We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Esplanade Prague” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Esplanade Prague

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Esplanade Prague to your Saves list
Hotel Esplanade Prague
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Washingtonova 1600/19, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Nove Mesto (New Town))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #186 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Caslano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Esplanade Prague”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Very clean, conveniently located. The breakfast staff was not overly friendly. They should have prepared our beds for the night and brought us sweets: that would have made it 100% better! No pool, no fitness room. Not really five star. Internet did not work in our room.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room, but ours was much bigger than our friends, who had paid the same price. Ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Esplanade_CZ, Director of Sales at Hotel Esplanade Prague, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Esplanade in Prague during your visit to the Czech Republic and for taking the time to share with us your kind feedback regarding your stay.

I was delighted to read that you like our location and tidiness of the hotel. The interment is provided free of charge and we do not any report that would be problem with connection. I will follow up on your comment regarding the breakfast with F&B manager.

I thank you again for taking the time to share your comments about our property, and I believe we will have an opportunity to welcome you back.

Kindest regards

Miroslava Kovacikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    127
    45
    10
    13
See reviews for
57
128
24
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Pre our stay our e-mail questions were answered quickly and helpfully. This augured well.
On arrival we were welcomed by the friendly and attentive hall and reception staff. This set the standard for all our interaction with the hotel staff throughout our stay.
Our room was well appointed and a reasonable size. There was a lot of dark wood which made the room feel smaller than it actually was. The beds were very comfortable and the air conditioning worked well but a bit noisily. The bathroom was very clean and well maintained. We had no problem with hot water. Given the Hotel's great position very close to Wenceslas Square we were surprised by how quiet it was. A refined haven from the bustle going on around it.
The hotel breakfast was good with plenty of choice. We do not need the boost of a large cooked breakfast but I found the temptation of bacon and scrambled egg difficult to resist. If we had wanted more, however, we might have found the choice of cooked items a bit restrictive.
We ate in the hotel on two evenings. On the first occasion we tried the three course fixed menu. This was fine if you wanted what was on offer. On the second occasion we tried the a la carte menu and both ate very well indeed. We would recommend that you try the hotel French Restaurant. It is a cut above much which is on offer in the area and very reasonable considering the quality.
We tried a couple of tours recommended by the Hotel and booked through reception. They were both good value. There is a vast choice of tours available in the locale, in the Square many people seem to be trying to get you to join their activity, thus something can be found to meet all requirements quite easily.
We would recommend Hotel Esplanade. It is not a happening hotel but it is well appointed comfortable, friendly and well managed. It has a lot going for it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Esplanade_CZ, Director of Sales at Hotel Esplanade Prague, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for submitting this nice review of your stay at the Hotel Esplanade Prague.

I am certainly very happy to hear you were satisfied with every aspect of your stay and with the helpful and polite attitude of our Team.

Should the road bring you to Prague again, we'll be happy to have you staying with us.

Warm regards,

Miroslava Kovacikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very close to the beginning of the main street, Wenceslas Square.
Excellent service and quick response to any demand.
Free internet throughout the hotel it is a significant advantage.

Only problem was the hot water flow, but not so significantly problem.
you must add a gym and pool :-) and it will be perfect hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is not really 5* hotel, breakfast was poor and not enought. Espresso and cappuccino had to pay in additional. standard room are not really large, the location was perfect close to the railway station and Venceslao square. So in generally esplanade it's a good hotel but not was expected in my mind.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Very clean rooms; good location; attentive and friendly staff especially in the hotel restaurant and bar. However in my opinion it isn't 5* stars hotel rooms We didn't have slippers,bathrobes. A standard room is really small. There was a safe for additional charge. I don't think that Guests should pay for a safe in their room.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Esplanade_CZ, Director of Sales at Hotel Esplanade Prague, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam.

Thank you very much for your stay in Hotel Esplanade Prague and for sharing your experiences with us.

I was delighted to read that you like our location and service of our team especially in the hotel restaurant. Our hotel was established as a hotel in 1927 and it has this typical old style and we cannot change size of the rooms. Our standard double room is 25 m², triple room 28m² and junior suite 35m². Regarding the slipper or bathrobes they are provided on request.
We would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future, to ensure you spend enjoyable time.

Kind regards,

Miroslava Kovacikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

When we looked at the pictures in the magazine and then came down there, it were the same.
Excellent service. Very good breakfirst. Excellent location just few minutes away from centrum.
Overall nothing to put a finger on.
My wife, son(10 years old) and had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Esplanade

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Esplanade_CZ, Director of Sales at Hotel Esplanade Prague, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Esplanade Prague for your spring break in the Czech Republic and thank you for sharing your comments with us.

It was indeed very nice to read you enjoyed your stay with us, our location, our rooms, and service provided by our Team.

I thank you again for taking the time to share your comments about our property, and I look forward to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely Yours,

Miroslava Kovacikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecht, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in the hotel Esplanade.
3 guys working they all call Paul, but soooooooo friendly !!! 10/10
The reception girls are all very helpfull and always have a nice smile on their face 10/10
The rooms are clean.Perfect to have a nice rest in the evening, maybe a bit more space to put things on would be nice 9/10

wij zijn zeer tevreden over het volledige hotel en het personeel 10/10
Patje en Ritje
Belgie
Maart 2013

Room Tip: Some rooms on the 7th floor look out over Prague, but somethimes not available. The second floor is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Esplanade_CZ, Director of Sales at Hotel Esplanade Prague, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Esplanade in Prague during your visit to the Czech Republic and for taking the time to share with us your kind feedback regarding your stay.

It was more than a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us also very pleased to hear our Team provided an excellent service, which made you feel comfortable and at ease. I am looking forward to sharing this great comment with all of my colleagues.

Furthermore, I was sorry to note you did not found enough space in your room. Unfortunately the size of some rooms is limiting the possibility of changes in terms of room layout.

We would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future, to ensure you spend again an enjoyable time.

Kind regards,

Miroslava Kovacikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Falkensteiner Hotel Maria Prag
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Sovereign
Hotel Sovereign
#98 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Chopin Hotel Prague City
Chopin Hotel Prague City
#174 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Nouveau Palace Hotel
Art Nouveau Palace Hotel
#64 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Jalta Boutique Hotel
Jalta Boutique Hotel
#114 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 825 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Elysee
Hotel Elysee
#236 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esplanade Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esplanade Prague

Address: Washingtonova 1600/19, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Esplanade Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury Hotel Esplanade Praha, located right in the heart of Prague's historical centre is more than ready to take care of its valued guests. In 2008 all rooms have been newly renovated and equipped with all modern amenities such as air conditioning or LCD television of 32" and more. Allow yourself to be carried away by the atmosphere of the twenties when the hotel was opened. Free use of WIFI in all guest rooms and public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Esplanade Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Esplanade Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.