We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missing review?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles) to your Saves list
Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uvoz 4/170 | Hradcany, Prague 11800, Czech Republic (Hradcany & Letna)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Missing review?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What fascinates me here is that my four-star review of this hotel is missing from TA? I wrote a review of this hotel a year ago or so and it was a pretty detailed review. I praised the hotel and the location and mentioned that the only thing I did not like was the conduct of the staff who refused to serve us drinks one evening when we got to the hotel although it was just the closing time of the bar and you supposedly can get drinks at any time. Everything else was really great. What bothers me is, what happened to the review???

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    57
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
101
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was a recent guest at this hotel. The location was excellent, with a little tweaking this hotel could match its location.
I was offered two rooms both rooms had leaking taps and no plug in the wash hand basin. When I mentioned the continues noise from the leaking tap the reply from the management was "shut the bathroom door".
The matter was not resolved.
First day breakfast was continental breakfast with stale bread rolls.
The staff were well dressed but offered no assistance when needed.
The best member of staff at the hotel was an elderly lady who kept our room immaculate.
Made two requests for snacks during the day both instances we were informed that the restaurant was closed.
Not up to hotel standards.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms small windows. good sleep no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We selected Hotel U Krale Karla for our first visit to Prague based off of its location, size, and previous reviews - once arriving we were sure we made the right choice.
We wanted to find a hotel with old-world flare that was not right in the middle of town but within a comfortable walking distance of the main attractions and this hotel fit the bill for sure. We were also looking for a hotel that was small and intimate, traditional and quiet, and a place where we could feel comfortable - Hotel U Krale Karla was all of this and more!
From the moment you walk in, you feel the old-world charm and just know you are going to enjoy every moment spent there. The staff was amazing - genuinely friendly and always helpful - providing recommendations for local restaurants, as well as sights to see and things to do.
While the house restaurant no longer serves dinner, they do go over and above every morning at breakfast. Much more than the typical 'Continental Breakfasts' you get in many places where the selection is rather sparse - breakfast here always had a wide variety of hot and cold dishes, fresh seasonal fruit, breads and cheeses, as well as delicious pastries.
My spouse and I always felt warmly welcomed and did not have one thing to complain about or wish were different about this amazing hotel. We made the right choice staying here and on return trips to Prague, we have no desire to look anywhere else - we will come back to Hotel U Krale Karla every time.
Thank you to the amazing hotel staff - you helped make our first visit to Prague an outstanding experience!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forys_Matej, Generální ředitel at Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles), responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guests,

thank you. There are no better words on your generous, detailed and open review about your stay. I have to say, I am allways little worried about visitors of the abroad shore as we do know that level of services must be on the very best level to be able satisfy such high demanding guests. I am very happy that we have been succesfull with your stay and let me thank you in your name to all my colleagues for their enthusiasm to welcome every our guests in the same way as they did with you. I am sure that your kind and positive feedback will be a new energy for all of them to keep on with the very best pro-client approach and try to deliver maximum home-feeling which is supported with the original style of the hotel.

Let me thank you one more time for your very detailed describtion of your stay. I am sure that many of Prague visitors are searching for the same experience and I can only promiss that we will keep on improving it to create still your next possible stay little bit different.

Yours Faithfully

Matej Forys
General Manager of Prague Collection
Axxos Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good location, a short walk from the bustling city centre but nice quiet area with plenty of restaurants and quiet bars. It was nice to be able to return home for a rest mid afternoon. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was extensive, generous and tasty. Very comfortable, clean room. Overall excellent value for money, very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forys_Matej, Generální ředitel at Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles), responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your decision to choos hotel U Krale Karla as your peacefull place to rest after exciting exploration of the historical city of Prague. I can only and simply confirm that it is the true jewell of the hotel U Krale Karla, as it offers very short walks to all main attractions, going nearly allways downhill and keeps our guests safe from noisy crowds of tourists around Old Town Square.

I hope we will be used again for your basement in Prague and thank you for your time to share your experience with all future visitors of htl. U Krale Karla.

Yours Faithfully

Matej Forys
General Manager of Prague Collection
Axxos Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilsen, Czech Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was looking for old barock flair to feel like being back in old day Prague and I must say the pictures and reviews are not lying - this hotel is really beautiful and the room was spacious, the ceiling beautifully painted and the furniture kind of that you see on a castle tour. Loved the big bed and all the room. The location is amazing - just beneath the castle with a lot of restaurants, pubs and cafes nearby. Breakfast could have offered a little more choices like maybe fruit salad or scrambled eggs. But over all - close to perfect!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forys_Matej, Generální ředitel at Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles), responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guests,

thank you for your time, you deceided to spent at our hotel U Krale Karla over Easter Period. I am very happy that you have been captived by the original atmosphere of the Prague Castle District and design of the hotel U Krale Karla.

