We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at the Hotel Julian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Julian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Julian to your Saves list
Hotel Julian
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elisky Peskove 11 | Prague 5, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic (Praha 5)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at the Hotel Julian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Hotel Julian is an outstanding hotel located in an ideal part of Prague with easy access to all major tourist locations. Our room was exceptionally clean and comfortable, the service was outstanding, the breakfast buffet was very good. The staff were very helpful to us in making our daily plans for sightseeing. We ate at the Hotel Julian's restaurant three times during our stay and each meal was very good. The Hotel Julian represents outstanding value for money in every respect and we would stay there again in a heartbeat, and recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: The suites on the fourth floor are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello to Canada!

Thank you for being so nice in you review. One message like that can make our day happier:-) We can see our work is worth it!

We hope every clients leave the hotel as satisfied as you did.

Kind regards from the Hotel Julian

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    235
    31
    4
    3
See reviews for
193
417
42
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The hotel may be a little far removed from the centre of Prague for some tastes, although it's only a delightful 15-20-minute walk across the river and there are numerous buses going there. But it takes some beating when it comes to character, quality and that personal touch. It depends, I suppose, whether or not relatively small hotels are your thing. Sumptuous breakfast which may not be vast in what it has to offer but what there is is tasty and inviting which is more than can be said for some of the cold, dried-up offerings from much larger four-star, even occasionally five-star, establishments. The rooms were a decent size yet had a cosy feel to them. Got it's own cosy little pub, too. And we loved the roof-top terrace - even if the bronze statue figure did remind us a bit of Freddy from Nightmare on Elm Street!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for great review and also for your photos! Rooftop can be very relaxing place even in colder weather, you are right. We are pleased you enjoyed the jaccuzi :-)

We hope other cilents will appreciate our home and friendly atmosphere of the family hotel as well as you did.

Kind greetings from Prague

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

The Julian Hotel has it all. Our room was wonderful and spacious and furnished with everything we needed. The breakfast buffet was generous and tasty. There were tea bags, electric kettle, fridge in our room, and after a long day of sightseeing being able to make a cup of tea was so nice. There was lots of room to put our things and plenty of hangars. The staff gave us great advise about restaurants, tram routes and getting to the airport. ( They organized a reasonable car service for 500 czk. To the airport. If we are lucky enough to return to Prague we would stay again. It was a good value too!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello from the Hotel Julian.

To get to the hotel from the train station or the airport can be comfortable and easy if you reserve your transfer service with us. Our driver waits for the clients at the station and take them directly to the hotel. Luckily you reserved it in advance!

Thank you for your nice review! We will wait for your next reservation :-)

Kind greetings

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I recently stayed at Hotel Julian with my parents for 3 nights, and our stay there was wonderful. The staff speaks great English, and helped us out from before our arrival with a taxi to pick us up from the train station, to giving us restaurant recommendations (Kampe Park was fabulous for a nice meal), exchanging money, getting around on the trams, to having a taxi take us to the airport. The room was large and spacious for three of us. Plenty of room to hang up and store clothes. And the bathroom was large and airy too. When we checked in, we were also greeted with a glass of sparkling wine. And the breakfast every morning had a number of selections, situated in a bright room on the first floor. The hotel also has a elevator, as many European hotels do not. While not in the touristy area of the old district, everything is very close by, with a tram stop less than 5 minutes outside the hotel. My parents though it was the best hotel on the places we stayed on our trip. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Greetings from Prague!

We are pleased you and your parents ejoyed your stay in Prague, especialy with us!

We will be happy to see you in here again, do hot hesitate to contact us any time, we will prepare special offer for you or your family:-)


Kind regards

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at Hotel Julian and were very impressed with the hotel. Location was great...trams to the Old Town, Castle and New Town are steps away. Old Town and Castle are also easily reached by walking (10-15 minutes). The hotel staff was warm, friendly, and so helpful...their service was invaluable to us during our stay. Loved the breakfast with all the bread and pastries, sausage and cheese...and filtered beet juice! My only suggestion is that they replace the bed pillows as ours were looking a bit tired. Otherwise a perfect hotel experience! I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guests.

Thank you for your lines. We wish everybody could go back home from our hotel with the same impression as you have.

Thank you for your suggestion about the pillows, we are happy to have duch an important feed back.

We wish you pleasant holiday everywhere you will be.

Kind greetings

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Huge room with a big tub which definitely helped after a full day of siteseeing, helpful staff who speaks wonderful English, amazing views from the top terrace restaurant, and great food both in the breakfast room and the restaurant downstairs. The beds were extremely comfortable with typical duvai coverings. Great location for walking to the Charles Bridge (or several other of the 10 bridges in Prague). They do have limited parking behind a locked gate but should check first before arriving if one is available. The lobby area is beautifully decorated with an old world charm.

Room Tip: Call to make sure onsite parking is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear clients.

Thank you for putting your photos in here! It is very nice from you to show other travelers what they can expect.

We are pleased about your review. Thank you for mentioning how comfortable the room was. We hope you slept well alter all day in the city!

Kind regards from Prague

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Generous sized rooms, great staff who are always willing to help, wonderful breakfasts included. What more could you want? One of the staff members recommended Vidlicky A Noze Restaurant, very near by. We ate there three times, unbelievable value and great food and if it hadn't been for the staff member we wouldn't have discovered it. This place is everything a hotel should be.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJulianPrague, Manager at Hotel Julian, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hello to Australia!

Vidličky a Nože is one of our favourite restaurants :-) Our clients can get recommendation for good restaurants in the neighbourhood at the reception. If you know the right place, the prices in here can be realy reasonable!

Thank you for your message and we wish you only pleasant hotels on you way.

Kind regards from Prauge

Lucie Čmelíková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Julian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julian

Address: Elisky Peskove 11 | Prague 5, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Prague
#29 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#31 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#62 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Julian 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Julian is neoclassical 4* hotel placed 10 minutes by walk from the Charles bridge. Hotel is equipped by English style library with open fire place, roof terrace with view to Prague castle and Petrin hill, Irish pub, sauna & fitness centre. Our motto is ... Feel at home with us... and we are doing our best to accomplish this target. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Julian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julian Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Julian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.