We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence Mala Strana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Residence Mala Strana to your Saves list
Hotel Residence Mala Strana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Melnicka 580/9, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic (Mala Strana (Little Quarter))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #276 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Vaasa, Finland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Great price. Great location. The rooms were comfortable and the personnell friendly and helpful. What more could one want. Special thanks to Tynka and Victor in the reception, will definately come visit again if we're in town ;)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Residence Mala Strana, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Valued Treaveler,
what an excellent review! Thank you so much first of all for choosing our cosy Hotel Residence Mala Strana!
We are very happy you appreciated it all and it is even more rewarding for us to read that our staff can make such a difference in our guests stay. I am very happy to forward Tynka and Viktor your wonderful words and I am sure they will be very grateful.
All the Staff of Hotel Residence Mala Strana looks forward to welcoming you back for another pleasant stay in the future.
Do not hesitate to contact us for any inquiry or information.
Best regards from sunny Prague
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    211
    66
    19
    12
See reviews for
82
166
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Allen, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The hotel certainly shows it's age and is well worn. It had a very good breakfast buffet included with the room. We stayed on the second floor and on the first night were approached by some other occupants of the rooms there and asked if had any problems with our room as their room had been broken into the night before and they were robbed. We did not have a problem but put everything in our safe that we could. We had a laptop that would not fit and the front desk said they did not have any secure storage so we just hid it in the room as best we could and kept our fingers crossed. It was a little unsettling to hear the first night but as I said we did not have a problem. I think I would look at alternatives next time I go to Prague that are not quite as worn but may find it hard to get as good a price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Residence Mala Strana, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Valued Traveler,
thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.
We thank you for the observations and comments. We are sorry if you had a not positive impression about the security of the hotel but we guarantee you that it was our first case and we are already taking all precautions to avoid this happening again. We have been following the case and gave guests all the necessary assistance. We have 24 hour reception and each room have safe deposit box - not suitable for laptop - for values, money and jewels.
Thank you for appreciating the breakfast buffet and the good money value of the hotel.
For your future stay we can invite you to check the offer of our Hotel Chain and consider one of our other hotels in the city.
We truly hope to welcome you back to Prague soon!
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

We were put in this hotel as when we arrived at our planned hotel there had been a leak and we were unable to stay. We had no choice as it was a pre paid arrangement. We are in Prague for our wedding and were dismayed at the prospect of staying here for the build up to our wedding. The room was dark and old and smelt mouldy as soon as we opened the door. The culprit was a big mouldy stain on the bathroom ceiling. The decor had seen better days, holes in the carpet and thick dust on the window sills. This is a non smoking hotel as far as I am aware but the room had definitely been smoked in and the coridoor was full of it from the room next door. We arrived late and for the sake of being stressed enough already I said I would give it one night. Wish I hadn't as I woke up several times in the night, once with some kind of fight going on outside (windows had to be open as no air con and very hot here. ) secondly because the bed was like sleeping on a board and my back was hurting. There and then I decided we were checking out.

There are some positives, the reception staff are charming and friendly. The location is very good. 2 minutes walk to cafe savoy / Kampa park. 10 mins through the park to lesser town and Charles bridge. Good selection of local cafes and eateries. If we weren't in a situation where we have to be in the room so much sorting the wedding I could have coped due to the excellent location but as I had to sit making favours all day we have checked into our fave place in Prague a day early. I suppose you get what you pay for but we ended up paying a 5 star for an extra night as I just can't bare mould and smelly surroundings. I find budget travel a chore, it is the problem of the tour company not the hotel really as when you pay 5 star you don't expect to be put somewhere like mala strana for 2 nights, leak or no leak in the original place.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Residence Mala Strana, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Valued Traveler,
we are sorry you had this disadventure with your accommodation in Prague on such an occasion.
It is a very unpleasant situation and it is definitely a mistake from the trip organization or travel agency.
Hotel Residence Mala Strana is not a 5 five star hotel, but a 3 star hotel with all the features belonging to its category with the extra values of the excellent position and family atmosphere.
We thank you anyway for giving us your opinion and contribution.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The hotel is in a good location. If you are travelling from Praha hln (the main station), don't get a taxi. I intended to get one, before we got in, told the driver where we were staying, he said "35 euro", I started walking, he said, "25". I said, "we'll get a Tram". We caught the number 9 tram towards Sidliste Repy and got off at Ujezd, which is the 1st stop after the river. Then, walk to the end of the street, turn left, and it's the 2nd left. Get the tram going left from the station. It is a 10 min trip. There are many tram lines that are near the hotel, and will take you to Charles Bridge, Prague Castle, Wenceslas Square etc.
The rooms are a good size, and clean. The breakfast is good, with scrambled eggs and either sausages or bacon. The coffee is percolated.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Residence Mala Strana, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Valued Traveler,
thank you for sharing your experience in Hotel Residence Mala Strana with the community of Tripadvisor, we are sure your feedbacks will be helpful for future travelers to make their choice for a nice, quiet and budget accommodation in beautiful Prague.
Thank you for giving the advice for the trip from the Main Railway Station to the Hotel, the tram is a very fast and convenient choice to reach the Hotel Residence Mala Strana, we just suggest to buy and punch the ticket because controls are pretty stricts in all means of transport in Prague.
We hope to welcome you back soon and in case of inquiries or request of information for your next stay we kindly invite you to contact us directly.
Best regards from sunny and warm Prague,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The room was pretty cheap, great location - quiet street but just minutes away from old town.
Given the prices in Prague, I guess it's possible to find something a bit better.

