We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Cloister Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cloister Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cloister Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Cloister Inn Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Konviktska 14 | Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #99 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Cloister Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

I booked this trip through Alpharooms online. The trip was for my hen party on which, originally, 8 people were going. The booking went through fine and I was pleased to be able to amend my booking online through Alpharooms when another friend decided to join the party.
We arrived at the hotel and were greeted by the pleasant staff at the reception desk. We then had a hilarious few minutes trying to find our rooms. The rooms were quite far away and not all together- mine was, for example, along the corridor, up 2 flights of stairs, round the corner, along another corridor, around another corner, down some more stairs and along another corridor! My other friends had a hilarious journey with their suitcases up to the 5th floor! It was fine though when we knew where we were going.
The hotel is clean and everyone there is extremely pleasant. The hotel is quiet and situated in the most fantastic location.
Approx 80m away is Bethlehem Square which leads round to the Old Town. You are there in less than 5 minutes walk.
Breakfast at the hotel is lovely. Plenty of fresh bread, sweet pastries, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, coffee, tea and fruit juice. Also there were sausages and eggs on alternate mornings.
In the foyer there is free internet access for those who cannot resist a quick go on facebook and free tea and coffee if you fancy a drink waiting for your friends to arrive!
We had a lovely stay at the hotel and nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were, although not overtly friendly in the sense of smiling all the time, extremely helpful and able to speak perfect English (which helped as we found Czech a struggle!)
I would definitley go back there - happy memories!

  • Liked — The location!
  • Disliked — The lack of rooms being together for our group and the long journey to the room - was worth it when we got there though as they were lovely!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    550
    88
    19
    5
See reviews for
155
640
63
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ottersum
Level Contributor
115 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

We visited Cloister Inn, situated in the heart of the city centre, from 3 – 6 June 2008. The hotel offers 75 double / twin rooms. Recently refurbished hotel lobby welcomes you with free coffee/tea and free internet access (although you often have to take your place in queue). The hotel is situated in an old monastry but completely renovated and the rooms have all the facilities of a modern hotel, except that the hotel is unappropriate for physically handicapped people due to the several (short) stairs you have to take before reaching your room. Moreover it is a very safe hotel, you cannot go in without the use of an electronic key.
We booked 2 twin rooms (208 and 206), which are rather spacious and spotlessly clean as is the bathroom. The bathroom is rather small, but has a very good shower. There is only liquid soap. The rooms have double windows which make them sufficiently sound-proofed. The beds are very comfy; perhaps for some people a little bit narrow. Besides the TV there is a working table and a very good working fridge. The four drinks the latter contains are on the house! There is strikingly much light in the room. The only Real problem is the noise of the airconditioning. Even earplugs do not reduce it sufficiently.
Hot/cold breakfast buffet is really good and abundant. Staff is very kind and profes-sional. We booked through the Dutch branche of Ebookers and paid 104.00 euro per night per room. The hotel is absolutely very recommendable.

  • Liked — The situation; the room; free internet
  • Disliked — the noise of the airco
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

Considering we paid $270 per night for this hotel, you would expect a few amenities, like more than one TV channel, a bar of soap, even an extra towel. The hotel is spartan, even more so than Stockholm or Copenhagen hotels. The location is okay if all your'e planning to do is stay a few days and see the Charles Bridge, but it's a hike to the public transportation. It is totally charmless but I am not sure your'e going to find much else in in Prague. It's kind of a gloomy city. We were off to Greece and happy to be going at the end of the week. I would spend a max of two night in Prague. I can't imagine bringing kids as they would be bored.

Anyway, the front desk finally warmed up a bit on the 5th day but the breakfast menu never ever changes. I've never travelled to a former Communist country so to be fair I would recommend the Communist musem up the street from the hotel. It totally explains why the city is high on charm.

On a positive side, they offered free internet an a bottle of mineral water.

