We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel needs a renovation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Diplomat Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Diplomat Hotel to your Saves list
Diplomat Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Evropska 15, Prague 16000, Czech Republic (Praha 6)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #270 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This hotel needs a renovation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

13-14 Nov 2013
Ongoing Construction Works just next to the hotel and they start to make noise exactly at 6:00 AM.
Cracked washbasin and mildew in the bathroom. 4* hotel???
Breakfast generous. Cooks preparing fresh omelets and pancakes. Even warm soup was there – quite unusual for breakfast. If you like wide choice for the breakfast, this is the place. Interesting that there are about 1000 books on the shelves in the breakfast restaurant so you can read during your breakfast. Unfortunately almost only German and Czech books.
Very good public transport connection. Metro, trams and buses to villages nearby Prague just in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: In the next few months ask for rooms with window facing to the west. When the construction is over i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diplomat011, General Manager at Diplomat Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Peter N,

I was most concerned to learn about your feedback about your stay in Diplomat Hotel Prague. I would like to ensure you that I highly value all comments from our guests as your feedback helps us to improve level of our services. I am very sorry for the inconveniences in regards of the construction of main road in front of the hotel. Please note that this construction works should finish shortly and new road will enable our guest smooth entrance to the hotel.

I personally checked several rooms in the hotel to find about condition of our sinks and bathroom wash basins and I would like to ensure you that maintenance team of our hotel will take care of all possible damages in order to ensure maximum comfort of our guests.

Thank you once again for your feedback, I am looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel again in future.

Sincerely,

Mathieu Rouri
Geneneral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    453
    191
    64
    27
See reviews for
114
357
65
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I stayed here with my partner for a week and it was great. staff were so helpful and friendly, spoke perfect English which was an added bonus. excellent value for money and couldn't be any closer to the metro. so easy to travel around and so cheap. would love to come back and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Friendly desk at arrival, allowed me to check in early in the morning about 11 am as soon as i arrived speaking good english and organized.
Very nice meeting rooms and facilities.
Enjoyed my medical course there a lot with a good room with good heating system all over the hotel as i am from Egypt 2 Degrees was really cold out there on the streets.
I will be back there for Business ofcourse although it took me 15 to 20 minutes by Metro or Tram to reach old city center. Station is about 300 meters from the lobby.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

A lovely hotel with friendly staff and a clean spacious room. It's about a ten minute taxi drive to the main square of Prague. Be aware when paying to ask for your change as they will keep it as a tip if you don't. There is good transport facilities beside the hotel ie bus and underground train

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

The situation is perfect, the bus from the airport stops just in front, the metro,tram and bus station is at the same spot too. The hotel is big but very calm and clean, but still there is a possibility to take a drink at the lounge bar or to eat at their restaurant.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, NH
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Located far from the Old Town. Public transportation by Metro and bus is difficult because of road construction in front of hotel and are not handicap accessible. Room 847 is small, with twin beds. The room and the hotel in general hearken back to Soviet times. Our room and the corridor leading to it was hot, not just warm. The window only opens a crack, but if left open all the time brings room temperature down to an acceptable level. The twin closets are small and inconvenient, the room safe is antiquated, the lighting is dim. Although the bathroom has updated plumbing, the shower-tub combination is not handicap accessible. One saving grace is free Wi-Fi in the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diplomat011, General Manager at Diplomat Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Elro,

I would like to thank you for your objective feedback about Diplomat Hotel. I would like to point out that Diplomat hotel is proud to be ideally located only 15 minutes from airport and 3 stops of the underground from Old town. We are also proud to have long history and tradition, Diplomat hotel is on the Czech market more than 23 years, proud to be located in historical building with long tradition.

I would like to explain that our windows are due to the safety of guests possible to be opened only for ventilation. We are protecting our guests and their families from possible injury. We also provide special room for handicap guests that is equiped with all necessery arrangements for our guests with special needs.

I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations about size of the bed or size of safety box in the room. Please note that we compile with international standards of 4 star hotels in all matters.

I do hope that we will have a chance to welcome you again in future and offer you possible upgrade to larger room category or arrange a handicaped room for you.

In the meantime I would like to once again thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Mathieu Rouri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Hotel Diplomat is a very good hotel close to the city centre with many parking possibilities around. It is located just on the subway station (3 stops to the centre). The rooms are clean and the staff is friendly. I enjoyed the brekfast with variety of dishes to choose.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 6
Hotel International Prague
Hotel International Prague
#315 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 575 reviews
Praha 5
Angelo Hotel Prague
Angelo Hotel Prague
#100 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 648 reviews
Praha 5
Andel'S Hotel Prague
Andel'S Hotel Prague
#108 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 4
Panorama Hotel Prague
Panorama Hotel Prague
#215 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 1,227 reviews
Praha 6
Hotel Pyramida Praha
Hotel Pyramida Praha
#372 of 662 in Prague
3.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Praha 5
NH Prague City
NH Prague City
#176 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Hotel

Address: Evropska 15, Prague 16000, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 6
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#154 Business Hotel in Prague
#186 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#208 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Diplomat Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Diplomat Hotel Prague is one of the largest hotels in Prague. It is renowned for its excellent conference and event facilities. Surrounded mainly by diplomatic residences and its location close to Prague castle, to the historical city centre and to the international airport, the hotel constitutes the perfect place for business as well as individual city travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your Diplomat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Prague
Golden Tulip Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diplomat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.