We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Design Hotel Jewel Prague

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Design Hotel Jewel Prague to your Saves list
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rytirska 3 | Stare Mesto, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #19 of 662 Hotels in Prague
dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed for 2nights in the jewel hotel and we have to say we couldn't fault this hotel.our room was spotless and the little sweets they left in the evening was a lovely touch.The hotel is in a great location the staff were extremely great,and very friendly.We would defiantly go back to this hotel and we would highly recommend this hotel.When we left to go to airport we left our camera behind in the bar,when we rang from airport the girl at reception found it and sent it in a taxi to us in the airport.we can not thank them enough as the camera was our sons.the room we stayed in was the amber room and was very cosy.We would like to thank the management and staff for a most pleasant stay

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    63
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
53
215
50
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in the Jewel hotel and had a great stay. The location of the hotel couldn't be better. We were able to tour all of the main sites of Prague via foot or a quick ride on the trolly or train just a few minutes walk from the hotel.
We stayed in the Aquamarine room (business) which was on the top floor. We were happy to be on the top floor despite the stairs as we found the doors to be old and not very soundproof. We were awoken by our neighbours coming and going in the morning not because they were particularly loud, but the doors didn't do a good job of blocking noise. Luckily, on the 4th floor, we didn't have much traffic.
The room was a bit small but perfectly fine for the 2 of us. We found the bed to be extremely comfortable and we appreciated the turn down service, the fresh fruit water and the treats at the end of every day. The staff were friendly and helpful and the cocktail bar was great to unwind in after a long day.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay and we'd definitely stay at the Jewel again.

Room Tip: I wouldn't go smaller than a business room if more than one person and higher up means more stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vkunert, Owner at Design Hotel Jewel Prague, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Hallo,

Thank you for a review that really made us happy and we really appreciate it.



I´d like to react to the problem with the door.

The doors are not old, on the contrary all the doors are there for just year and a half. I think it was more about the noisy neighbors as mentioned in the review. In this case each guest having this problem can contact the reception and we will do our best to deal with the issue. We can call up on the noisy guests or we can change the rooms for guests. Unfortunately we were not aware of this issue. It really is a pitty – moreover because the guests were staying for five nights. We hope they liked their stay at our hotel and that maybe we will see them again in future.



Thank you for reading,

Viktor Kunert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

If you are looking for a great priced hotel while visiting Prague. The Jewel Hotel offers great location, friendly staffs willing to help to make your vacation stay a wonderful experience.

The Jewel boutique Hotel is situated in the very heart of Prague in Rytírská 3, only 1 minute walk to Wencelsas Square and 3 minutes from Old Time Square. In the Hotel's surroundings you will find Stavovsky Theatre, it was loved by Mozart, as well as many modern musical night Clubs. There are varieties of restaurants near by, and .. O, there's a Starbucks at the Old Town, if you need a piece of home while away from home !

All the main historical sights of the city are in a short walking distance or by public transport / taxi. The building of Jewel Hotel (U Klenotníka) was originally built as an old bourgeoisie house and some original brickwork from the beginning of 13th century can be found in its basement. The house has kept its charming historical look, but at the same time it is elegantly furnished with modern interior and art pieces of contemporary artists.
My husband & I enjoy the cozy atmosphere - charming & warm. Jewel Hotel is a gem in Prague. This boutique family hotel also offers guests wireless Internet access, a stylish Jewel Café and Restaurant with breakfast service on the ground floor, airport transport (upon request), parking and tour itineraries. The hotel helps you to organize your stay and offers a great personal service towards guests in order to satisfy every traveller's needs and wishes and to make your stay in Prague as comfortable as possible.

The ONE complain I have is the noise from next door disco hall. If you are a light sleeper as I am, you'll surely hear the music playing till 2:00am. To have a location so close to the old town, late night noise is unavoidable !

We hired a taxi near by the hotel to the cathedral and did all the rest the tour on foot (all down hill walk from the cathedral), we enjoyed our leisure walk through Praque.
The Charles Bridge (Czech: Karlův most listen (help·info)) is a famous historic bridge that crosses the Vltava river in Prague, Czech Republic. Its construction started in 1357 under the auspices of King Charles IV, this is a MUST SEE / WALK bridge, not only it's interesting, it also offers best view of Praque, if you like to take photo, this is where you'll find most interesting photos to take home with you.

My husband & I highly recommended Sag-way tour around Prague, it is FUN, UNIQUE & EXCITING !! We only need a few minutes of practice then off we go zigzag through the little alley ways, crossing the street, zooming on side walks and cobble stone ancient streets, waving at other tourists looking at you with envy LOL