  • Liked — internet service
  • Disliked — no amenities in the room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

Very central and convenient location, a few minutes to Charles bridge and the centre of the old town district. Staff were very friendly and the room was spacious and very clean.
Breakfast was fine with a good selection of fruit, meat . cheese cereal ,bread etc.
A little difficult to find on the street initially and the outside is not imposing, but inside has all the conveniences you'd want. Free internet and coffee !
Would definitely stay here again.
Derek&Helen Ireland

  • Liked — The friendly staff and the cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

I could certainly recommend the Cloister Inn, it is very good value for money. The hotel is in an excellent location in the old town and near the Charles Bridge for sightseeing across the river.
The hotel has recently been renovated and has a simple but modern feel throughout, although the building itself is old. It was spotlessly clean everywhere.
The bedrooms have all the facilities of a modern hotel. I had a single room, and although it had a double bed, it was quite small. The bathroom was large (compared to many I have experienced ) and although there was no bath the shower was very good with plenty of power and hot water.
The buffet breakfast was fine with a good selection of food.
The staff at reception were very efficient and polite and I was also very impressed by the security in the hotel.
I will certainly return the next time I visit Prague.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

We stayed in The Cloister Inn for four nights in early April while attending a wedding in Prague. We wanted somewhere affordable and quiet (we've been to Prague a number of times and usually stay in Vinohrady) but within easy reach of the Old Town Square where the wedding festivities were taking place.

The Cloister Inn is located on Konviktska, a quiet cobbled street just minutes walk from the Old Town Square, the Charles Bridge and the metro and tram links at Narodni trida. At first glance, the exterior of the hotel doesn't look too promising. Its austere and institutional appearance betrays its past life uses (it had been both a convent and a secret police station!). A profusion of jolly and colourful window boxes did their best to cheer up the facade but only seemed to highlight its cheerlessness. Inside, however, it was completely different story.....

The main lobby/reception area was bright and inviting, and decorated in yellow and dark red, a colour scheme which was carried on throughout the hotel. There were a number of comfortable couches, limitless free tea and coffee, a variety of newspapers and free internet access, along with two tiny sittingrooms in which to relax with coffee and the news. The reception staff were welcoming and efficient and we were checked in very quickly.

Our room was on the small side but was very comfortable and cosy. The red and yellow colour scheme was complemented by solid wood beech furniture and the decorative condition of the room was very good (it looked as if it might have been recently refurbished). The relatively small bathroom was in fact a gleaming, reasonably sized shower room with a great power shower. Both room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. Some serious noise reduction glazing and other technology had been employed to ensure that little or no sound travelled up from the street, nor between rooms. The hotel was pretty full when we visited, but we never heard any noise and drifted easily off to silent, cosy sleep each night.

Breakfast was a relaxed affair, served in the high-ceilinged, refectory style dining room on one of the upper floors. There was a wide selection of hot and cold buffet breakfast offerings and food was replenished regularly. Breakfast was served up to 10.30am and most mornings we arrived after 10am to find plenty of everything. The housekeeping staff were, like all of their colleagues, very efficient, unobtrusive and helpful. On our final day, as our flight was not until late evening we stored our bags securely at the hotel until just prior to our departure for the airport. Security in the hotel was in general very good but done with a light and effective touch.

We booked The Cloister Inn with Lastminute.ie and paid a total of €410 for four nights, including breakfast. We will definitely be making it our base for our next visit to Prague.

  • Liked — It's excellent location and the fact that it was relatively tranquil
  • Disliked — Room was a little on the small side
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

We stayed here on our honeymoon. The hotel treated us with a bottle of champagne and some chocolates. The location was good and safe. The staff were very helpful as well.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Melantrich
Hotel Melantrich
#200 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#140 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Dar
Hotel Dar
#199 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Charles Bridge Palace
Charles Bridge Palace
#245 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Betlem Club
Betlem Club
#246 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Residence Bologna
Residence Bologna
#424 of 662 in Prague
3.0 of 5 stars 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloister Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloister Inn Hotel

Address: Konviktska 14 | Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#80 Family Hotel in Prague
#95 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#156 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cloister Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the oldest part of the historical city centre, just steps from the monumental Charles Bridge, in the vicinity of the picturesque Old Town Square, in a cobblestone lane free of traffic. The building is a part of medieval monastery complex, still inhabited by the Grey Sisters of Mercy, with the church of St. Bartholomew diligently renovated owing to the funds granted by H.R.H., the Prince of Wales. You will be embraced by historical sights, tourist attractions, museums, theatres, restaurants and cafes of the Old Town of Prague. Our hotel standards are guaranteed by the Czech Hotel Federation. We offer * * * * services for * * * prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cloister Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cloister Hotel Prague
Cloister Inn Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cloister Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.