We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understated ,affordable comfort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Julian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Julian to your Saves list
Julian
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elisky Peskove 197/11, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic (Praha 5)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Another 5% OFF
Ranked #28 of 663 Hotels in Prague
Chatham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Understated ,affordable comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

It is hard to say whether the Hotel Julian has better service or in house amenities.I also liked the location being a bit away from the throngs of tourists but within easy access of everything by tram. Most of the time I just walked.
The staff is knowledgeable and courteous. They offer suggestions for sightseeing and restaurant selection as well as booking shuttle service to the airport.
The rooms are comfortable and well cared for providing old world charm without sacrificing comfort. Mine had an anteroom between the door and bedroom that housed a more than ample closet and provided a buffer zone from noise coming from the hall, which was quite minimal. Internet service was quick and reliable. The breakfasts were more than ample and featured a variety of tasty and attractively presented selections.Should I visit Prague again in the future I would not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Julian, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Greetigns from Prague!

Thank you for your lines! It is nice to read you liked our hotel, your room and the service.

We will be pleased if you visit us again. Do not hesitate to contact us!

Kind regards

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    263
    32
    4
    3
See reviews for
227
483
51
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I spent 5 night, 2 of them with 2 children, age 5 and 7.
The hotel has very nice design, I really liked the lobby with many interesting things, including logic games and many old books.
Bad point, as in many hotels in Czech Rep - smoking is allowed. Though we were given a non-smoking room, it is allowed to smoke everywhere. when someone smoked in the floor hall - the smell came inside the room. this was very disappointing.
I visited the restaurant only once. very nice place. unfortunately they don't serve any "detsky menu" - children menu. I had to order fish with pasta. the food was absolutely non-tasty. why not to offer a simple rizek s rizem?! children may visit restaurants sometimes....
service - always with a smile, great English speakers with good attitude, available 24 hrs. It is not something common in CR. and I was in many hotel there.
Cleanliness - very clean hotel.

Room Tip: doesn't matter if you are a smoker. I was in second floor facing the main road - didn't hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Julian, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear guests.

Thank you for your feetback. All the information- even negative- is very important for us.

It is allowed to smoke in the lobby bar and at the terrace on the roof top. Our clients smoke in the halls very very rare, we are sorry you had to meet one of them. It will not be allowed to smoke in the halls soon- we will remove all ashtrays from there. Clients will be allowed to smoke only in the lobby bar and ourside on the terrace.

In the past we had a child menu at our restaurant. Unfortunately we do not welcome children that often too keep the offer. Our chef is able to recommend our clients child meal from our menu or adapt a meal to a child. Do not hesitate to ask! We will do our best to prepare a child meal according to your wishes.

Thank you for telling us all the points of your stay.

Kind regards

Lucie ČMELÍKOVÁ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I used Trip Advisor to find a hotel for a three night stay in Prague and was not disappointed! The staff are amazing! Having travelled a lot for both business & leisure doesn't make me an expert in hotel staff but definitely has given me opportunity to experience the best & the worst and Hotel Julian staff are up there among the best! They were not only welcoming but always asked me how my day was when collecting my key, they answered my endless questions eagerly & patiently. The breakfast staff were great too as was the server in the restaurant/bar.

My room on the 2nd floor was a tad larger than your standard European size room with lots of closet space. The washroom was very modern & a fair size. Great water pressure. A nice feature of my room was there was a second door between the entry door & little hall to the main area which came in handy to block any noise from neighbors coming/going to/from their rooms. My room was very clean with extra blankets if needed in the closet along with a mini fridge, kettle & mugs. I also liked that there was a heater in both the bathroom & sleeping area. The only downside for me was the safe was rather small.

The hotel is a short walk (short walk by my standards) to the Petrin funicular and the lovely park. It was a nice place to walk in the morning and see the locals running, strolling or walking their dogs. There is a supermarket down the street which came in handy a few occasions. The hotel is around the corner from the tram (#'s 20 & 9 - 9 goes to the train station & 20 will get you to the 22 which you catch to get to the Prague Castle although if you like to walk you can go through Petrin which I did a few times and loved it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Julian, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Hello dear clients.

We are honored by this great review from such an advanced tourists! According to your review and the information you provide we see you are very experienced in travelling.

We wish you to meet only perferct hotels on your futur ways abroad! And we will be pleased if one of your futur ways will lead back to Hotel Julian:-)

Kind greetings

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Before we even arrived, the staff went beyond my highest expectation. We had booked at another hotel and had a difficult time deciding which to stay in. I had inquired to both about the size of the rooms because we were traveling as a family of four. Hotel Julian returned my email immediately which was the deciding factor. The staff answered every question and concern we had before our arrival so we were extremely
Comfortable and confident with our arrival. The hotel arranged a car service to pick us up st the airport for a very fair rate but they also provided details if we preferred to take public transportation. The tram station is located across the street form the hotel which was the perfect way to see all the sites with our 5 and 9 year old. The breakfast was great and kept our bellys full well beyond lunch time. The restaurant in the hotel was wonderful. We were offered an apartment which is decorated with wonderful skylights. The room was immaculately clean and comfortable. We will tell everyone that visits to stay at Hotel Julian! Thank you for a memorable visit!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Julian, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear clients.

