We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but not a 5 stars” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Esplanade Prague

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Esplanade Prague to your Saves list
Hotel Esplanade Prague
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Washingtonova 1600/19, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Nove Mesto (New Town))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #164 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence 2014
lisbon
1 review
“Comfortable but not a 5 stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The hotel is comfortable, well located and decorated in an old fashion style. However, does not score as a 5 stars hotel. There are several aspects not complying with a 5 stars standard. For example: you'd expect having available a white robe and room slippers in the bedroom, as well as good bath towels (are very small); you'd expect to use your room safe box for free and to have free mineral water available, or to have a freshly squeezed orange juice and an expresso coffee for breakfast, without paying an expensive extra. Also, a 5 stars does not close the restaurant at 9 pm. Staff is polite, although not very friendly.
As positive remarks, beds and pillows are extremely comfortable, good screen TV and everything is very clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Esplanade_CZ, Director of Sales at Hotel Esplanade Prague, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Firstly, thank you for choosing Hotel Esplanade for your stay in Prague and for sharing with the fellow travellers your experience.

I was happy to read you like our location and old fashion styl of the hotel on the other hand, I truly regret, that we did not meet your expectations in terms of rooms. We do not provide tea and coffee facilities in the room but for comfort of the guest is availabe room service. Regarding the other items are availabe on the request .

I trust you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the Hotel Esplanade in the future to show you we can do better.


Kindest regards,

Miroslava Kovacikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    120
    40
    9
    13
See reviews for
54
124
22
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I was terribly dissapointed. In the afternoon hotel management (as I finally find out) invited riot cops (!) to the hotel! There were tens of them, fully armed and with equipment. Me and my partner were really scared and confused.
Personnel was arrogant, rude and not talking to us, nothing explained. Mayordomus even rejected to call the manager. Next morning they told us it was because of police intervention in building next to the hotel. It was some kind of squatt i gues. I dont care about next building at all! I dont care about squatters neither. I couldn't understand why should I feel unconfortable and unsafe in my hotel!
After this, I canceled reservation for next day and moved to other hotel. I was not surprised when they charged me whole stay...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neston, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed for three days and from the hotel we could walk to all the famous sights in Prague except the castle
What a pleasure to meet such pleasant and helpful staff in this day and age
Food and service very good

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Esplanade_CZ, Director of Sales at Hotel Esplanade Prague, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Esplanade Prague for your stay in the Czech Republic.

Our aim is to ensure high guest satisfaction therefor we are happy that you appreciate service of our colleagues. Acknowledgements such as yours are great motivation to all of us.

Thank you very much again and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Prague and our hotel.

Kind regards,

Miroslava Kovacikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. Literally 1 block from the train station and a very manageable walk to all important sites. We never used a cab or trolley. Front desk was fantastic. Helped us out several times. In our case, breakfast was included and it was very good and filling. Our room was spotless and super quiet. Slept very well.highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Esplanade_CZ, Director of Sales at Hotel Esplanade Prague, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your time and effort to share your valuable feedback.

I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us, you were satisfied with our location, rooms, breakfast and the service provided by our team. I will be proud to share your comments with the entire Hotel team.

Whenever you decide to return back to Prague, we will look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Esplanade Prague.

Warm regards,

Miroslava Kovacikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfsburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stay in Esplanade for several years and enjoy it at every time. So we do this time. Staff is very friendly and helpfull and the breakfast is excellent. Don't forget to mention, that the railway station ist only 5 minutes away (by feet).

Room Tip: Enjoy room 104 with bits historic interior
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Esplanade_CZ, Director of Sales at Hotel Esplanade Prague, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you very much for returning to Esplanade hotel during your visits to Prague, and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I am glad to learn that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us, our location, hotel facilities, and in particular the friendliness and knowledge of our Team Members across the hotel.

We all are looking forward to welcome you back to Hotel Esplanade Prague in the future.

Kindest regards,

Miroslava Kovacikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had a very pleasant 3 days stay at Esplanade hotel. It is vrey well located near to all atractions but still on a silent side street. The staff is very courteos and helpfull, the room was clean the bed and bedding spoiling. Breakfast was great with various and tasy choice. I have to mention something unusual - the responding time of houskeeping is imediate, something that we haven't experienced in other hotels worldwide, they deserve to be prised fot that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Esplanade_CZ, Director of Sales at Hotel Esplanade Prague, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Esplanade Prague for your stay in the Czech Republic.

With pleasure I learned that we exceeded your expectations and I also gladly noted you were satisfied with our Hotel staff, rooms, housekeeping service and variation of breakfast .

Thank you for sharing your nice feedback with fellow travellers, and giving us the chance to read about your experience.

Kindest regards,

Miroslava Kovacikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Location is biggest advantage of this property. You are in the centre of the city, but you have no problem with parking (10 EUR for 1 night is fair price). We stayed for 2 nighst. Our room was situated on 4th floor, room equipment was ok, the only 1 thing - 5* hotel has to have separate toillet from bathroom. We had slipper and bahtrobes in our room, they offer aslo very good hotel cosmetics.
Mattress in you room was uneven, so I slept in a "valley".
Breakfast - one of the best I have ever ate in Prag.
Restaurant is quite overpriced - 1 beer 6 EUR, tea 4 EUR.
Wi-fi - worked well.
I can suggest to all business travellers. Have expectation for 4* hotel (but this is a problem with 90 % of Prag 5* hotel, they are miles away from 5* EU standards).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Esplanade_CZ, Director of Sales at Hotel Esplanade Prague, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Let me thank you for staying at Hotel Esplanade Prague and sharing your valuable comments.

I gladly read your review and was pleased to learn that the location and parking possibility were to your satisfaction. With regards to the comment about separate toilet from bathroom unfortunately we cannot make it due to historical building. We very appreciate that the breakfast selection exceed your expectation.

Thank you for sharing your nice feedback with fellow travellers, and giving us the chance to read about your experience.

Kindest regards,

Miroslava Kovacikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Esplanade Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esplanade Prague

Address: Washingtonova 1600/19, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Esplanade Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury Hotel Esplanade Praha, located right in the heart of Prague's historical centre is more than ready to take care of its valued guests. In 2008 all rooms have been newly renovated and equipped with all modern amenities such as air conditioning or LCD television of 32" and more. Allow yourself to be carried away by the atmosphere of the twenties when the hotel was opened. Free use of WIFI in all guest rooms and public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splendia, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Esplanade Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Esplanade Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.