We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prague trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Archibald At the Charles Bridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Archibald At the Charles Bridge to your Saves list
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Na Kampe 508/15 | Mala Strana, Prague 11800, Czech Republic (Mala Strana (Little Quarter))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #52 of 663 Hotels in Prague
warrington
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Prague trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

An excellent hotel in a quiet square ( Kampa ) very close to many of the best sights in Prague with rooms overlooking the river Vltava ,and Charles Bridge.A couple of outside tables where one can enjoy meals and drinks at very reasonable prices watching the pleasure boats passing, and you can get on a boat here also.

Room Tip: Only rooms on top floor have A/C and some rooms have view of Charles Bridge and the boats on the riv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Mr. Michael,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at Archibald At the Charles Bridge hotel and your nice comment written about it. It´s nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am glad that you liked our outside restaurant area exactly next to the river. I hope that you spent a memorable time in Prague and of course we´ll be happy to welcome you back anytime!
Kind regards to Warrington,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    218
    27
    5
    5
See reviews for
144
391
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The photos of the hotel were what initially sold us, and they are 100% accurate! The hotel is literally steps from the bridge, but without the noise and fuss of traffic (foot or car). Our room (#11) faced the bridge, so we could see the river boats, paddle boats, and the "new town," yet there were nice curtains that blocked out the light when we wanted to nap or at night. Breakfast was a delight--cold cuts, cheese, breads, juices, cereal, yogurt...typically European, but served in the brick-covered cellar/ restaurant area. Just charming and beautiful. The best part of the hotel, though, was the warmth and helpfulness of the front desk staff. They were able to answer every question, made prints of web info for us, called us a car to get to the airport, handed out umbrellas when a shower sprung up, always had a smile and great suggestions. . .they even asked the kitchen staff make us sandwiches and gave us fruit for our early flight home. Be prepared for steps to get up to the rooms, but they are just starting to put in an elevator. I would go back tomorrow!
The "old town," or castle side of the river where the hotel is located seemed much safer and less touristy than the other side. Be prepared for a lot of graffiti, litter, and beggars in Prague. This is not Vienna or Munich. Bring change (Kc) for bathrooms (!) and keep an extra eye on wallets and cameras. We saw guys with laser pointers at the outdoor markets and tourist areas who would scout out potential victims while others in their group would cosy up next to tourists. It is a big city, but being smart about things will get you far. Enjoy the hotel--it was the best part of our stay in Prague!

Room Tip: Number 11 was great--facing the river and beautiful views, but the street views were really viewing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Mrs.Jenn,
first of all I would like to Thank you so much for your stay in our hotel and your complete feedback you wrote to us and your lovely photos you added - they can say more then any description what we are ready to offer for our guests, thanks a lot!
I really appreciate your more then kind words addressed to my colleagues from reception and it will be pleasure for me to share your compliments with them. You are right with an information about lift - we are finishing with installation ...so I hope that you´ll get a possibility to visit us again in future to see it, we´ll be glad to welcome you here!
Best regards to Illinois,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed here with family of 4 which included 2 college age children. Plenty of space, quiet room and nice view to the river. Only steps to the Charles Bridge for a peaceful evening stole and fireworks display. Close to trams and easy walk to main Old Town Square. The restroom was a bit tight but that is the euro way and work well if the guests are organized. The morning wait staff lady during the week days was very nice and she had everything well in hand. Not sure if the hotel has an elevator as we took the stairs each time to our room #19 so if required you might check with this hotel if a lift is available.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Guests,
on behalf of Archibald hotel and staff I would like to Thank you very much that you choose our hotel for your recent city break in Prague. It´more then nice to read that your family was satisfied
with our location, room, services and it will be pleasure for me to share your compliments with my colleague from restaurant. This kind of feedback is always perfect motivation for our work, thanks. If you´ll have a chance to come back in future, it will be pleasure for us to welcome you At the Charles Bridge hotel! (just for information - lift will be ready in few weeks:)
Best regards to Dallas,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The hotel is located just 3min wlak from Charles bridge, meaning very central. No clubs or other things directly close to the hotel, meaning nothing that distrubs during the night. If you want to go to a great night club the very big 5 floor clud is only 5min walking from the hotel. The hotel was clean and fresh. The room was big but a little bit too hard bed for my taste (have heard this is common for Prague) so perhaps not so bad anyhow. The breakfast included was great, with scrambled eggs and bacon and bread etc. Price wise I paid €95 for one night,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thanks a lot for your recent stay with us and your nice review you posted. It´s nice to read that
you enjoyed our quiet but central position in the heart of old Prague and I am happy that you were satisfied with your choice of the hotel. I am sorry that you had troubles with bed but I hope that it´s understandable that in this case is always difficult to satisfy everybody...Thank you!
Kind regards to Sweden,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed here with my husband in early June for 4 nights. What can I say great location, great hotel, great room, great staff!
Only negative was the restaurant, ate lunch there once and the staff were so so rude, food average and very over priced. This was a a huge disappointment however there are plenty of other restaurants and cafe super close to the hotel so there are a lot of better ones to choose from.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the street, even though it didn't have the river views of other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Guests,
first of all I would like to Thank you so much for your kind words written through Tripadvisor to us and thanks for your stay in our hotel.... I really appreciate your comments mainly because you mentioned your positive experiences with hotel at all but also unpleasant one regarding service in our restaurant, of course it´s not acceptable and please be sure that we´ll do maximum to avoid this manners in future. In spite of this fact I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and it will be plaesure for us to welcome you back anytime!
Best regards to Brisbane,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woy Woy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The hotel is a refubished ancient building on the edge of the river and just 200 paces from the stairs leading up to the Charles Bridge. The bridge is the focal point for tourists.
Artists selling, jazz bands playing, lots of photo opportunities, and over the bridge to narrow winding touristy streets to the Town Hall and celestial clock where a live trumpeter accompanies the celestial clock movement on the hour.