Room Tip: Diamond room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I just finished our stay at the Jewel Hotel. We have travelled all over the world staying in different quality/big name hotels, and nothing compares to the overall experience at the Jewel. It is simply outstanding and ticks every box. Firstly, the service is outstanding and the staff are happy to go out of their way to make your stay all the more pleasant. Every person we encountered at the hotel, from the bar tender, receptionist and waitress at breakfast were absolutely lovely and genuinely friendly. Even the owner went above and beyond to ensure a favour for us was promptly attended to. Secondly, the location cannot be beaten. The hotel is a very short walk from the nearest metro station, old town square, tour bus stops, main shopping mall (the list goes on). We never needed public transport as you could walk to everything. In addition, it is still located down a quiet street so you get the added bonus of being close by the action and yet not be exposed to it all night long when you want to sleep! Thirdly, the presentation and cleanliness of the hotel were great. Yes, the rooms are small but this is usually the case in Europe and we certainly didn't come to Prague to sit in our room all day. But although small, the rooms are decorated so beautifully and everything is very modern. There is no lift however the staff will bring your bags up to your room for you so as long as you can walk the stairs, this is not a problem! Fourthly, the breakfast was simply superb, with a huge variety of continental choices at the buffet but then also A La Carte Options (including a sensational omelette, pancakes etc). Coffee was also fantastic (and we are pretty fussy about our coffee!). Last but not least, we have to comment on the dinner at the Jewel's restaurant. We usually do not eat at the hotels we stay at and prefer to venture out and about. But the food here was simply amazing. The chef regularly changes the menu and his meals are superb; tender meat, beautiful sides and sauces, well prepared and presented and so flavoursome. On top of all this, the dishes are cheap compared to five star hotels and taste better too! In the end we ate here both nights of our stay. And before dinner we had great fun creating cocktails at the bar with the bar tender who was more than happy to chat to us and experiment with our drink ideas! We cannot thank this hotel enough for being the highlight of our 2 month trip around Europe. The worst part was having to leave and now trying to find others that compare!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavendish, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Just spent 4 nights in the Sapphire room at this small hotel and we had a delightful stay. The room was spacious, the service was excellent and friendly. They have nice special touches like a sweet treat and a folk tale delivered to your door in the evening. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the bathroom had lovely amenities. We were able to get a massage in our room and bill the taxi to the airport to our room as well so all very convenient. Just a warning that there is no elevator but there is a lift for luggage. However, one of the best things was the location! You can walk anywhere from here. The breakfast is very good as well and the restaurant meal we had was one of the best in Prague. Still wishing for the recipe for the Chicken Thai coconut soup though!

Room Tip: Splurge for the larger room if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Hi
I just came back from 5 days stay at Design Hotel Jewel Prague
The hotel location is superb, close to every thing and still very quite
The stuff is very helpful and make our stay very pleasant.
The breakfast was very good and the bed is very comfortable
I highly recommend this hotel .

Room Tip: select room at first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We spent there three night in amber room and everything was good except one thing.


The location is great close to the main attraction of the city. The room are small indeed but this is not a problem. the breakfast was really great and the staff helpful and friendly. They kindly let us keep the room later as it was not booked the following day. Every evening they bring you a délicious small cake.


All of these woul lead to an excellent rating but when we had to pay we had an isssue. Indeed when you book the room you have an amount in euro. That's fine but when you have to pay they convert it in CZK @ 26 for one euro (instead of 25 everywhere else in the city. So it increase your bill by 4 %. So we asked to pay in euro to avoid this and they say ok but we only take euro @ 25 CZK. I felt this as tricky and dishonest to have this two change rate.


I just complained at the desk and didn't wanted to fight as our stay was nice but this have to be noticed as it not usual for a 4* hotel.


Anyway except this point i would recommend the hotel whren czech rep is in the eurozone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vkunert, Manager at Design Hotel Jewel Prague, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Good Afternoon,

I´d like to react to this review.

By the day the guests were leaving the exchange rate in our bank was 25.78. Our exchange rate at the desk is 26 because the exchange rates in banks fluctuate between 25,5 and 26,5.

Czech republic is part of Eurozone but we do not have EUR as a currency, we still have Czech Crowns but all the hotel prices are stated in Euros.

However, each guest can pay in cash or with the card in EUR in which case the exchange rate would be exactly as that at the Czech National Bank.



Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,115 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,792 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#20 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,504 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#30 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,808 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#12 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Jewel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Jewel Prague

Address: Rytirska 3 | Stare Mesto, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#20 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#38 Family Hotel in Prague
#75 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Design Hotel Jewel Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jewel - Design Boutique Hotel (U Klenotnika) is charming 4 * Boutique Hotel,it belongs among the best and top family Hotels in the center of Prague. Origin of the Hotel is historical building and besides unique design and comfort offers a great location - only 1 minute walk to Wencelsas Square and 3 minutes from Old Time Square. Jewel Hotel with its 11 Boutique Rooms offers also a luxury a design accommodation for demanding clientele. On the ground floor you can find a stylish Jewel Cafe and Restaurant with breakfast service. If you decide to get to know the magical beauty of Prague during your stay, everything is right in front of you. In the Hotel's surroundings you will find Stavovsky Theatre, it was loved by Mozart, as well as many modern musical night Clubs, wide selection of restaurants with traditional Czech Cuisine and International Cuisine and many cosy Cafes. All the main historical sights of the city are in a short walking distance or by public transport. Jewel - Design Boutique Hotel (U Klenotnika) is representing ideal combination of quality, location and accommodation price in Prague for small family holidays, business travelers and also more demanding guest with special requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Design Hotel Jewel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Klenotnika Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Design Hotel Jewel Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.