Regarding your dispute about choice of meals on breakfast I am very sorry that you have missed day of the scrambled eggs. As you know, size of our breakfast room is due to the historical building little bit limited and we are not able to place all the choice at once on the tables. Therefore is the offer of hot and also partialy cold buffet, little bit changed and we are rotating 7 days plan. It means that scrambled eggs were served during the rest of 2 days, you have not spent with us. Again we applogize for that and I would like to remind to our future travellers that in case you are missing anything for the breakfast, it is nothing more simple than to ask our staff. They are all ready to prepare meal according to your expectations and requirements.

Thank you for pointing this out, as I had opportunity to remind a solution for such situation in future and I hope we will welcome you to our house again soon.

Yours Faithfully

Matej Forys
General Manager of Prague Collection
Axxos Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlem, Montana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is very nice and at a perfect place to visit the city, very good service is the standard at U Krale Karla :-)
Nearby the Prague Castle - Pražský hrad and a lot of restaurants and nice ancient buildings in a very nice street.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forys_Matej, Generální ředitel at Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles), responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guests,

thank you for your stay at hotel U Krale Karla and also time to share your experience with our future travellers. I am allways very happy to see that we have delivered our service and it seems according to your review, that you were mostly satisfied.

I hope that we will convince you to return to hotel U Krale Karla soon.

Yours Faithfully

Matej Forys
General Manager of Prague Collection
Axxos Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a tranquil, characterful, even slightly quirky, hotel set on a narrow street close to Prague Castle. It is also well located for the Strahov Monastery, the Loreta and the lovely walks and views from Petrin Hill .

The hotel staff were polite and efficient and spoke excellent English. We were delighted to be able to check into our room before the advertised time as we had arrived on an early flight. We pre-ordered a car to and from the airport which meant hassle free transfers.

We booked a deluxe room with double bed. The room was of reasonable size with adequate storage space and a dressing area. It overlooked the road but there was little noise audible from passing cars or pedestrians. The bathroom was clean but the shower temperature was difficult to control and the shower cubicle doors had to be coaxed gently into the closed position.

The decor in the bedroom was striking with stained glass windows and a painted wooden ceiling depicting a range of scenes including, I think, the Garden of Eden. We loved this as it added a real feel of "something different" to our stay. If you like the more clinical lines of modern hotels this may not be for you. The mini bar prices were reasonable, although we join those who have said that they think including the in-room coffee on the mini bar tariff is a bit mean.

Breakfast is served in a small, beautifully decorated room opposite reception. There are not many tables but we had no difficulty in finding somewhere to sit. Breakfast was, in our opinion, good with a reasonable variety of cereal, fruit, cheese, meats, etc. plus some cooked food e.g. eggs and sausage.

There is little to do in the hotel as the "lounge" area is small, so it's very much a place to rest your head, eat breakfast and head out into Prague.

As others have indicated, the hotel is uphill from Charles Bridge and the Old Town but, if you need to, there are ways of avoiding the uphill walk via public transport or taking different routes involving less steep slopes and more steps. During our visit, the area around the hotel was much quieter than the Old Town and so it was lovely to get back there in the evening after a day's sightseeing among the crowds.

There lots of nice restaurants and cafes close to the hotel so, once you have refreshed yourself after a long day, you can head out for a nice evening meal without having to walk too far.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forys_Matej, Generální ředitel at Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles), responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for choosing our hotel U Krale Karla as basement for your stay in Prague. I am very happy that you had been captived by the original hotel style, which fits into the history of the Prague Castle District. I can only reconfirm your words that the location has very much of advantages such as quietness during the night, but still close enough to reach even the night city.

Views over the Strahov Monastery and Petrin Hill gives you completely different Idea of Prague and there are definitely many ways how to entertain in the area. Unfortunately our hotel is very small, on family basis in fact and therefore we are unable for now to offer more inhouse entertainment. But we are actualy working on project of wine tasting offer in our breakfast room in the afternoon hours.

I hope we will be able to welcome you to hotel U Krale Karla again soon and thank you again for your kind and very detailed feedback about your stay.

Yours Faithfully

Matej Forys
General Manager of Prague Collection
Axxos Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles)

Address: Uvoz 4/170 | Hradcany, Prague 11800, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#76 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#115 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles) 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel King Charles - U Krale Karla is a boutique hotel situated in one of the best locations in the city. The King Charles - U Krale Karla offers you 19 well equipped rooms reflecting the building's rich heritage and providing our guests accommodation near the one of the largest castles in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel u Krale Karla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.