We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop's House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bishop's House to your Saves list
Bishop's House
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Drazickeho Namesti 62/6, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic (Mala Strana (Little Quarter))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the Bishop's House Hotel for 3 nights just before Christmas 2012. The hotel is in a fantastic location, right in the shadow of the Charles Bridge. This meant you were within 10-15 minutes of the Old Town Square or the castle! Being students we didn't particularly want to have to keep paying for transportation.
The room was absolutely fine, reasonable space, safe, tv, tea and coffee. However our 'double' bed was two single mattresses pushed together. But during a short city break in Prague I doubt many people will spend much time in their room. The bathroom, however, was fantastic. It was large and the shower was great.
Many people complain about the lack of choice at breakfast but I disagree. Considering the size of the hotel there was a considerable selection of cereals, breads, pastries. The cooked breakfast changed daily the 3 mornings that we were there.
All in all a good, solid hotel with a brilliant location. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    208
    27
    10
    13
See reviews for
91
245
32
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was my first time to Prague and I really enjoyed my stay at this Hotel. The HoteI had it all for me as a solo traveler- it was quiet, clean and feet from the Historic Charles bridge. The staff was very helpful in making tour and cab arrangements. I felt I was close to the Castle while all I had to do to get to the old town was by crossing the bridge. I will stay there again as I still have plenty of sites to see in Prague.

Tom

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Bishops house hotel is the perfect location, simply steps away from Charles bridge. The hotel was clean, warm & comfortable with helpful and pleasant staff - we couldn't fault anything. We arranged our transfers to and from the airport through the hotel which made the whole journey smooth & easy and at a reasonable cost.
Prague exceeded our expectations, it is a beautiful city which is compact so easy to explore on foot. Highly recommend hotel and city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This hotel has not been updated in quite some time, but the location more than makes up for that. Right off the Charles Bridge, this hotel is within walking distance of all the major sites. Will definitely be returning. Clean rooms and very nice, helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Great location is the first thing that can be said .hotel was nice and rooms were warm and very clean mini bar in room was fine for what we wanted .we stayed in on top floor in attic rooms no view to speak about but we were out all day so we did not mind .elevator to all floors is provided.breakfast is basic but does the job .only complaint is that if people are smoking downstairs the smoke travels up the shaft of the elevator and is very strong at night time the other couple that we stayed with their room was beside the shaft and the smell in their room was very strong.so beware.but other than that i would say we had a great stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the bishop's House Hotel, Prague In November 2012 for 5 nights. We booked this hotel after going through the internet reviews. Bishops House lived upto to all the positive reviews. Location is Superb. The hotel is less than 50 meters from the Charles Bridge and 5 minutes walk from the Infant Jesus Church. You can easily walk to the Prague Castle, Old town Square with the astronomical clock and many other attractions.

Room was spacious and well furnished with everything working properly. So was the Bathroom.
One thing is the hotel do not have air conditioning. I did not see any AC units, either in the room nor anywhere else in the hotel. Since we were there mid November this was not a concern as it was very very cold. I am sure the night temperature was near the zero levels. But the room had adequate heating, so that we were quite comfortable. But for those who are travelling there in the height of summer the heat could be an issue due to the lack of AC.

The breakfast was very good. It had scrambled eggs, sausages or bacon, Beans or baked beans, fruits, yougart, Cheese, breads, cakes as well as Juices, Tea and a coffee making machine. Food was available in ample quantities. There are many many eating places all round the hotel, so food is never a problem any time of the day.

The old lesser town (Mala Strana) where the hotel is, is the best place for the tourist. hence Bishops house is a very convenient location do all your sight seeing, and this is made even easier as the Hotel has a travel desk and can arrange the tours you want where they will pick you up from the hotel. The staff is limited in number as this is small hotel, but the front desk staff was friendly and helpful.

One thing I must mention is the room minibar. There is a price list in the room but no quantities are shown. Some of the items in the price list were not even available in the minibar. I got the front office guy to come upto the room and showed him, and he assured us that we would not be charged for anything, and we were not. But I think it would be better if the hotel can provide the minibar price list with quantities available which I think is the normal standard around the world. It can avoid a lot of misunderstandings

All in all Bishops House is value for money with a great location!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradea, Bihor, Romania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We booked a night at Bishops House through the internet and got a very good deal. The hotel is situated only 50m from Charles Bridge (Karluv Most), and a 5 minute walk from Old town Square. The room was very clean, the hotel offered free WiFi in the room, the receptionist was very friendly and spoke great english.
Breakfast included Bacon (enough said :)). While visitind prague the second day, we checked out but left our refrigirated box in the reception, the receptionist was kind enough to let it stay in his office while we visited Prague.
The bed was really comfortable, the bathroom was spacious and clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches)
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Star (Zlata Hvezda)
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Waldstein
Hotel Waldstein
#178 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Certovka Hotel
Certovka Hotel
#156 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
U Zlatych Nuzek (At the Golden Scissors)
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#248 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's House

Address: Drazickeho Namesti 62/6, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Prague
#79 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#91 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#110 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bishop's House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design hotel Bishops House is located directly in the very heart of the historical centre of Prague. It lies only 60 metres far from the famous Charles Bridge, Vltava River, enchanting island of Kampa, and in the vicinity of the Old Town Square and the Prague Castle. All main sights, restaurants, pubs and shops within walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bishop's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishops Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishop's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.