We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, Good value and Good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Julian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Julian to your Saves list
Hotel Julian
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elisky Peskove 11 | Prague 5, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic (Praha 5)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Good location, Good value and Good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I chose this hotel because of it's good value and location. We booked a transfer from the airport which you can arrange before you arrive,, are flight was delayed and I was able to email the staff from the plane in Dublin to inform them I would be late.. This was no problem and our driver was still able to pick us up. The staff are friendly and helpful,, we were told the best way to get around was to use the tram way,, (which is just outside the building) they sell tickets at reception. This was a great way to get around the city,, although the hotel is close enough to the main attractions to walk from (about 10-15 mins walk).
The breakfast is included and it is adequate, nothing amazing but fine. The rooms are clean and the bathroom is large,, but our room was a bit small,, but the bed was comfortable.. as the hotel is a little bit outside of the main tourist drag it means that we found the nearby restaurants really good value and quality,, a lovely Thai place and Italian place nearby..

Overall I would recommend staying here,, as it is adequate for all your needs,, if you don't want to spend the world,, but still appreciate the little things..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guests.

Thank you for staying with us. You have mentioned everything important in your review, other clients comming to our hotel can find here real and important information.

We take pleasure in every review - it means our hotel is worth your time.

Kind regards to Dublin

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    235
    31
    4
    3
See reviews for
193
416
42
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Had a great time in Prague and cannot fault the Hotel Julian.The staff go out of there way to help with any enquiry you might have regarding travel etc around Prague and the service for everything else was excellent.I would use this hotel again..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Hello dear guests.

Thank you for giving us such a nice rating:-)

If you come back our hotel the staff will be here for you again - and full of information of course!

Kind regards from Prague

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karis, Finland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

3 nights between 3-6 oct 2013.
Reason for stay. Romantic weekend.

+ Great staff 24/7
+ Cosy hotel
+ Close to the City Center, still in a more quiet area.
+ Fast Service when there is a problem.
+ Breakfast perfect for our needs. Not to much. Just perfect.

- Room icecold when we arrived
- The Bathtub is really high and no warning to watch your step when you get out of it. Im 187cm and I still hurt my knee when i steped out of it.
- No place for the water to go if it by accident ends up on bathroom floor.

Over all an okey stay. The hotel staff is most friendly and helpful.
We would probably stay here again. We would however ask for another room. We had room 405 and its on the top floor, really still not much to see outside from the windows except other roofs. :S

And....
Do NOT use the hotels Taxi service. We had an most uncomfortable experience when we used it on our way home (hotel-airport).
The driver went on and on about how little money he makes and how hard it is to make a living in Prague. It really felt like he just tried to increase on his tip by making us feel sorry for him. In the end I just ended up giving him half of what i planed to do in the begining. This hotel gets an okey 3,5 stars out of 5 from us. The driver takes that 1/2 star away from the otherwise four star rating the rest of the staff made posible,

Room Tip: Get a room on 2 or 3 floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear clients.

Thank you for your stay with us and for your review even if I can see criticism.

I am sorry for our driver. He had to have very bad day, this behaviour we cannot accept. But thank you for telling us, we can discuss this situation with him. It will not happen to other clients.

Anyway I hope your stay was pleasant and your knee does not hurt any more!

Kind regards

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We highly recommend the Hotel Julian. After traveling to different parts of Eastern Europe, it was great to stay at the Hotel Julian. The welcome was very warm and the service was always outstanding, no matter who was working the front desk. The breakfast was just enough and plenty of variety. The rooftop terrace was very nice. It was too cold for us to use, however. The room was big and we had plenty of closet and shelve space for all our clothes. The Hotel arranged for transportation to the hotel from the train station, and then also had a driver and car take us to the airport. We hope to return to Prague and we will stay at Hotel Julian.

Room Tip: Our room was a double room on the first floor overlooking the street. it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guests.

Thank you for feeling at home with us! It is exactly what we try to do - make you feel at home even if your are in Prague. We also insist of the best servis at the reception desk - thank you for mentioning their good job.

We would be happy to see you in here again!

Kind regards

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Hotel Julian is an outstanding hotel located in an ideal part of Prague with easy access to all major tourist locations. Our room was exceptionally clean and comfortable, the service was outstanding, the breakfast buffet was very good. The staff were very helpful to us in making our daily plans for sightseeing. We ate at the Hotel Julian's restaurant three times during our stay and each meal was very good. The Hotel Julian represents outstanding value for money in every respect and we would stay there again in a heartbeat, and recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: The suites on the fourth floor are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello to Canada!

Thank you for being so nice in you review. One message like that can make our day happier:-) We can see our work is worth it!

We hope every clients leave the hotel as satisfied as you did.

Kind regards from the Hotel Julian

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The hotel may be a little far removed from the centre of Prague for some tastes, although it's only a delightful 15-20-minute walk across the river and there are numerous buses going there. But it takes some beating when it comes to character, quality and that personal touch. It depends, I suppose, whether or not relatively small hotels are your thing. Sumptuous breakfast which may not be vast in what it has to offer but what there is is tasty and inviting which is more than can be said for some of the cold, dried-up offerings from much larger four-star, even occasionally five-star, establishments. The rooms were a decent size yet had a cosy feel to them. Got it's own cosy little pub, too. And we loved the roof-top terrace - even if the bronze statue figure did remind us a bit of Freddy from Nightmare on Elm Street!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for great review and also for your photos! Rooftop can be very relaxing place even in colder weather, you are right. We are pleased you enjoyed the jaccuzi :-)

We hope other cilents will appreciate our home and friendly atmosphere of the family hotel as well as you did.

Kind greetings from Prague

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

The Julian Hotel has it all. Our room was wonderful and spacious and furnished with everything we needed. The breakfast buffet was generous and tasty. There were tea bags, electric kettle, fridge in our room, and after a long day of sightseeing being able to make a cup of tea was so nice. There was lots of room to put our things and plenty of hangars. The staff gave us great advise about restaurants, tram routes and getting to the airport. ( They organized a reasonable car service for 500 czk. To the airport. If we are lucky enough to return to Prague we would stay again. It was a good value too!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello from the Hotel Julian.

To get to the hotel from the train station or the airport can be comfortable and easy if you reserve your transfer service with us. Our driver waits for the clients at the station and take them directly to the hotel. Luckily you reserved it in advance!

Thank you for your nice review! We will wait for your next reservation :-)

Kind greetings

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Julian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julian

Address: Elisky Peskove 11 | Prague 5, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Prague
#28 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#30 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#60 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Julian 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Julian is neoclassical 4* hotel placed 10 minutes by walk from the Charles bridge. Hotel is equipped by English style library with open fire place, roof terrace with view to Prague castle and Petrin hill, Irish pub, sauna & fitness centre. Our motto is ... Feel at home with us... and we are doing our best to accomplish this target. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Julian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julian Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Julian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.