We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't be a happier stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Design Hotel Jewel Prague

Save Saved
You added Design Hotel Jewel Prague to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rytirska 3 | Stare Mesto, Prague 11000, Czech Republic   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book directly save 10%
Ranked #16 of 668 hotels in Prague
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Can't be a happier stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed in Jewel Hotel 5 people as a family in 2 rooms. Both rooms were unique and stylish. Rooms were perfectly clean and rooms service is was great. Each evening we returned our rooms we were finding small snacks left in the rooms as well as next days weather forecast. The Hotel is placed at the heart of Prague so you can literally go to all touristic attractions by walk. The staff were very friendly and helpful.Last but not the least the breakfast is superb. Absolutely you cannot get a better breakfast. Only negative thing is that there is no elevator but this is quite normal for a Prague city hotel cause all buildings are historical so no room for elevator. (There is a small luggage elevator going up to second floor)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    43
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
141
36
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The location of this very small hotel is perfect but my single room was a renovated closet. It was clean and had a window (the room was basically the width of that window) but I was definitely expecting more (literally) for the price. Moreover, when I got to the breakfast at 9:30, I was told by the waitress that they had run out of eggs...it took a talk with the manager to motivate someone to go out and buy some down the block. Otherwise, the small cafe in front (doubles as the breakfast room) was cozy and they served good coffee. Maybe a double room would be acceptable but don't stay here in a single.

Room Tip: Do not take a single room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vkunert, Manager at Design Hotel Jewel Prague, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Hello,
My name is Jakub and I am the manager of Jewel Hotel. I really need to react to this review cause there already were attempts to blacken our hotel lately!
Firstly there was nobody from Spain staying in any of our single rooms during June of this year, person who sent this review has just one review here on Tripadvisor and is reviewing his stay almost 3 months after his alleged stay in our hotel.
Anyway, the square footage of all our rooms is stated on our websites as well as on the websites of all our online sellers so everybody can see what square footage the room their booking actually has. Photos of all the rooms are also available on all sites mentioned above. We reside in the building which foundations were laid in 13th century so naturally there were some limitations in regard of space during the reconstruction. Every guest unsatisfied with the room has a right to ask for a change of room or for a refund which we will do immediately and we can also help to arrange some other hotel.
Price for a single room is between 69 and 89 EUR per night.
Regarding the issue with eggs - I personally can say that I've never been approached by any of the guest with complains about waitress claiming that we ran out off eggs - as claimed it this review. Part of our hotel is also very popular restaurant so running out of eggs is not an option for us!
Thank you for reading,
Jakub Sevr, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Had we not been able to book the one and only car parking space in advance, we would not have stayed here - and what a fabulous hotel we would have missed out on!

Friendly, hospitable service. Beautiful room, which was air-conditioned (an absolute must in 30+ degree heat), spotlessly clean and spacious enough to accommodate us and our teenage son. Terrific little design flourishes and attention to detail - water with a slice of citrus waiting for us when we returned in the afternoons, along with a small pastry or truffle and a card with a bedtime story.

Breakfast was delicious - plenty of choice, eggs perfectly cooked, probably the best latte in the world, all beautifully presented. We ate dinner here one night and, again, the food was terrific. The second night we ate elsewhere, just for the sake of variety, and regretted it. The restaurant we chose was ok, but just ok. Not even close to the standard at the Jewel.

Great location and really no negatives. Except we were genuinely disappointed to be leaving!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vkunert, Owner at Design Hotel Jewel Prague, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for your very nice review. We appreciated
Viktor Kunert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Spent a weekend here in August 2012. My positive experience started prior to my arrival, when I inquired about airport transportation and was able to book transfers directly through the hotel. The driver was there right on time, and a short drive later we arrived at the hotel. After a very pleasant greeting I was given the key to the Opal room. When I reached my room, I discovered a compact space that was beautifully appointed. A mural on the wall explained the significance of the opal. A robe was folded on the bed. Slippers were on the mat. The modern bathroom had tiled walls that gleamed like jewels on their own. On the desk was a pitcher of water with orange slices. And there was air conditioning!!! All of that is impressive, but it got even better the next morning at breakfast, which included not only some delicious buffet items but also a selection from the made-to-order menu. Then there’s the location – a quiet side street that a few short blocks from both Old Town and New. All of this at a very reasonable rate made this truly the Jewel Hotel in Prague.

