We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic with free parking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Globus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Globus to your Saves list
Hotel Globus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gregorova 2115/10, Prague 148 00, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #408 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Moscow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Basic with free parking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

It's a big hotel on the outskirts perfect as base in Prague if you travel by car or other oportunities are overbooked. 7-10 min walk through a non illuminated steepy path in the night park (not scary though) or a longher still quite steep paved lane to an underground station, 350CZK night taxi ride from Venislav sq., didn't have a chance to try night bus that anyway stops a bit off. A shopping mall Chodov with a late open supermarket is next metro stop.
Very basic, shaby but clean quite spacios rooms leave a strangedly disapointing impression (probably shouldn't: all was working, night sleep was fine). Breakfast buffet is ok, better than can be expected.
24h very helpful and friendly english speaking staff (met only 1 shift).
Wifi signal strength dipends on you position, best in public areas and yes it was free.

Room Tip: some fuss in the night from people moving in and out if you face front door
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    87
    49
    23
    25
See reviews for
35
66
27
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timisoara, Romania
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed here for a week, last week in August.

The rooms were very clean and all the personnel spoke English so we had no trouble. We especially like they had someone at the desk 24h/7, as we had to leave at 5am and it was no problem with the checkout.

Location is very nice on the top of the hill, nice view of Prague in the evening, very close to Roztyly metro station, 15 minutes to the center, very nice location.

Breakfast was very nice. Same breakfast every day, but we didn't mind as it was our favourite: 3 or 4 types of bacon, eggs, 3 types cheese, sausages, cereals, milk, coffee, orange juice, apple juice, water, bread, cakes, jams, cocoa. It was bassically all you can eat. There was always plenty of food an places to sit even with 40 people in the room every morning.

Very quiet, has a small restaurant, mall like the pub type, bar with coctails, massage chairs.

And has an elevator you can use at all times.

It had free internet in the rooms and in the reception area. In some days the signal was not good in the rooms but it worked downstairs.

We plan on going back to Prague soon and this is where we plan on staying.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We arrived here with a confirmed booking only to be told they were fully booked but had arranged an alternative hotel for us. This turned out to be 25 min drive away. The receptionist
told us that the new hotel had higher rates than them so if we paid Globus before we left they would give us a voucher which meant we wouldn't have to pay extra. This was a complete ripoff - the hotel we eventually went to charged cheaper rates than Globus but we got no refund as the new hotel had fulfilled their bargain!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reims, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Good points
-very low price (we paid 60 euros for 3 nights for a twin, rich and tasty breakfast of great choice was included)
-free inet in the room!
-clean and tidy room! we had 3 beds in a twin.
-we found a little pub near the restaurant, it was very very cheap to eat and drink there and tried lots of local food of good quality (I know what I mean since I studied in Czech for half a year)
-there is a big restaurant near hotel with live very high quality music, open fire and very good cuisine and the waiters are not spoilt as in the Prague centre).
-the location of the hotel - 10-15 min from the Prague centre by metro, so not a problem it is not far in fact!

So-so points, although not a problem
-we couldnt check in when arrived, cause had to wait for a check in hour, but its normal and we got the keys for the room to leave our bags and stroll a bit.
-the bar was closed at 23.00 once we decided to drink some cocktail and the bartender probably was tired to be nice.
-need to walk on the hill from metro station, but that's okay!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helsinki
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

I must say that this particular hotel was the worst ever. Brochures advertise this as 3-star hotel, but it certainly does not really hold true.
We lived at the hotel for 5 nights in late June. During the night did not sleep well because the hotel had a lot of young people who were shouting and slam doors.
And the worst thing was the room. There was a broked socket on the well where you could get you or your child killed! The shower curtain smelled like mold : / ... There´s no air conditioning. No minibar or refrigerator so don´t buy anything from the shop´s near by. The breakfast is ridiculous and small and the staff is rude. They come and take your plates away if you stop eating and get more ( like a slice of bread ) . I´ll put fotos from our room in here so you all can see this!! Prague is a lovely place!! We´ll go there again , but not in this hotell !!! And the TV was broken ( the colors were messed up ) DON´T GO HERE! And the best thing was that one couple HAD SEX on the lawn about 50m from the hotel main entry! My eight yrs old was asking me what are they... ¤&#"!%#"/%

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klimovsk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Very cute hotel with its own large territory with free parking, garden, restaurant, etc. Staff is friendly enough and always ready to help you. The hotel-room without modern furnishings but it's big! I was staying at the single room and had THREE beds, and I immediately wanted to find someone else, joke ;). There is no safe in the room, though you know it's 3 star, only on reception. Small TV with several channels, if someone watches tv on the trip ;)
I must admit that breakfasts are monotonous.
The hotel is located far from centre in the silent place, but close to subway station - about 7 minutes by walk, and the way is not simply - subjugation of the hill =)

and free wifi to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

The 3-star Globus Hotel is very much at the top end of this rating and is located in a south-eastern suburb of Prague backing onto a large park (more of a small forest) with
wild deer, black woodpeckers and much more.
Comfortable and friendly with an inviting foyer and large bedrooms combined with very good value for money. Food and drink are good but for that slightly better dining experience there is a superb restaurant just 100 metres away.
If you are arriving by air the Airport Express runs every 30 minutes and takes you directly
to the main rail staion for 50 Koruna. Metro Line C runs through the main station and the hotel is 5 minutes from the Rotylzy stop. Wenceslas Square metro stop is also on this ame route and trains are very frequent and cheap. Buy a 3-day pass and hop on and off
metro, trams, buses and even the Funicular Railway to the top of Petrin Hill.
All of the main sights are withinn walking distance or quickly and easily accessible lon the excellent public transport. Do take a dinner river cruise with jazz.

Room Tip: All rooms are probably good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Globus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Globus

Address: Gregorova 2115/10, Prague 148 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #408 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Globus 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Globus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globus Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Globus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.