We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cerny Slon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cerny Slon to your Saves list
Cerny Slon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tynska 1, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #250 of 663 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
cleveland, oh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2008

a small (16 rooms I think) hotel in a great location off the Old Town Square. Newly renovated historical building with all the amenities you'd expect in a modern hotel. In January, we stayed there for 65Euro a day, which is a really reasonable price for the center of Prague.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    89
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
34
81
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2007

This was a very cute, clean hotel, and a great bargain for the money in increasingly pricey Prague. It couldn't have been more convenient to everything, within walking distance of shopping, Charles Bridge, Astronomical Clock, etc. The Prague metro is also a 10 minute walk (if that!) so you have easy access to the whole city.

I can understand why some of the reviewers thought the receptionist wasn't super friendly; they certainly weren't the most outwardly cheery folks. However, they were always helpful, and never rude. When I made the mistake of dealing with the music/concert ticket place across the street (they sold me two tickets in entirely different rows), the Hotel Cerny Slon receptionist walked across the street and tried to help me resolve my dispute, since I don't speak Czech!

The breakfast was always good, and a nice touch. I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2007

I stayed at this hotel for one night and thought it was great. The staff was friendly (as friendly as Czech people get). Our room was clean and comfortable. Nice big bathroom, heated towel racks (love, love, love these, especially in January, wish more hotels had these!), comfortable bed, and a chocolate on the pillow.
The breakfast was excellent. Not just pastries and toast but could order eggs at no extra cost.
The location is excellent, old town square is almost around the corner.
The building is very charming and historic, so the staircase is a bit narrow (can get awkward with large luggage). There is also a church across the street so you can hear the church bells.

  • Liked — Nice bathroom, excellent breakfast and location!
  • Disliked — Narrow staircase (but not really, can't really think of anything else)
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2007

We just returned home from a trip to Eastern Europe. We stayed at Hotel Cerny Slon for three nights. The location is wonderful but because the area is chocked full of loud tourists and the rooms are not air-conditioned, it was impossible to sleep with disruption until far after 2am. The day hotel clerk was very unpleasant to work with and was rude. We had a tour guide come one day to pick us up and she couldn't believe how rude she was and suggested that this was a bad place and should never stay there again.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2007

Spent a short weekend here for Valentines day this year. We booked the big room in the roof (on the hotel website) and in the rafters. It's a triple but they let us book it as a double. It felt as old as it is (in a nice way!) and we didn't get any problems with noise from outside like others have suggetsed. Mind you - it could have just been a quiet weekend. The location is fantastic as is the service. The 'european' style food was very poor (mmm... raw chicken) - stick to the local fare which is much better cooked. The staff were very helpfull in booking a music concert for us. Apart from the food - a great place at a reasonable price.

  • Liked — Old world ambiance!
  • Disliked — Bit pricey
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2007

We visited Prague while my niece was teaching English as a second language to a pre-school class and adults. She knew of this hotel and it was a wonderful choice. We stayed in the family suite on the ground floor to assist Grandmother with as few steps as possible.

The staff was wonderful and so kind, genuinely happy to have us there. We could walk to the Old Town square, there was an American Express office around the corner to change travelers checks, we were a 10 minute walk to the markets, Charles Bridge. We enjoyed sitting in the square drinking tea in the evenings listening to the music of the city.

We will return!

Thank you for such a wonderful hotel experience.

The Schimdt Family of Columbia, Maryland USA

Stayed June 2003
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire Lass UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2006

My family and I have just returned from a Christmas in Prague. We wanted to sample an alternative Christmas experience to that of the traditional family Christmas in the UK - a getaway from the usual shopping frenzy.

We arrived in Prague the evening of the 22nd December. We had booked our Hotel via a Czech travel agency on the web. Included in the price was a free airport transfer and the taxi driver was waiting for us in the arrivals hall as we came through customs. Our transfer took approximately 20 minutes.

I personally have been to Prague before and had stopped out of the centre necessitating the use of the metro. We decided that we would like to have a more central location as we were unsure of transport over the Christmas period in Prague, hence the booking of Cerny Slon.

The Hotel is situated just off the old town square, right next to the Church of our Lady before Tyn. The Church and the Hotel are 14th century. The Cerny Slon is a listed Unesco building.

The position therefore of the Hotel is splendid and totally central to all the sightseeing we wished to do.

We had booked a triple room. This was on the 3rd Floor (an attic room). We had three single beds. The room was large and comfortable. The room had 2 very small windows from which you could just about see some of the surrounding roof tops. The room was beamed and the walls were rendered in places ands stone/brick in others. There was a very modern bathroom with bath, shower, toilet and bidet. Towels and bedding were clean and white and changed on a daily basis. Toiletries, shower cap, shoe shine etc. were also provided. The room had a mini bar at the usual hotel prices.

The room had a slightly damp smell just on entering which quickly disipated when inside. We presumed this was in keeping with the stone facade and age of the building. The room was warm and also had radiator and air conditioning if required. There was plenty of storage space and a free safe available in the room.

There is no lift in the hotel. If you have any disability associated with climbing stairs to your room, I would not recommend being on the 3rd floor! It was considered our daily workout! There was no porter to carry your cases, so you need to be in a position to be able to carry your cases upstairs - at least one floor.

Breakfast was served from 7.00 - 10 a.m. in the Restaurant. The Hotel is not very big therefore the restaurant has 6 tables only, However, we were never in a position where we could not get a table.

The breakfast was quite varied, serving a choice of apple or orange fruit juice, water, speciality teas and coffee. 4 Cereals and milk. Cheese platter and meat board. Fresh fuit salad, yoghurts, assortment of breads and spreads as well as hot food if requested (scrambled egg etc.) A toaster was provided. The breakfast was self service.

The staffing over the Christmas holiday were well mannered, polite and helpful.

We reserved a meal in the downstairs cellar restaurant on Christmas Eve. The food was varied and well priced. The drinks were also well priced in comparison to restaurants and cafes in the local vicinity.

Our triple room cost 4600 czeck crowns per night (£560) for a 5 night stay.

We would definitely book again.

Prague is beautiful, especially this time of year with the Christmas markets and christmas decorations. Charles Bridge, the Jewish Quarter, the Palace and Castle are all within easy walking distance.

Try little restaurants off the main streets - we had some of the nicest food at excellent prices in these. The main streets in both old town and Hradcany charge more and some charge 15% service charge which is not always evident from your menu.

A word of warning about the Old Town outside cafes, particularly the one opposite the Astronimic clock - very expensive. Check the menu before sitting down - 4 drinks and 2 liqueur coffees stripped us of £40!

  • Liked — Comfortable, clean, warm and central
  • Disliked — The stairs!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Zlateho Jelena (Golden Deer)
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Merchant's Yard Residence
Merchant's Yard Residence
#128 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#104 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Metamorphis
Metamorphis
#133 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 485 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Metamorphis Excellent
Metamorphis Excellent
#197 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Praha
Grand Hotel Praha
#114 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerny Slon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerny Slon

Address: Tynska 1, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#176 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cerny Slon 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Cerny Slon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cerny Slon Black Elephant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cerny Slon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.