enjoyed and intend to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your summer stay with us and your nice feedback you posted here.
Our team really appreciate your kind words about it and I am happy that you enjoyed your holiday in Prague....I also would like to inform you that we are working on our improvements so
installation of the lift will finish in next few weeks and I believe that it should be another step how to improve facilities for our guests!
Best regards to Brazil,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

It wasn't easy to decide where to stay in Prague and we're so glad we found this gem. It's on the Kampa Island just over the Charles Bridge in a lovely, very quiet little square. The room was a decent size and extremely comfortable with a great shower, small sofa, small table & chairs with tea & coffee making facilities and comfortable bed. The view from our windows was spectacular looking onto the Vlatva River and over to the Charles Bridge. The steps up to the Charles Bridge are just a few metres away from the front door of the hotel. It's just a short walk to all major site seeing areas - the Castle, the Old Town Square, the funicular etc etc. The abundant breakfast was served in the vaulted cellar and we also ate a very tasty dinner there one night before going to a concert. We were on the 2nd floor and there is no elevator but the lovely young man insisted on carrying our suitcases up for us. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant to deal with. The hotel also has a private car service to take you to the airport and it was very handy to be able to add it to the hotel bill. Wifi is free throughout the hotel and the connection was great. There are many cafes, restaurants, cake shops & coffee houses close by. We will be returning to this beautiful city and will definitely consider this hotel again.

Room Tip: Definitely book a river view room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel and your lovely comments about it...I am happy that you enjoyed your holiday in Prague and that you were satisfied with your room choice and our services as well. I also appreciate your nice description of our neighbourhood - it´s the best advertisement for our location, thanks a lot. We will be glad to welcome you back in future!

Kind regards to Melbourne,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madora Bay WA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My friends and I stayed at this hotel under the Charles Bridge in Prague. It is set in a wonderful part of Prague, quite and peaceful on the banks of the river. The Hotel staff, all speaking english, are extremely friendly and went out of their way to help lost Australians who could not speak Czech. Rooms were clean and open with lined changed each day. Prague is a beautiful city and well worth the visit. We will be returning and to this hotel especially.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Guests,
on behalf of Archibald hotel and our team I would like to Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and your lovely words written through Tripadvisor to us...I really appreciate it, because this kind of feedback is the best motivation for our future work and perfect advertisement as well. It´s a pleasure for me to read that you had a nice time in Prague and that you enjoyed your stay here. We´ll be glad to welcome you back for your next visit!
Sincerely to Australia,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

I had a lot of concern about where to stay in Prague, and I have no regrets about staying at the Archibald by the Charles Bridge. First, the hotel was centrally located, but on a quiet neighborhood. I felt very safe here. We even slept with the windows open. Being so near the bridge, we walked into the city square area several times and was also close to the funicular to go up to the castle.

The restaurant in the hotel was very good. Breakfast was a typical European buffet with eggs, bacon, assortment of breads, cereals, pastries, and cold cuts. Orange juice was not freshed squeezed however. We also enjoyed having a drink in the garden restaurant behind the hotel each afternoon. The garden has a beautiful view overlooking the river and the "old" town.

Also on the down side, there was no air conditioning, but because the temps only reached 70 degrees once, that was no problem. Plus there were 3 fans in the room. Also, there was no elevator. But the man at the desk volunteered to carry our luggage up and down for us. The bathroom was small but modern with great water pressure and plenty of hot water. I am not posting any photos because the ones already posted as spot on accurate, except our room had a tub/shower combo rather than stand alone shower shown in one photo.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guests,
first of all I would like to Thank you very much for your recent stay in our hotel and your kind review you posted. I am truly happy that you had a few nice days in Prague and that we also partly made your stay comfortable and memorable, thanks for mentioning our restaurant as well...We know that our guests may have sometimes a problem with climbing to higher floor so I am happy that I can inform you that in these days we are finishing with lift installation so I am sure that after that it will be much more easy for everybody. We´ll be happy to welcome you back anytime....
Kind regards to Falls Church,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed here with friends last December and what a find this hotel is. Location is fabulous with all the sights of central Prague in walking distance. Hotel is tucked away yards away from the Charles Bridge and on the waters edge. Be sure to book a river view room. Breakfast served in the atmospheric vaulted cellar. A quiet area but good selection of restaurants, coffee houses and scrumptious cake shops all close by.

Room Tip: River view rooms have wonderful outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guests,
on behalf of Archibald hotel and staff I would like to Thank you so much for taking your time to write us your nice comment regarding your winter stay with us. I really appreciate it, especially because you were here 6 months ago, thanks a lot. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay in Prague and that we met your expectations. Of course, we´ll be glad to welcome you back...!
Best regards to UK,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Spent three nights here. Lovely hotel, great location, close to everything. Very clean with friendly helpful staff. Very quiet in lovely surroundings. Good breakfast. There were four of us, two couples, and we would all stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel At the Charles Bridge. I really appreciate that you decided to share your positive impressions with us and others travellers. It´s always the best motivation for our team when our guests are leaving Prague and our hotel and they would like to come back in future....Of course, we´ll be glad to welcome you back anytime, thanks a lot!
Kind regards to Herne Bay,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
U Zlatych Nuzek (At the Golden Scissors)
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#45 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,520 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Pachtuv Palace
Pachtuv Palace
#55 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#101 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Jezulatka
Hotel U Jezulatka
#167 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archibald At the Charles Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archibald At the Charles Bridge

Address: Na Kampe 508/15 | Mala Strana, Prague 11800, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#45 Family Hotel in Prague
#47 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#132 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Archibald At the Charles Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Archibald At the Charles Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Archibald u Karlova Mostu (At The Charles Bridge) Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Archibald At the Charles Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.