We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall solid” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Meran

Save Saved
You added Hotel Meran to your Saves list
Hotel Meran
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Meran
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vaclavske Namesti 27, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Praha 1)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #273 of 668 hotels in Prague
San Mateo, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Overall solid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011 via mobile

Upsides
Close to old town square - less than 10
minute walk
Close to train station - about 10 minutes

Downsides
Water pressure was not good
Breakfast service was a problem while we were there - not enough tables for the crowd this had to wait - tables didn't get cleaned between groups - out of coffee eggs etc - could have been a bad couple of days - food was pretty good though

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    27
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
india
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Conveniently located in the very centre of prague at Wenceslas Square,all the famous sightseeing places of tourist interests is at a walking distance from the hotel.The room was clean,spacious & comfortable.Breakfast served was also very good.The atmosphere outside the hotel was very lively with many shops & eat outs.There was no need to spend on the transport when we had to explore the city on our own.We enjoyed our one night stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

I stayed here on my second trip to Prague after arriving from Vienna. We had a bit of an escorted trip from the train station to the hotel and were told what to expect by our pick up (who was absolutely brilliant - but not employed by the hotel, hence the slightly lower rating on "service").

The hotel is above basic (it's advertised as 2*, which if 1* is the basic is about right).

Their were two women on the main desk. The one in the daytime came across as grumpy but was concentrating on getting her english right more than anything. She smiled when we said "Na Schedanou" and "Dobry Den/Vecer". The other in the evening was a really friendly grandma sort who didn't speak a word of english but made the most to do little things to get to know you (e.g. memorising your room number and getting the key ready as soon as you walked in).

The room was spacious - on the second from top floor. I liked the old world furniture that the room had used. Made it feel like authentically continental, if that makes sense. There was just something I really liked about this hotel.

At the time, the downside for me was that the water in the taps were brown. This wasn't a problem - it was safe - but a little off-putting when you're not used to it.

I've visited Prague a couple of times since I stayed here. At the time I stayed at the Meran, the location was a blessing - right on Wenceslas Square near the Muzeum Metro Station. But given my most recent visit to the city, this may be a curse. Wenceslas Square is tourist central, but even in the day now, this bulevard doesn't feel safe like it used to. At night, the area is full of prostitutes (both legal and illegal) and drug dealing was happening really rather blatantly on all the corners of the streets leading off the square.

Those issues aside, the Meran was, and still is, a rather quaint little hotel. My most wonderful and memorable evening ever in Prague was spent in this hotel (watching the thunderstorm outside whilst drinking Bohemia Sekt - the Czech equivalent to Champagne, only nicer - and indulging in paprika crisps).

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryad
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

I have just come back with my family from a 3 day stay in Meran Hotel in Prague. The hotel is well located in Wenceslas Square, so we could make all Prague walking. It takes 15 minutes walking to the Astrological Horloge and around 25 minutes walking to Charles Bridge. The hotel is clean and the breakfast is of normal standard. However, the beds are tight and small. Regarding the hotel staff, I may say they are not welcoming nor willing to provide any service for the clients. The young lady at the reception refused to call to the airport taxi to confirm the time of our pick up, doesn't know the exchange rates and where would be better to exchange in the airport or in the market, barely responded to our good mornings. The lady at the restaurant is doing well her job: Always checking whether there is something missing. However, she does not need to frown all the time! Overall, the staff needs to be more friendly (not to say less aggressive) so they will be more professional.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — services and beds
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2007

More than anything, the hotel is perfectly situated on Wenscelas Square, so it suited our needs really well. Straight out of the front door and in the thick of Prague. We didn't need to use a taxi or tram at all.

Quite a basic bedroom, although large enough for the three days that we were there. Hotel team not overly friendly; it's fair to say indifferent at best. Only smile came from the lady on Reception when we checked out. Had to go to the Change office next to the hotel when we arrived from the airport to get smaller denomination notes for the taxi driver, as the hotel wouldn't, or couldn't, help change the larger Czech notes we had. The breakfast waitress told us firmly at 10.45 on Sunday (breakfast finished at 11) that we had to eat quickly as she had to leave promptly at 11 - and four hours was too long anyway!

However, we just used the hotel to sleep and have breakfast and it was clean and warm.

So, a basic hotel that's ideal as a place to sleep and explore Prague from.

  • Liked — Large bath
  • Disliked — Very basic
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2007

Excellent hotel,very clean and comfortable. Handy for shops bars and sightseeing. Will definitely go back.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
a happy scot in prague
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2007

We have just returned from 4 days at the Hotel Meran.

We booked this hotel on the recommendations of our daughter who stayed there 2 years ago and praised it highly for it's welcoming and friendly staff.

I am pleased to say that the hotels standards have not slipped in the slightest, what fantastic hospitality. I hope that foreign travellers to our hotels are treated as well as this.

We booked the hotel direct and received very competitive rates (a big thank you to Alena for all her work and warm welcome when we arrived)

The hotel is excellent value for being in such a great position, the rooms are immaculate, not luxurious but they have all that is required for any city break. The beds were very comfy or it could have been we were so knackered after all the walking we did in this beautiful city.
Breakfast was excellent in choice for a buffet, choices varied slightly each day.

I would highly recommend this hotel and if we decide to return to this fantastic city I would have no hesitations in contacting Alena directly again to book it.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Meran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meran

Address: Vaclavske Namesti 27, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 1
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 668 hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meran 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Meran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meran Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Meran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.