We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recemended to stay here!!! Cheap and all you need” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Merkur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Merkur to your Saves list
Hotel Merkur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tesnov 1162/9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Nove Mesto (New Town))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #186 of 662 Hotels in Prague
1 review
“Recemended to stay here!!! Cheap and all you need”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We have chosen this hotel with my girlfriend to our xmas holiday in prahue, we wanted cheap but also good quality hotel with good breakfast and to be in walking distace to city centre. Hotel merkur was the perfect choice! Really, you dont need 5 str hotel, because we barely stayed there, you just walk around the beautifull city and we just slept at hotel and webt to the centre again. Really recomended!!! Helpfull staff though!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    149
    65
    17
    20
See reviews for
65
119
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur City, Rajasthan, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Our visit to prague this September was spoilt thanks to the cunning and cheating behaviour of this hotel. We had booked this hotel through Thomas Cook based on their recommendation . On reaching the hotel we were informed that the hotel rooms which we were alloted had been damaged and they would be shifting us to their new hotel ROYAL GALLERIE nearby which according to them is a new 4 star property. After some protest we finally agreed as the receptionist showed good photos of the hotel and their rooms ... Fake as it was
On reaching the hotel we were disappointed as the hotel was far from the city center and the rooms were shabby smelly and extremely small . We protested with the receptionist but she was rude and unhelpful she did not even let us talk to the manager . Having no choice we had to stay at this dingy hotel and the memories of this beautiful city will be soured for ever .. Would never recommend this hotel merkur or royal gallerie to anybody

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Our friends were staying at the other side of the freeway at the Hilton. (It was a five minute walk and had an excellent restaurant.) We were in Prague for two nights and decided to save a few hundred bucks. The Merkur worked out fine. Good mattress and clean bathroom. Great to be able to buy a couple of beers at the front desk and bring them up to the room after walking for miles on end all day long. Not too good for kids (no working TV.) 100 feet to the rapid transit line and a ten minute walk to the "Square" Perfect location, low price, country breakfast, and beer in the fridge. You seek more?

Room Tip: There is a lift so no matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

in the hotel was very kind staff, good breakfest, also new lift, phone in the room, room was very clean and tidy.... we had a bath in our bathroom, also wifi was provided. Wery kind person in reception lend us a umbrella when it was raining. And hotel provided us a cheap taxi service back to the airport. Recomended to all

Room Tip: go to the breakfest before 8, there will be much more food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Very nice hotel, stayed there during my bussines trip in Prague. Even outside was like 16°C the Hotel heating was allready turned on. Front Desk staff was kind, room clean, FREE wifi good. Breakfest also had warm dish. Overall realy good stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 2 nights with friends and were very pleased. Excellent staff, breakfast, rooms and location also. Reception is open 24/7 so no problem to check-in even in the night. Everything is in walking distance (hotel is on the edge of the Old town). No need to use public transport at all. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We found this hotel really friendly and comfy :-), we got a big room where we all stayed. The view on the street didnt really bother us. When we travel we just want to have a place where to sleep, have a shower and breakfest and then during the day we like to sightsee around the country/city so why to look for 4stars or 5stars expensive hotel? Realy if you look for perfect hotel for your family trip for a low price this is what you want!!!! Will recomend to my friends!!! Prague is beautiful place to see.

Room Tip: room to the street was big
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Merkur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merkur

Address: Tesnov 1162/9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#137 Business Hotel in Prague
#175 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Merkur 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with cafe, bar & restaurant is located in the city centre; within walking distance of historical sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Merkur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merkur Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Merkur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.