We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel & Amazing Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Julian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Julian to your Saves list
Julian
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elisky Peskove 197/11, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic (Praha 5)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Another 5% OFF
Ranked #30 of 663 Hotels in Prague
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Wonderful Hotel & Amazing Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hotel Julian in Prague for 5 nights and was amazed both by the hotel and the level of service we received from hotel staff. It's a great location (not too touristy but easy to get to everything), clean, terrific breakfast, good size room, and a restaurant/bar onsite. The service we received was what really impressed us! The front desk staff were extremely willing to help, and assisted with several very unique requests we had during our stay. They always went above and beyond to help. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Prague!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Julian, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear guests.

Thank you for such a positive review! We will definitely let our reception staff know, how happy you are with their work.

Our hotel has great location and has its own spirit, but what makes us Hotel Julian is our friendly staff and their willingness to help all our clients.

Thank you for your nice words.

Kind regards from Prague

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    263
    32
    4
    3
See reviews for
228
483
51
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Hotel Julian, great location and value, close to two bridges over to Old Town, location is in quieter part of city but close to metro stop, good restaurants close by, great rooftop area for star gazing, very friendly and helpful staff, they were able to store our bags for a few days before check in. Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Julian, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hello dear tourists.

Thank you for your time in writing this review and for your nice words as well. We can see only positives in you lines! :-)

Hope we will welcome you in our hotel again!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The hotel was located in a great location, away from all the tourists but within walking distance of the Charles Bridge and the castle. Overall the room was rather warm and the beds were uncomfortable but it was very roomy, especially given the size of most European hotels. The staff was friendly and helped us a lot in what we should do and where we should go in Prague.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Julian, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear clients.

Thank you for your short review.

We are pleased you appreciate the location on the hotel. Our staff is ready to help you with the questions you might have.

We have already started with the change of the mattresses so the clients can already try the sleep in the new bed.

We hope your stay was comfortable anyway.

Kind greetings

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Hotel Julian is about a 20 minute walk from the Prague Castle and the Charles Bridge. Quite cozy hotel with a friendly atmosphere. Receptionists were always friendly and helpful with our requests. Our room on the 3rd floor was spacious with aircon, ironing board and iron, hairdryer and bathroom heater perfect for drying towels and washed clothes. Exactly what my wife always looks for in a good hotel room. Bathroom was spotless and water pressure was strong. Roof terrace is great for outdoor dining although we didn't use it much because the temperature was always around 11-15 degrees celsius.

The breakfast buffet had a good variety of bread, cold cuts, sausages, eggs, fruit, cereal etc... The mini croissant was exceptionally good and I would have 3 or 4 croissants every morning. They keep the buffet table filled with food and the service is efficient, though the staff somehow refuse to smile as they go about their business of manning the breakfast room.

A negative though, and I hope management reads this, is the inadvertently noisy ambience in the breakfast room as the staff work. It's quite disconcerting to have cups, plates and silverware continuously clanking throughout breakfast. The heavy handed staff create quite a ruckus as they go about their work, nothing that a little extra care couldn't solve.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Julian, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hello dear clients.

Thank you for choosing our hotel even if you come from very remote country.

We are pleased you could let us know about the mistakes of the breakfast staff. We have already spoken with them on this theme few times - and now you prooved we were right. We will definitely show them your review.

Thank you for all in your message and we hope you enjoyed your stay as much as possible.

Kind regards

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I chose this hotel because of it's good value and location. We booked a transfer from the airport which you can arrange before you arrive,, are flight was delayed and I was able to email the staff from the plane in Dublin to inform them I would be late.. This was no problem and our driver was still able to pick us up. The staff are friendly and helpful,, we were told the best way to get around was to use the tram way,, (which is just outside the building) they sell tickets at reception. This was a great way to get around the city,, although the hotel is close enough to the main attractions to walk from (about 10-15 mins walk).
The breakfast is included and it is adequate, nothing amazing but fine. The rooms are clean and the bathroom is large,, but our room was a bit small,, but the bed was comfortable.. as the hotel is a little bit outside of the main tourist drag it means that we found the nearby restaurants really good value and quality,, a lovely Thai place and Italian place nearby..

Overall I would recommend staying here,, as it is adequate for all your needs,, if you don't want to spend the world,, but still appreciate the little things..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Julian, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guests.

Thank you for staying with us. You have mentioned everything important in your review, other clients comming to our hotel can find here real and important information.

We take pleasure in every review - it means our hotel is worth your time.

Kind regards to Dublin

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Had a great time in Prague and cannot fault the Hotel Julian.The staff go out of there way to help with any enquiry you might have regarding travel etc around Prague and the service for everything else was excellent.I would use this hotel again..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Julian, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Hello dear guests.

Thank you for giving us such a nice rating:-)

If you come back our hotel the staff will be here for you again - and full of information of course!

Kind regards from Prague

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uusikaarlepyy, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

3 nights between 3-6 oct 2013.
Reason for stay. Romantic weekend.

+ Great staff 24/7
+ Cosy hotel
+ Close to the City Center, still in a more quiet area.
+ Fast Service when there is a problem.
+ Breakfast perfect for our needs. Not to much. Just perfect.

- Room icecold when we arrived
- The Bathtub is really high and no warning to watch your step when you get out of it. Im 187cm and I still hurt my knee when i steped out of it.
- No place for the water to go if it by accident ends up on bathroom floor.

Over all an okey stay. The hotel staff is most friendly and helpful.
We would probably stay here again. We would however ask for another room. We had room 405 and its on the top floor, really still not much to see outside from the windows except other roofs. :S

And....
Do NOT use the hotels Taxi service. We had an most uncomfortable experience when we used it on our way home (hotel-airport).
The driver went on and on about how little money he makes and how hard it is to make a living in Prague. It really felt like he just tried to increase on his tip by making us feel sorry for him. In the end I just ended up giving him half of what i planed to do in the begining. This hotel gets an okey 3,5 stars out of 5 from us. The driver takes that 1/2 star away from the otherwise four star rating the rest of the staff made posible,

Room Tip: Get a room on 2 or 3 floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Julian, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear clients.

Thank you for your stay with us and for your review even if I can see criticism.

I am sorry for our driver. He had to have very bad day, this behaviour we cannot accept. But thank you for telling us, we can discuss this situation with him. It will not happen to other clients.

Anyway I hope your stay was pleasant and your knee does not hurt any more!

Kind regards

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#15 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Louren Hotel
Louren Hotel
#32 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 415 reviews
Praha 5
Red & Blue
Red & Blue
#48 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,121 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#31 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#34 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Julian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Julian

Address: Elisky Peskove 197/11, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Prague
#24 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#26 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#32 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Julian 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Julian is neoclassical 4* hotel placed 10 minutes by walk from the Charles bridge. Hotel is equipped by English style library with open fire place, roof terrace with view to Prague castle and Petrin hill, Irish pub, sauna & fitness centre. Our motto is ... Feel at home with us... and we are doing our best to accomplish this target. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Julian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julian Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Julian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.