We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Julian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Julian to your Saves list
Julian
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elisky Peskove 197/11, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic (Praha 5)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Another 5% OFF
Ranked #28 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon on January. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They gave us a free upgrade to congratulate us on our wedding. The rooms although old were massive and overlooked the street which was not noisy at all. The common area downstairs is beautifully decorated and the perfect place to sit with a glass of wine in front of a cracking fire. The restaurant attached served delicious food and wine, we ate in on a few snowy cold nights and were not disappointed. The breakfast included was yummy too. The hotel is about a 30 minute walk from the old town but it is a beautiful walk. It is close to a massive shopping center as well with cinema.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Julian, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear clients.

I am happy you did not forget about our hotel even if your stayed with us on January.

January is low season so we do have oportunity to provide to our clients the best rooms we have. It is not easy during the high season because the most of the rooms are booked. I am happy you enjoyed your wedding anniversary! You are right...fire place in the lobby can be very romantic place when snowing outside...

Kidn greetings

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    261
    32
    4
    3
See reviews for
226
483
51
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Julian on a family vacation to Prague this summer. We were fortunate to get one of the apartment style rooms and it was lovely to have more space than we otherwise found on this journey.

The hotel is located very near a tram station though it's not a bad walk, if you are able, to the Main Square. It did take us approximately 20m on foot. The trams going that direction come about every 5-7minute. The hotel itself is located on a quiet street with wonderful Trip Advisor approved restaurants within 3 blocks. The hotel is locked and you ring in so security is good.

We didn't interact with many of the staff though Tereza in reception was exceptional. Her knowledge of the city is wonderful and she was very helpful in giving directions and suggestions for touring.

Breakfast, which was included in our rate, was good. Not as extensive as in other hotels this trip though this is a smaller venue and we certainly found the quality to be excellent. Also included in the rate is a late-departure room which included shower and washroom facilities. Much appreciated before our night train to the next destination.

The decor is the only thing that I would suggest was less than exceptional. It's a bit dark throughout the building and the furnishings are dated. I suspect this will need to change in the next year or two as the interior is moving to the disheveled end of the quirky to disheveled of the spectrum.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Julian, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear guests.

Thank you for sharing your experience with Hotel Julian with other travelers.

I see the apartments are very popular between our guests, especialy families appreciate the space and comfort. Our receptionist Tereza is very nice girl, I see positives review on her work all around me! She is one of our best employees. Unfortunately Tereza will leave us soon, she is moving to another city here in The Czech Republic. A hotel she is going to work at is very lucky.

I hope to see you again in hotel Julian even if Tereza is not here!:-)

Kind regards

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

There are so many reviews about Hotel Julian here that I'm not sure I can tell something new about. But I'll try. Stay here for 4 nights in May. Very convenient location: on the one side pretty close to the downtown and all attractions of city center, on the other - quiet place away from the tourist hordes. Regarding the location, I have to stress it is located on opposite side of the river to the old city. You can walk 10 minutes or take a tram to the old city - the station is just a block away, or you can walk across the bridge to the National Opera. The place is very cozy, there is secure car parking, front desk staff excellent, Teresa on reception - so helpful and friendly! Rooms are relatively spacious, decor is folksy - it's not luxury, but very clean and fresh. Hotel has a wonderful roof terrace with a view of the castle. The door of the hotel is locked, and you must buzz to let you in.
Breakfast is above and beyond! It included really wide range of options, you can find something for everyone, but everything is tasty. Bottom line - very good value for money, the prices are more the reasonable.
The only thing I can complain about is poor Wi-Fi signal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Julian, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear guests.

We are pleased you chose our hotel to stay in Prague.

Thank you for all the positives lines. I am sorry about the poor Wifi signal. Do never hesitate to come to the reception and share your problems. We will be more than happy to help you with technical/personal troubles. We can help our clients if we are informed about the problem during their stay.

Kind regards

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Julian. The staff were all excellent, the room was big enough and clean and we enjoyed chilling out in both the lounge and the summer terrace. Highly recommend the city tour organised from the hotel - small groups and great tour leader. Ideal location and nice quiet rooms. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Julian, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear guests.

Thank you for staying with us and for mentioning our hotel guided tours. ´

The guide is our receptionist Vaclav. He is very experienced guide he was also born in Prague. We organize these tours only for the guests of Hotel Julian. The group has usualy about 10 guests. We organize the tours twice a month so I hope our future guests will be lucky to stay with us in a term of the tour:-)

Kind greetings

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Hotel Julian is a quirky little Hotel 2 minutes walk from the river and 1.0 kilometre from Charles Bridge but importantly away from the crowds! Staff are efficient and friendly. The rooms could do with a refurb (very nineties) but they were big enough. I would stay with them again if I ever return.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Julian, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear clients.

Thank you very much for your stay with us. We appreciate you would come back to our hotel when comming back to Prague. I hope it will come true :-)

Kind regards

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oundle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, they have an airport shuttle which you need to pay for, but they can charge it to the room so no need to worry about having cash availble. The staff was excellent, very helpful in helping us plan our time. They will even make the arrangements for any trips you want to go on. They had a brochure rack in the lobby and that's where we picked out what we want to do, great selection. They do have a continental breakfast which included hot food as well as fruit and biscuits. They also have a restaurant with a balcondy that you can see Prague Castle from, nice to have after a long day of walking around. We were about a 15 minute walk from the Charles Bridge and 10 minutes to the nearest tram station. Along the walk there were several restaurants. Overall, the perfect hotel, no complaints!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor as that was all they had available when we arrived, didn't hear a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Julian, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear clients.

Thank you for staying at Hotel Julian. I am pleased you described your exprerience as "perfect stay". Hopefully we will have oportunity to repeat it next time when you come to Prague :-)

Kind regards

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
276 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I wish that armored thing wast by the lift. Scares me everytime I come out the room. Hotel is not in the hustle bustle but located nicely from everything. Very accessible by tram. Breakfast is nice wanted more as to American fruits. The driver recommend was great

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Julian, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear guests.

Thank you for your message and nice rating.

Sometimes you can find an extraordinary and historical decoration - the owner of the hotel Mr. Vesely appreciates objects with a long history and spirit. Some of them are very valuable. But I hope other decoration does not scare our guests:-)

Kind regards

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#14 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 531 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Louren Hotel
Louren Hotel
#33 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Praha 5
Red & Blue
Red & Blue
#47 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,119 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#34 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 666 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#21 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Julian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Julian

Address: Elisky Peskove 197/11, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Prague
#24 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#24 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#31 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Julian 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Julian is neoclassical 4* hotel placed 10 minutes by walk from the Charles bridge. Hotel is equipped by English style library with open fire place, roof terrace with view to Prague castle and Petrin hill, Irish pub, sauna & fitness centre. Our motto is ... Feel at home with us... and we are doing our best to accomplish this target. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Julian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julian Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Julian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.