We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diplomat Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Diplomat Hotel to your Saves list
Diplomat Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Evropska 15, Prague 16000, Czech Republic (Praha 6)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #263 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Ukraine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I was in European bus tour, when we stayed there for 1 night. Thank God, the room has a floor rug that gives a feeling of coziness (I do focus on it, because our room in a hotel in Budapest was without a rug). Also I want to tell about that hotel: there are a wide variety of food (they had even special assortment for Asians!)
I appreciated the set of bath accessories and a comfortable bathroom. The linens were clean and fresh, and the staff at the reception answered politely, even in later evening.

Room Tip: Take a drinks and sandwiches for a dinner, because minibar is expensive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    420
    180
    62
    24
See reviews for
110
340
56
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This hotel could use a good sprucing up. Hallways are drab and could use a good cleaning. Rooms were clean, good sized, and again, could use a renovation but were more than adequate. The breakfast was good, not great, and was always crowded. Subway station about 500 feet from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is the most elegant of the hotels we stayed in through our tour. The facade is impressive and hotel's lobby is classy and large. Even with a throng of arriving guests, you have enough room to wait, seat or move around until you get checked in. There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel and the underground transportation is just 1/4 block away.

Customer service is good. The female front desk agents appear to be more courteous and approachable than the male agents. In particular was the young male front desk person who was haughty and curt. Maybe he was tired or had not been trained well.

Room is clean and of sufficient size for two. The bathroom, while small, provides good counterspace. The modern TV set provides excellent channel choices in English. (In fact, this was the only hotel that provided more than 4 channels in English.) There is a charge for internet connection in-room, but wifi is free in the lobby. However, connection was somewhat poor. The staff on the 9th floor (receptionist and masseur) are great!!! I had a good, relaxing massage.

Breakfast and dinner buffet selections were ample and delicious. The dining room is large enough to hold a full convention of individuals.

If I go back to Prague with my daughter, I will definitely suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The little bit older hotel but quite clean and well maintained. Their buffet breakfast is excellent, lots of selections to choose from. One suggestion would be to get the staff trained to be more courteous to guests from the people working at reception up to the porters. But then again I was told by a local that Czech people are still a long ways off in providing good customer service, so fair enough that I was warned but still considered it not as excuse if the hotel wants guests to come back again and again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diplomat011, General Manager at Diplomat Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for taking time to share your feedback about your recent stay in Diplomat Hotel Prague. We really appreciate all feedback from our guests as it helps us to focus on areas for improvement.
I was most concern to read your comment about courtesy of our staff. We do very much focus on excellent customer service for our valued guests. Therefore your comment is very important and will definitely share it with a management team of the hotel. We will intesify our customer care training for all employees in future to improve our performance.

Thank you once again for choosing Diplomat Hotel Prague for your stay. I am looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel again in future.

Sincerely,

Mathieu Rouri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great hotel, convernient for Metro and tram and bus from airport-BUT they had no record of this reservation when we reached the hotel late! They found us rooms but it made us anxious and the requested rooms not available. Never had this problem before.
However they sorted it eventually and we enjoyed the rest of our stay- good breakfast, helpful at information desk, clean and comfortable room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Not what I would classify as a 4 star hotel. However, it is very clean, spacious rooms, but a little out dated. Good breakfast, loads of choice. Very good location, as airport bus stops outside the hotel. There is also a metro station and it is only two stops to the major tourist sites.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The location is very convenient if you're in for a layover - 20 minutes on a bus from the airport, which only costs about 1 euro, and then 10 minutes from the hotel to the city center on the subway (both the bus and the subway have stations next door from the hotel).
The amenities level is good, everything is clean and the breakfast is quite decent.
There are a few minor drawbacks though:
- The acoustic insulation is all but non-existent: the TV next door was on, and it felt like it was inside my room.
- The room maid showed up at 8am - so ok, I should have hanged the do not disturb, but 8am? Really?
- The WiFi is expensive - 300 kc, which is about 11 euro - and slooow. I'm talking badly wounded, bewildered, apathetic snails slow here. Avoid if you can. There's a wireline access which is free, I guess, and there is also free WiFi in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Diplomat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Hotel

Address: Evropska 15, Prague 16000, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 6
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#150 Business Hotel in Prague
#183 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#201 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Diplomat Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Diplomat Hotel Prague is one of the largest hotels in Prague. It is renowned for its excellent conference and event facilities. Surrounded mainly by diplomatic residences and its location close to Prague castle, to the historical city centre and to the international airport, the hotel constitutes the perfect place for business as well as individual city travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Diplomat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Prague
Golden Tulip Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diplomat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.