We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel Indeed! Fantastic Location in Gorgeous Prague!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Design Hotel Jewel Prague

Save Saved
You added Design Hotel Jewel Prague to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rytirska 3 | Stare Mesto, Prague 11000, Czech Republic   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book directly save 10%
Ranked #17 of 668 hotels in Prague
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Jewel Indeed! Fantastic Location in Gorgeous Prague!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I just loved the location, I got in late at night to a very clean and comfortable room. Everything was ready and taken care of for me. In the morning I woke up to the view of the most gorgeous synagog I've ever seen, I looked a little to the right and I could see the entry to the "Old Town Square" which I have to say blows me away every time I go. I felt happy and secure in my room, which was nice and spacious, a big bonus for me was the great restaurant right below called the "Aloha" that is open late! For those of you who wake up super early due to jet lag..... use it to your advantage!!! The streets are near empty between 6 & 7 and it's a fantastic time to get in some super cool pictures without the masses. Then stop at a bakery as it's opening and get some of the most fantastic pasteries baked anywhere in this world! I so can't wait to go back to the Jewel and Prague.....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    269
    46
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
144
36
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sint-truiden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Verry nice food,impressive service...!!!
We only went for dinner but for our next stay in Prague we will surely stay in this lovely place!
Super cocktails at the bar.Spotlessly clean and fair prices.
Go there !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widen, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Jewel for three nights in late Nov 2012, in the Amethyst room. Very lovely, not very large, but large enough, by any standard for a city hotel this close to the old town. Sure appreciated the suitcase elevator, very thoughtful. In fact, the word "thoughtful" pretty much sums it up. Excellent breakfast buffet, nice staff. The only (very negative) experience: all of our postcards that we had entrusted to the front desk clerk disappeared, none of them got delivered. Call it an Eastern Enigma, but, for your all's sake, take them to the post office yourselves.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vkunert, Front Office Manager at Design Hotel Jewel Prague, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you very much for a nice review.

Because we only have 11 rooms we remember all the guests as well as the guest writing this review. We are really sorry about the lost postcards but i was the one taking them personally to the post office together will other mail. Problem is certainly on the side of the post office. We always offer taking mail to the post office for our guests.



Thank you for attention,

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous boutique room. Although small, very comfortable and friendly staff. Excellent location close to wenceslas square and still enjoy lovely privacy of hotel room. Lovely food in hotel restaurant although some unusual options.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in November. The hotel had driver to pick us up at the airport and he was there waiting on us, even thought our flight was a little late. The hotel is absolutely fabulous. We stayed in the Ruby room and could not have been happier. This hotel is first class.......They even leave you mini sweets each night. The location is not to be beat. It is just around the corner from one of the Hop on Hop off bus tours and a 5 minute walk to the town square. The front desk even arranged a tour for us the night before and the driver picked us up right on time at the hotel. The breakfast is some of the best I have had in a European hotel. You have your choice of several made to order egg dishes including omelets all complimentary as part of your room rate. The restaurant is beautiful and has a great bar and wonderful food. The young male bartender there is wonderful. He loves to talk English and makes great cocktails. I definitely recommend this hotel. I will definitely stay there again if I ever get back to Prague.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed for 2nights in the jewel hotel and we have to say we couldn't fault this hotel.our room was spotless and the little sweets they left in the evening was a lovely touch.The hotel is in a great location the staff were extremely great,and very friendly.We would defiantly go back to this hotel and we would highly recommend this hotel.When we left to go to airport we left our camera behind in the bar,when we rang from airport the girl at reception found it and sent it in a taxi to us in the airport.we can not thank them enough as the camera was our sons.the room we stayed in was the amber room and was very cosy.We would like to thank the management and staff for a most pleasant stay

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in the Jewel hotel and had a great stay. The location of the hotel couldn't be better. We were able to tour all of the main sites of Prague via foot or a quick ride on the trolly or train just a few minutes walk from the hotel.
We stayed in the Aquamarine room (business) which was on the top floor. We were happy to be on the top floor despite the stairs as we found the doors to be old and not very soundproof. We were awoken by our neighbours coming and going in the morning not because they were particularly loud, but the doors didn't do a good job of blocking noise. Luckily, on the 4th floor, we didn't have much traffic.
The room was a bit small but perfectly fine for the 2 of us. We found the bed to be extremely comfortable and we appreciated the turn down service, the fresh fruit water and the treats at the end of every day. The staff were friendly and helpful and the cocktail bar was great to unwind in after a long day.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay and we'd definitely stay at the Jewel again.

Room Tip: I wouldn't go smaller than a business room if more than one person and higher up means more stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vkunert, Owner at Design Hotel Jewel Prague, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Hallo,

Thank you for a review that really made us happy and we really appreciate it.



I´d like to react to the problem with the door.

The doors are not old, on the contrary all the doors are there for just year and a half. I think it was more about the noisy neighbors as mentioned in the review. In this case each guest having this problem can contact the reception and we will do our best to deal with the issue. We can call up on the noisy guests or we can change the rooms for guests. Unfortunately we were not aware of this issue. It really is a pitty – moreover because the guests were staying for five nights. We hope they liked their stay at our hotel and that maybe we will see them again in future.



Thank you for reading,

Viktor Kunert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Design Hotel Jewel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Jewel Prague

Address: Rytirska 3 | Stare Mesto, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#20 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#21 Family Hotel in Prague
#41 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Design Hotel Jewel Prague 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jewel - Design Boutique Hotel (U Klenotnika) is charming 4 * Boutique Hotel,it belongs among the best and top family Hotels in the center of Prague. Origin of the Hotel is historical building and besides unique design and comfort offers a great location - only 1 minute walk to Wencelsas Square and 3 minutes from Old Time Square. Jewel Hotel with its 11 Boutique Rooms offers also a luxury a design accommodation for demanding clientele. On the ground floor you can find a stylish Jewel Café and Restaurant with breakfast service. If you decide to get to know the magical beauty of Prague during your stay, everything is right in front of you. In the Hotel’s surroundings you will find Stavovsky Theatre, it was loved by Mozart, as well as many modern musical night Clubs, wide selection of restaurants with traditional Czech Cuisine and International Cuisine and many cosy Cafés. All the main historical sights of the city are in a short walking distance or by public transport. Jewel - Design Boutique Hotel (U Klenotnika) is representing ideal combination of quality, location and accommodation price in Prague for small family holidays, business travelers and also more demanding guest with special requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Design Hotel Jewel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Klenotnika Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Design Hotel Jewel Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.