Room Tip: As is common in Europe, the rooms are small. My colleague stayed in a single room and I stayed in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vkunert, Owner at Design Hotel Jewel Prague, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for your very nice review. We appreciated
Viktor Kunert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I am very sensitive to design - specifically whether colors and materials work together. This boutique hotel in an ideal part of Prague's Old Town nailed it! Each room features a different jewel theme. We stayed in the Amethyst room. There was just enough cream and espresso to balance out the risky abundance of purple. And the balance of natural fabrics and wood to gaudy bedazzled mirrors and satin pillows was perfect. High ceilings made up for its limited footprint. It was truly a pleasure to hang out with the window open, listening to the murmur and sometimes clamor of Old Town Prague. If that's not your thing, the windows are double deep, providing more than enough insulation from the world outside. Don't fill yourself up on too many pastries during your afternoons in town. The maid will bring you homemade cake-like truffles every day!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vkunert, Manager at Design Hotel Jewel Prague, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for your very nice review. We appreciated
Viktor Kunert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff could not do enough to make my stay enjoyable. From organising tours, to providing a huge delicious breakfast each day, to a lovely fairy tale card left on with the delicious bed turn down treat each night - I can not say enough to recommend Jewel Hotel.

It's location is perfect, and best of all the downstairs restaurant is a great cocktail bar by night!!

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room if you are not much of a stair climber.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Great boutique hotel, fantastic location. When booking, I got the "business" room, which is a little less in price compared to the standard 2 person iccupancy room at this hotel. I believe a standard room was a little more expensive, perhaps an extra 15/25 euro per night. The standard rooms are more spacious, but the room I booked "Opal Room" (I believe there are only 2 "business rooms") was fantastic. It was a small room for 2 people, but they did not skimp on the quality or amenities.

The bedding is fantastic, the air conditioning works great, nice flat screen TV and wonderful bathroom with a nice shower. Very modern and chic. Also there is a turn down service where they also provide you a little sweet treat before you retire for the night (a donut hole/mini cake, or chocolate)...very nice touch! Also, when you arrive, there is a pitcher of ice water with lemon waiting for you in your room, which was very thoughtful and a nice touch.

Front desk is very helpful, very nice, and speaks english very well. When we were checking in, the young woman gave us materials on various tours and gave us brief overview of the city with a map. Also, there is a gentleman that was very accommodating and assisted me with carrying my luggage to my room, great management! The morning breakfast is also very good!

Last but not least, there is free wi-fi.

Enjoy your stay in Prague, you won't go wrong when booking this gem!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Design Hotel Jewel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Jewel Prague

Address: Rytirska 3 | Stare Mesto, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#19 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#21 Family Hotel in Prague
#38 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Design Hotel Jewel Prague 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jewel - Design Boutique Hotel (U Klenotnika) is charming 4 * Boutique Hotel,it belongs among the best and top family Hotels in the center of Prague. Origin of the Hotel is historical building and besides unique design and comfort offers a great location - only 1 minute walk to Wencelsas Square and 3 minutes from Old Time Square. Jewel Hotel with its 11 Boutique Rooms offers also a luxury a design accommodation for demanding clientele. On the ground floor you can find a stylish Jewel Café and Restaurant with breakfast service. If you decide to get to know the magical beauty of Prague during your stay, everything is right in front of you. In the Hotel’s surroundings you will find Stavovsky Theatre, it was loved by Mozart, as well as many modern musical night Clubs, wide selection of restaurants with traditional Czech Cuisine and International Cuisine and many cosy Cafés. All the main historical sights of the city are in a short walking distance or by public transport. Jewel - Design Boutique Hotel (U Klenotnika) is representing ideal combination of quality, location and accommodation price in Prague for small family holidays, business travelers and also more demanding guest with special requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Design Hotel Jewel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Klenotnika Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Design Hotel Jewel Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.