The book-in staff were so helpful, so friendly (even to raiding the staff medicine cabinet for panadol for me) and rushing, absolutely rushing to carry our luggage up the narrow stairs because an elevator is only now being installed (jackhammers). Good sized room, good bathroom and a basement restaurant/breakfast room with photos of Russia's Vladmir Putin in it, US vice-pres etc . Lots of character.

All in all, a little expensive for scroogey me but if we ever go back to fairyland Prague, we'll stay there again. It is so worth it.

Room Tip: The book-in clerk put us in a room two floors up and when I registered horror (my wife has a bad hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Guests,
thank you very much for your stay in our hotel and your nice review which you sent through Tripadvisor to us and others travellers. Comments from our guests are always very important for all of us and some like yours is also perfect motivation for our next work...We´ll be glad to welcome you back At the Charles Bridge if you´ll return to Prague - I am sure that next time, with the lift, it will be more comfortable for everybody!
Best regards,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed here as a family from the 5th - 8th June. Had a great time Prague is fantastic with so much to do even for families. Zoo is very good. Location location location! The Hotel is fantastically situated. Seconds away from the hustle and bustle of Charles Bridge and the rest of Old and Lesser Town but so quiet nestled away. Hotel is very clean and the staff are excellent. English is very well spoken by all the staff. Shows how lazy us English are when It comes to languages. The rooms are tastefully furnished and decorated as well as being well equipped. Breakfast is buffet style all you can eat and is also of good quality as is the restaurant recommend the apple pie excellent! Recommend this Hotel to all. Will use it again when we visit Prague.

Paul (English)

Room Tip: We had a family room (16) which was effectively 2 rooms. Good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Paul,
on behalf of Archibald hotel and staff I would like to Thank you so much for your more then kind comments you posted and for your lovely e-mail that I received as well. I am truly happy that you
choose our hotel for your family holiday and that you were satisfied with this choice.
Recommendation from our guests is always the best advertisement for all of us...thanks a lot!
I hope that we´ll have a chance to welcome you back soon.
With kind regards from Prague,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
U Zlatych Nuzek (At the Golden Scissors)
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#47 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,512 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Pachtuv Palace
Pachtuv Palace
#56 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#102 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Jezulatka
Hotel U Jezulatka
#167 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archibald At the Charles Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archibald At the Charles Bridge

Address: Na Kampe 508/15 | Mala Strana, Prague 11800, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#45 Family Hotel in Prague
#47 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#132 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Archibald At the Charles Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Archibald At the Charles Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Archibald u Karlova Mostu (At The Charles Bridge) Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Archibald At the Charles Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.