We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a nightmare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koruna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Koruna to your Saves list
Koruna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Opatovicka 168/16, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Nove Mesto (New Town))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #459 of 663 Hotels in Prague
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a nightmare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

Just back from Prague and had to say this hotel isn't the nightmare it's painted. It's clean, reasonably comfortable and in a fantastic location. The hotel is clearly in the middle of being refurbished and has bits yet to be done but there is nothing wrong with any of it.

Breakfast was the usual cold buffett but nothing wrong with the choice or quantity.

Our room was basic but spotless. The bathroom was also spotless with plenty of hot water and towels changed daily.

The staff were friendly and helpful and our room was available despite an early arrival.

For the price - approx £30 per person per night you wont do better in the location.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    17
    37
    8
    18
See reviews for
9
22
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

ive just got back from Prague yesterday and stayin in this hotel,it doesnt deserve a 3 star more like a 1 or 2!!! The outside had smashed windows and kids had spray painted on every wall so it looked like a hotel in Iraq.

The rooms were ok but very basic and the beds are small and the spings poke you in the back all night. The breakfast was ok but again very basic but enough to have a feed.

Make sure when you go out that you take the full address of the hotel bacause its hard to find it again and the taxi drivers dont know where it is unless you tell them the full address!!

To sum it all up,the hotel is OK for stag or hen parties for just a base to sleep in but i wouldnt dream of going as a family,but you get what you pay for!! For £10 a night it was ok and we had a great time in Prague.

  • Liked — he shower was ok and warm
  • Disliked — the beds
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2008

Reading all the previous reviews, I was a bit worried about it. However, don't expect a 4 star accomodation in a hotel for which you pay € 88,- for 4 nights. If you want a lot of comfort, I'm sure you can find plenty enough overprized hotels in Prague to fulfill your needs.
The Koruna hotel fits perfectly for people who need a hotel with basic comfort (i.e. a bed with clean sheets, a bathroom with shower, sink and a toilet and a small tv) for a good price just out of the expensive centre of the city. The location is perfect (we didn't use the subway or busses to visit the city, lots of restaurants, pubs and disco's in the immediate neighbourhood). The people at the reception desk are very friendly and willing to help. The breakfast was simple, but refilled sufficiently untill the last minute.
We were with a group of people with in total 3 2p-rooms. All 3 rooms were ok, except one light in our room, wich was repaired after simple request the morning after. The refilling of the water tank in the toilet is quite slow, which might explain the "broken" toilet of one of the earlier reviewers.
To summarize: we got what we expected for the price we paid and enjoyed our stay in the Koruna Hotel.

  • Liked — Location just outside the centre - price
  • Disliked — Old furniture with quite hard beds
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2008

This hotel does not deserve the rating of 3 stars by any standard!

Although inside it was clean enough to stay in, it wreaked of cigarette smoke (Which is to be expected in most places in Prague) and looked like I had stepped back in time. The breakfast was also as poor as you would find anywhere with stale bread and a very limited choice of cold hams and cheeses. Cornflakes were on the menu as was muesli but that was it..!

The hotel is in real need of modernisation to say the least..!! The rooms were very basic at best with small beds, a flatpack wardrobe which was falling apart and an old golden coloured piece or material for a curtain... certainly not what we expected..! There is a TV in the room which is tiny, poorly tuned and not worth actually being there. The window in our room also looked out onto the rooftop of downstairs and was completely surrounded by a wall. All we had to look at was brick, pigeons, pigeon poo and debris... what a disgrace...!! The bathroom was clean but again, very basic. The sink was leaky and the bathroom had no real extraction.... so as you can guess, well you know what I mean...! The shower was good, although make sure you run all taps for a short period before use as the water looked a little murky to start with... yuk..!! The outside of the hotel also looks like something out of the communism era and is covered in Graffiti!

The hotel is situated about 5 minute walk to Wenceslas Square and about 10 minute walk to the old town and is a very pleasurable walk. The underground is just around the corner too, as is Tescos, fast food joints, money exchange, tram stops and lots of other shops..!

In terms or staying in this hotel, if you need somewhere cheap, then this may be the place for you, but if you are looking for any kind of standard, stay well clear of this dump!

On a more positive note though, the Bar/Restaurant around the corner called 'The Dogs B*llocks was excellent. It advertises 'Best Steaks In Prague' and I can re-assure you that is no lie..! We had steak there and it was superb. The beer is also price at about 95p per 0.5ltr and is open every night till 1am and 2am on Saturdays and Sundays! Go to this bar, but stay clear of this so called hotel..!!

  • Liked — Location was ok, close to main attractions.
  • Disliked — Most of it..!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2007

Ok, so this hotel is not the Ritz - but for £88 for 3 people for 2 nights, what do you really expect ???
Room 306/307 meant we had a bedroom and living area which was useful travelling with a 2yr old.
Beds are a total nightmare, like lying on a plank of wood and they creaked as much as the floorboards, if not more.
Hotel was in a great location and yes, there was some grafitti on it - but Prague has a little bit everywhere !
Hotel is badly in need of a makeover, but i have to agree with Mrs realistic - you can't expect a lot unless you pay a lot !!!
Rooms were clean and really warm, breakfast was fine and location was great.
Expect to get what you pay for !!!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Beds and shower
  • Stayed November 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne,Aust
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

I couldn't agree more with the review of 23 Sep 2007 by boggy44. This is the worst accommodation of any sort I have experienced- and that includes school camps in the scrub.I have never been to prison but if it is anything like this I can understand why prison has such a bad name. Pillow the size of a table mat,one thin sheet,bars on the window. But the piece de resistance was a toilet that wouldn't flush! After Id complained about the toilet I was told it had been fixed, only to find the method of fixing must have been a bucket because there was still no flush and by this time a terrible smell. I was then moved upstairs and aftyer turning on the main light went to turn on the desk lamp, only for it to short out all the electric appliances. Prague is cheap enough to afford more expensive accommodation. Hotel Koruna should be avoided at all cost. NUTSY, MELBOURNE AUSTRALIA 3 OCT 2007

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Canyon, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2007

didn't do my homework going to new city.landed at koruna. it was awful.in fact RUBBISH
i am not a fussy person but the room was the worst i have ever stayed in which was a shame because the location was very good not far from charles bridge
the room was small, with basic furniture. floorboards creaked at every step, the bed was small and very uncomfortable. the bathroom was clean but in poor condition, with the shower soap container was just a removed briCk in the wall.
the view from the small grimy window was enclosed buildings with picturesque views of pigeon droppings and the occasional bird cooing outside the room at 5 in the morning.
breakfast was adequate but juice was orange squash. i'm way past 10 years of age. i sent pictures to my friends bill and stef who just laughed from their 5 star luxury in hawaii.
if your travel agent offers you this delightful hotel - my advice RUN LIKE THE WIND

  • Liked — the exit
  • Disliked — the scarey lift
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel City Inn
Hotel City Inn
#538 of 663 in Prague
3.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Botel Albatros
Botel Albatros
#406 of 663 in Prague
3.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Rubicon
Hotel Rubicon
#407 of 663 in Prague
3.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#325 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Andante
Andante
#226 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
AXA hotel
AXA hotel
#260 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koruna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koruna

Address: Opatovicka 168/16, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1 , Praha 2
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #459 of 663 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Koruna 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Koruna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koruna Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koruna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.