We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location and best view in Prague” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Star (Zlata Hvezda)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Star (Zlata Hvezda) to your Saves list
Golden Star (Zlata Hvezda)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nerudova 48, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic (Hradcany & Letna)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Ideal location and best view in Prague”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at the Golden Star from 25th to 27th April for a weekend city break. We loved the hotel which is in an absolute perfect location by the walls of Prague Castle. We upgraded to a deluxe room, no 35 on the third floor and had an amazing view over the red roofs and spires of the city. Arriving early we took the opportunity to explore the Castle and Cathedral a shot walk away so off to a flying start on our whistle stop tour of the sights. We enjoyed the choice of hot and cold buffet breakfast and especially the Cava which you could help yourself to. Our thanks to all the staff who were extremely helpful with booking tours, providing information and ordering taxi transfers.

The hotel has a charming decked area in the front where you could relax, eat or just sample the ice cold beer while watching the world go by. The hotel is at the top of a steep hill but not as bad as we expected and plenty of bars and restaurants around and shops to stop off along the way. It's really not too
far from the city centre across the bridge but felt much quieter in the evening so suited us perfectly. We found It easy to get around the city and all the top sights are in walking distance. A must see is The Jewish Quater with its moving cemetery. We took the Jazz boat one evening for a lovely dinner, live music and an opportunity to enjoy the city's beautiful buildings lit up at night.

A wonderful break at the Golden Star - we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Upgrade to deluxe and request a room at the front for stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    143
    27
    6
    9
See reviews for
37
249
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montacute, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

For location, as others have said, you cannot beat this hotel. Situated on the Nerudova which, in my opinion is one of the most interesting streets in Prague, it is just a stroll down the hill to the Charles Bridge and all that the Old Town offers. A few steps up from the street and the Castle complex, which should not be missed, opens up in front of you.
The hotel is of a good size with well apportioned bedrooms. We had a side room with a large bed and modern shower room. It was a little noisy first thing in the morning when the re-cycle lorry stopped nearby and tipped the previous days empty bottles but that is part of city life and no reflection on the hotel.
The breakfast each morning was excellent, with a good choice of hot and cold food.
The staff were all very pleasant and helpful.
My wife and I had a great trip, thanks largely to this very good hotel.

Room Tip: If possible ask for one of the front rooms as these give access to great views down the hill into th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose to stay near the castle instead of the old town square and that was a good call. You can have the castle grounds to yourself early in the morning or late in the afternoon, and it isn't as raucous as the drinking crowds in the main square. We had a large bed in one room and a pull out sofa in the other, and each had their own bathroom, so it was nice to have our own space. One room had a shower (they all have high steps up) and the other was your typical European bathtub with a handheld shower head - you have to perfect your skills at not soaking the entire bathroom. If you don't feel like you can climb the hill at the end of the day, take tram 22 to the castle stop and just walk through and down a small set of stairs. The hotel is also great at booking tours and taxis for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room looking down Nerudova Street, although the view even from 13 on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Other than the bed being made up of a super-king-size frame, with two single mattresses on it, this hotel was the perfect place to stay. We had an amazing view (at the cost of having to walk up the hill to get to the hotel) of all the sights. Staff were very friendly and breakfast was always fresh and tasty.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east look out over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesenatico, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you are looking for the top....you have to stay on the top of the hill close to the castle. The taxi driver was saying to me....wow great location!
In few steps you can reach the castle, the Charles Bridge and all the monuments.
The hotel is in an historical green building, very elegant situation. The rooms are large. I had a suite with bast shower and separate toilet. In the rooms also wifi for free and all you might need.
Super breakfast with ham, cheese, egg, bacon, yogurt , bred, cakes...etc etc etc. they have also the restaurant and if you want they have also some tables by the street and when is hot weather is really good to have a beer watching the castle.
I was on a business trip...I would come back with my boyfriend
Choose golden star...is really a good solution! I'm a travel agent, so I can for sure give my advice to the tourists.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Close to the Castle! Historical building, on the top of the street Nerudova! The street si full of restaurants and shops.
The taxi driver when was driving me to the hotel said to me.... Wow! Wonderful location! You're lucky! The hotel is few steps from the castle and few steps from Charles bridge. From here you can visit the city centre without using the metro.
This a real 4 star hotel, large rooms with bath, shower. I had a suite, so a large room with Castle view. Safe, minibar, free wi fi connection.
The staff is lovely, they are always at disposal for any need. If you have time, the hotel has also private restaurant, with some tables also on the small square, so you can have just a beer or taste a good dinner. If you are renting a car, don't worry, they have parking. I will come back for sure!

Room Tip: Take the room with castle view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I took my partner for her 30th birthday and we loved the hotel.
Very friendly staff, clean and tidy rooms and couldn't be better situated.
Castle right next to you, old town a 3 minute walk down the hill across the Charles bridge.
Breakfast every morning is lovely. A vast range weather you want warm or cold food.
Mini bar in room with ridiculously cheap prices!!
Their is a lovely little pub around the side of the hotel which is a must for the evenings on the way back to the hotel.
Would most certainly recommend the hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Star (Zlata Hvezda)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Star (Zlata Hvezda)

Address: Nerudova 48, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#100 Family Hotel in Prague
#103 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#110 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Star (Zlata Hvezda) 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Golden Star is located in a magnificent baroque building right underneath the Prague Castle. It offers an unforgettable view of Malá Strana (Lesser Side), the Prague Castle and the Old Town. Its staircase, which is 270 years old, and richly decorated ceilings contribute to the hotel’s antique atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with historical furniture and have free Internet access. Rooms look over Malá Strana (Lesser Side), the Royal Route, Prague Castle or the Old Town. You will reach the Charles Bridge and the Old Town by taking a short walk through the enchanting historical centre of Prague. You will be served a choice of typically Czech as well as international cuisine in a restaurant with an antique vaulted ceiling. Breakfast is served in the form of rich hot buffet. A limited number of parking places is available directly in front of the hotel. You can use free Internet spot in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Golden Star (Zlata Hvezda) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Star (Zlata Hvezda) Hotel Prague
Golden Star Zlata Hvezda Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Star (Zlata Hvezda), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.