We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diplomat Hotel in Prague” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diplomat Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Diplomat Hotel to your Saves list
Diplomat Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Evropska 15, Prague 16000, Czech Republic (Praha 6)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #263 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Diplomat Hotel in Prague”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I was in Prague, at the Diplomat Hotel, for 3 nights (4 days) middle of August, with a Groupon voucher. I was extremely satisfied with the hotel and in particular with the hotel staff. I am specifically referring to the staff that was on duty between August 17-20. Everybody spoke very good English, they all had a smile on their face, and were very efficient. Everything was possible and any problem could be solved right away. The hotel is very well connected both to the city centre and to airport. It is one subway stop to the palace and three subway stops to the city centre (Old Town Square). However, it takes only 10 minutes to get there, as the metro stop for a direct line is next to the hotel. Metro tickets can be bought at the hotel front desk, which makes transportation even more simple. Connection to the airport means a 20-25 min. ride on bus 119 that has one stop (coming) right in front of the hotel and the other stop (going) right across the street from the hotel, respectively. The front desk assists tourists in organizing trips, excursions, contacts travelling agencies etc. etc. Breakfast at the Diplomat Hotel was very generous and truly 4 stars. The Groupon voucher dinner of the first night had indeed three tasty courses. The atmosphere in the lounge with the restaurant, bar, piano bar etc. etc. is extremely warm and pleasant in the evening, although the lounge is a big one. But, above all, the atmosphere created by the staff was warm and pleasant. With almost everybody smiling and having 4 star manners. Unless you want to be located right in the city centre and never get on the subway (which is hard in Prague), I warmly recommend this hotel. I would like to warmly thank the hotel and hotel staff for the pleasant stay I had there.

Room Tip: I did not try the swimmig pool an the spa. It was my impression that all rooms were very quiet. I wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    421
    180
    62
    24
See reviews for
110
340
56
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We booked two rooms. The hotel is large and the lobby looks the part, however, the beds are very small and uncomfortable. The hotel staff forgot to checked me in the second room and gave a card key to my room to another guest (older male) that tried to enter my room at 2:45 am in the morning where me and my young daughter were sleeping! Very scary!! When I called the front desk security they seemed confused. The morning after this incident, the manager apologized and upgraded us to a suite, where the carpet was worn out and the beds were still tiny and very uncomfortable. The rooms are clean and good size. The breakfast is huge with lots of variety including noodles and rice as the hotel seems popular with Asians. The hotel is not close to downtown Prague but the metro station is on the same block.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diplomat011, General Manager at Diplomat Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Rebeca,

Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at the Diplomat Hotel Prague.
We are very appreciative of your positive comments made regarding our breakfast selection, room size and cleanliness. Nevertheless we do sincerely apologize for the very unfortunate event you and your daughter had to experience. Due to the seriousness of the incident, we took immediate consequences for improvements in the department responsible. We are also very sorry that the room you and your daughter were moved to, consequently proposed by our Manager on Duty, did not fully satisfy you.

Once again, please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you and your family had to experience. Please contact us at your convenience for any further query you might have.
We do look forward to welcoming you and your family again at the Hotel Diplomat Prague in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Mathieu Rouri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is close to metro to the city centre. Good for business, but less convenient location for tourism. breakfast was good, many choices. The bed was old and I could very well feel the springs. No safe available. Spa and hot tub were not for free, gym was. Room was tidy. good restaurant. stay was ok for what it costs...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

The diplomat hotel is excellent, lovely clean room, beds a bit hard but good, nice furnishings and linen, coffee station in cupboard, bathroom with full bath and safe in room (but ours had no door!). The breakfast and dinner buffets were excellent, the concierge very friendly and knowledgable. The hotel is not close to the old city centre but the metro station is just outside the lobby and it is 3 stops to the city centre. The hotel does not have free wifi in the rooms, only in the lobby for 90 minutes. It also has a nice fitness ans spa centre on the 9th floor but you have to pay to use the facilities. Good hotel, very spacious and clean, I can recommend it and hope they get free wifi in the rooms.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paolo
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

It's a shame that Tripadvisor doesn't give a rating class that sits between Average and Very Good because this place is surely that!

The rooms are fine, the lift works and is pretty quick even during the 7.30am-9.30am "rush hour". The breakfast is nice - a good choice of fruit, coffee, cooked-in-front-of-you omelette etc - and the service at the front desk is efficient. The beer, needless to say, hits the spot too.

But it's all just so BORING!! We're in Prague, but, looking at the street outside, you could be anywhere in central/eastern Europe. It's not slap-bang where you want to be, it's on the edge of the city and you need to get the metro to be central.

Room Tip: Ask for something near the lift but on the back side of the hotel away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Perfectly located hotel. From the airport you can use public transport bus 119 that is going to Dejvicka station, and the bus stop is directly outside the hotel. Metro station is one minute walk from the hotel. It's the last metro station of the green line - 4 metro stops (7mins) to the centre of Prague with lots of shops and restaurants (Mustek metro station) and to go sightseeing you just leave metro at the second or third stop and you'll be in the centre of old Prague. In the hotel reception they'll always ready to answer all your questions and direct you if you need help getting around Prague. Travel tip - we bought 3 days ticket for metro/bus/tram for 310 czk pp. - great value. You validate it once and then you can travel hassle free for the next 72 hrs!
Rooms are spacious and clean. We had superior room with flat screen TV and lots of channels in English like HBO and news channels. Superior rooms are with A/C and fridge. Bathroom is clean with the bath and shower.
The best thing in the hotel was breakfast! So much choice and everything very fresh and tasty. Good choice of hot buffet and continental. Lots of different bread and pastries. Fresh juice, selection of different teas and good coffee. Hotel is big so breakfast is very busy but the staff is very efficient. Overall - would recommend for a short trip to Prague.

Room Tip: If you want a good sleep ask for a room in the "quiet zone". The hotel has smoking and non...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at the Diplomat for 3 nights on 17/07/12. On arrival at airport , purchased a travel pass (about £10). we caught bus 119, which dropped us right outside hotel. Large busy hotel with trams across the road . I had requested a a quiet room and that's what we got , reasonable size for a 3 night stay .We found room to be acceptable cleanliness wise. There is a large breakfast room , with an excellent selection. Only negative thing is advertised as "use of Spa" but they don't tell you there is a charge each time you use it . Who goes to Prague to sit in a sauna ? A very clean and efficient Metro station is just down the road for getting to most parts of Prague.

Room Tip: We were on top floor and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diplomat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Hotel

Address: Evropska 15, Prague 16000, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 6
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#150 Business Hotel in Prague
#183 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#201 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Diplomat Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Diplomat Hotel Prague is one of the largest hotels in Prague. It is renowned for its excellent conference and event facilities. Surrounded mainly by diplomatic residences and its location close to Prague castle, to the historical city centre and to the international airport, the hotel constitutes the perfect place for business as well as individual city travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Diplomat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Prague
Golden Tulip Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diplomat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.