We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Design Hotel Jewel Prague

Save Saved
You added Design Hotel Jewel Prague to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rytirska 3 | Stare Mesto, Prague 11000, Czech Republic   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book directly save 10%
Ranked #16 of 668 hotels in Prague
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is my favorite hotel. The staff is friendly and extremely helpful, there is a nice comfortable bar down stairs where you can have drinks named after the different rooms in the hotel. I am definitely coming back to Prague just to stay at this hotel. The location is perfect. Everything is thoughtfully done they leave the best cookies in the world in your room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    43
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
141
36
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed in a single room on the top floor. The size was what you can expect from a single room. Big enough. Comfortable bed and sheets. Spacious bathroom. Bathrobe, pillow menu, Water and other small things that made the little extra. Friendly staff. Great location in the middle of everything but still very quiet location. The design of the hotel and the restaurant is clean and trendy, very suitable for Scandinavian tastes.

I had dinner in the restaurant at the hotel, it was superb. Service was good and the food was delicious. I had two drinks, one glass of whine and a starter as well as a main course for only about 30 USD. And that was after I had added tip. You must have dinner there at least one night.

Breakfast in the morning was very good. A nice buffe breakfast and you could also choose some warm things from a menu. It is a small hotel and the breakfast reflected that but the quality was good. Different kinds of bread, fresh orange juice and you could get special coffees like cappuccino without any extra charge. I'm very picky when it comes to breakfasts but I was satisfied leaving.

Next time I go to Prague, because I will it was a lovely city, I'll probably stay here again.

Room Tip: No lift so if you have trouble walking stairs ask for a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

The entire staff at the Hotel Jewel made our stay in Prague a wonderful experience! From the wonderful breakfast to the great cocktails it was fabulous! The hotel is eclectic in style and extremely comfortable in a perfect location...highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The first thing you see upon entering this hotel is the beautiful jewel tiled bar. Beyond the bar is the reception area where you are warmly greeted and taken to your room. Up three flights of stairs, the luggage is the only thing going in a lift. Travelers take note: If you can't walk up stairs (they curve around), this hotel is not for you. We were up and down many times a day.
The room, while charming and updated (we had the blue sapphire room), was tiny. We hung up a few things, but mostly lived out of our suitcase. The bed was very comfortable, as were the pillows and although we faced the street, we didn't hear any noise due to the double pane windows. The bathroom is small as well, but well appointed and nice. There is a sofa and table across from the bed. Each night a fresh pitcher of water with citrus and some chocolate treat, along with a Czech bedtime story awaited us. Wifi worked well. Breakfast was very good with made to order eggs available. The staff were incredibly gracious and accommodating. We remember Marek. He was great. The other gentleman who helped get us to the airport where our rental car was waiting, and printed out map quest, was also super. I'm sorry I forgot his name.
The driver was also very professional and nice.
The location cannot be beat. It's a safe, clean part of town, just steps to the magnificent square with the Astronomical Clock and beautiful church, dining and shoppes.

The things I would improve upon at this hotel would be to replace the sofa with a desk and chair. There is no-where to use your laptop except the bed. If that's not possible, I would consider banning smoking inside the bar area. We got in late and wanted to grab a bite to eat, but were turned off by the smoking. There is an outside area to smoke, so this shouldn't be a problem,
Guests could use the downstairs bar area for wifi if the smoking were banned.

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs room if you have a problem with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was the third time our family members stayed at the Jewel, this time we took 3 rooms and even though the single room is quite small our stay was great. The service, the location and the uniqueness of this hotel keeps us coming back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bivange
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very beautiful hotel in a great location to visit Prague on foot. Nice and very clean room and bathroom. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast (buffet and menu for a choice of warm plates).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Perfect location, 10mn walk from Mustek subway station. The rooms are very comfortable though the decoration is on the kitsch side. The bathrooms are immaculate. The free wifi works very well. The breakfast is good. The downside is there is no elevator. There was traffic noise, but it was partly our fault as we left the double window open at night. We were given little cupcakes at night as well as a card with the weather forecast for the next day. To go there, just buy the cheap 90mn public transport ticket in the airport terminal for 32 cz crowns. It includes the bus and the subway fare. Take the 119 bus to the last stop, then the line A subway line to Mustek, then walk. Everything is well-indicated and easy.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Design Hotel Jewel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Jewel Prague

Address: Rytirska 3 | Stare Mesto, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#19 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#21 Family Hotel in Prague
#38 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Design Hotel Jewel Prague 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jewel - Design Boutique Hotel (U Klenotnika) is charming 4 * Boutique Hotel,it belongs among the best and top family Hotels in the center of Prague. Origin of the Hotel is historical building and besides unique design and comfort offers a great location - only 1 minute walk to Wencelsas Square and 3 minutes from Old Time Square. Jewel Hotel with its 11 Boutique Rooms offers also a luxury a design accommodation for demanding clientele. On the ground floor you can find a stylish Jewel Café and Restaurant with breakfast service. If you decide to get to know the magical beauty of Prague during your stay, everything is right in front of you. In the Hotel’s surroundings you will find Stavovsky Theatre, it was loved by Mozart, as well as many modern musical night Clubs, wide selection of restaurants with traditional Czech Cuisine and International Cuisine and many cosy Cafés. All the main historical sights of the city are in a short walking distance or by public transport. Jewel - Design Boutique Hotel (U Klenotnika) is representing ideal combination of quality, location and accommodation price in Prague for small family holidays, business travelers and also more demanding guest with special requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Expedia so you can book your Design Hotel Jewel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Klenotnika Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Design Hotel Jewel Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.