We would like to thank you for your nice review. We are pleased you mentioned also our communication before your arrival. We try to be as fast as possible in the communication with our clients.

Thank you for appreciating our work - we do apppreciate your time to give us this feetback.

Kind regards

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We truthfully booked this hotel mainly on the recommendation of the Rick Steves guidebooks (after having "verified" with TripAdvisor reviews, of course!). My wife and I were traveling to Prague with one of our friends traveling for a few days after Oktoberfest and we had heard a lot of "be careful in Prague" warnings with regard to hotel bait-and-switch stories, pickpockets and other scams. The Hotel Julian proved to be a very safe bet for us. The location is super easy to get to from the tram line (#9). The front desk was always staffed with someone friendly, knowledgable and willing to do what they could to make our stay in Prague wonderful, even exchanging money at reasonable rates. Because we had three in our party, we had an apartment on the top floor. The room was very clean and plenty big for 3 of us with 2 large queen size beds, a living room/sitting area and a small kitchenette. The bathroom was very large and clean, although the shower in the bathtub was a bit of a challenge, but even saying something about it is nitpicking. One of the neat things about the Julian - and especially because of the location of our room - is the rooftop patio with a spectacular view of Prague Castle and the city itself. Bring your own beverages or order from the Hotel and they'll bring it up - you can even order food! It's too bad the weather was so chilly during our visit (although they do have blankets for use on the patio).

The breakfast room is bright and spacious and the food selection was typical for the region (I don't recall, but I don't believe that they offered hot food beyond toasting your bread). They also have a library lounge just off of the lobby that looked cozy, but smelled of cigarette smoke (Note that our room and the rest of the hotel did NOT smell like cigarette smoke).

While you can jump on the tram pretty easily (don't forget to buy tickets and date stamp them on the tram), it's a very easy walk to Charles Bridge (maybe 10-13 minute walk) and the other main attractions, although I would suggest a tram to the castle/castle base.

Really a great place and my wife and I loved it. We will definitely stay here again if we return to Prague and that's about the best recommendation one can make.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Julian, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear guests.

Thank you very much for such a great review. Thank you also for your time when putting the photos here!

You wrote a lot of important information. We do consider to stop smoking in library - the only one smoking place in here except the terrace and 2 floor- smoking floor. Some client like enjoying their cigars by the fire place other do not like the smell. It is hard to comply everybody..

We are pleased you like the room and your enjoyed the terrace - we do agree it is much better in summer!

Do not hesitate to contact us any time when comming back to Prague. We will be happy to welcome also your family and friends.

Kind regards

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Excellent hotel! Especially I appreciated the staff - helpful, competent, friendly - highly professional. Rooms clean and cosy, you will be delighted especially if you like the interwar design. Magnificent breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Julian, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear guests.

Thank you for your short, but very nice message.

We are pleased our hotel staff made your stay pleasant. I have already mentioned it several times, but ones again - we are happy to have such a great team in here. Our employees are the best thing in this building:-) Hopefully all the clients will have the same experience from here!

Do not hesitate to contact us when comming back!

Kind regards

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Julian in late September 2013. The hotel is ideally located just across the river from the old city centre and has a tram stop within a minute's walk giving easy access to all of Prague's attractions. The room was clean and comfortable but a little dated. The staff were very friendly and helpful and it was particularly useful to be able to buy transport tickets from reception. We reserved a space in the small carpark in the hotel courtyard which provided safe, secure parking. The hotel also offered to let us leave the car in the carpark for the day when we checked out. We didn't take up the offer but thought it was a nice gesture. The buffet breakfast was good if not spectacular. Overall, the Hotel Julian offers very good value for money in an excellent location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Julian, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hello dear guests.

We are pleased you did not forget your stay with us after more than 2 months and wrote such a nice review.

Thank you for your nice words and for mentioning our great location and safe parking place for cars of our clients.

We wish you a Mery Christmas!

Kind regards

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#14 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Louren Hotel
Louren Hotel
#33 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
Praha 5
Red & Blue
Red & Blue
#48 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,121 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#31 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 669 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#21 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Julian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Julian

Address: Elisky Peskove 197/11, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Prague
#24 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#25 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#32 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Julian 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Julian is neoclassical 4* hotel placed 10 minutes by walk from the Charles bridge. Hotel is equipped by English style library with open fire place, roof terrace with view to Prague castle and Petrin hill, Irish pub, sauna & fitness centre. Our motto is ... Feel at home with us... and we are doing our best to accomplish this target. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Julian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julian Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Julian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.