The room had a small kitchenette which was neat, but there was almost nothing there besides a couple of plates and a coffee cup. I loved a huge windows that open up.
The room was a bit dusty, but neat. However the bathroom had a bad smell. Even though it seemed clean, the smell of urine was always present in the bathroom ...
Room's minibar was RIDICULOUSLY overprices ... good thing there was a convenience store right across the street.

Breakfast selection was pretty good, however it is served in a basement ... not a very cheery place to start your morning. Especially with a huge sign saying that you cannot take away any food with you ...

Front desk staff - there was one guy who was very knowledgeable and friendly. A girl that worked during the day didn't speak English very well, so it was difficult to communicate with her.

it does have free WiFi, but it barely works in the room (we stayed on the 3rd floor).
It works fine in the lobby and in the breakfast room in the basement.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Residence Mala Strana, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Valued Traveler,
thank you for choosing our Hotel Residence Mala Strana and for posting you essetial contribution to Tripadvisor.
We are happy you shared with us both positive and less positive aspects of your stay, we will forward your observations to the Hotel Management in order to take any possible actions to improve our services.
I would like to inform you and any other future travelers staying in our Hotel that kitchen equipment can be requested at the front desk and our staff will provide you with it. Wi-Fi is working all over the property and it has been tested different times, we will check it with our IT department anyway in order to guarantee a good connection.
Thank you again for your considerations and we hope to see you again in the near future. Do not hesitate to contact us for any further information or inquiry.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhuhai, China
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. Overall, we were happy with the hotel. The response to an initial query was very fast, and friendly, and our welcome was equaly friendly. The hotel is in a back street, and would normally be quiet I think, but Prague was having a heat wave, and with no aircon or fan, we slept with the windows wide open, and so heard the trams rattle past the end of the street until late, and the work men outside very early. The rooms were a good size, with a very handy kitchenette. There is a small supermarket close by, and the tram stop is only a very short walk. Buy tram tickets at the 'tabac' across the street from the tram stop (24 crowns). The 9 tram takes you into Wencelas Square, and the 22 to Charles Bridge. My one complaint was a 'tired' mattress that was ready for replacement.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Residence Mala Strana, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Valued Traveler,
thank you for you kind review.
We are happy you had a positive experience of our cosy Hotel Residence Mala Strana.
We hope you could consider it again on your future next trip to beautiful Prague and we invite you to contact us directly for any additional information or inquiry.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudjimba, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in this midrange hotel and enjoyed staying there. Staff was friendly and helpful, self-service breakfasts were ample (coffee not the best though. Good location, within walking distance of most tourist attractions. Direct tram line to main railway station (#17 tram from memory, but ask at reception). There is a very good farmers' shop close by, great local food at very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Residence Mala Strana, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Valued Traveler,
thank you for your excellent review!
It is for us very rewarding to have a very satisfied guests as you and we are happy you found the location, the hotel, the services and our staff good.
Just for the information, the tram going directly to the railway station is no.9 if it can be useful.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future and we would be very happy to assist you personally and directly, therefore do not hesitate to contact us!
Thank you and best regards from sunny Prague
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Residence Mala Strana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Mala Strana

Address: Melnicka 580/9, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Mala Strana 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Residence Mala Strana*** is situated in a beautiful location just few steps from Charles Bridge, Prague Castle, Petřín gardens and the Infant Jesus Church and the other historical landmarks. Hotel Residence Mala Strana*** offers 35 apartments for 2, 3 or 4 people. The apartments are fully furnished and equipped with satellite TV, telephone, minibar, safe deposit box, bathrooms with bathtub and hairdryer. Some of the apartments have also a kitchenette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Residence Mala Strana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Mala Strana Prague
Residence Mala Strana Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residence Mala Strana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.