We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small comfortable hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ametyst

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ametyst to your Saves list
Ametyst
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jana Masaryka 523/11 | Vinohrady, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic (Vinohrady & Vrsovice)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #230 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Small comfortable hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights on a business trip. Room was small and basic but clean. Had complimentary 1/2 bottle of bubbly waiting for me which was nice. The hotel has a nice restaurant and lovely food with good service. Will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hosek, Manager at Ametyst, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your business trip. We were very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our service and food at the hotel restaurant Galerie.

For you next stay we would like to recommend you to book one of our spacious Superior room, which incl. free wifi, VIP treatment, bathrobes, slippers as well as coffee and tea facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards

Libor Hosek
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    177
    70
    19
    4
See reviews for
51
177
19
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Deutschland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

If anyone is ever coming to Prague...first of all you need to visit Prague as it is a beautiful city and very inexpensive..but secondly you need to stay where we did...it is called Ametyst hotel.
Hotel is simple, clean and well located for exploring Prague, 15 minute walk to Wenceslas Square.
Breakfast surpassed our expectations, Excellent.
Free internet in reception and rooms, too.
Excellent and very knowledgeable, helpful staff.
On our last night in Prague we decided to have dinner here and it was definitely one of my favorite meals in Prague, the food is delicious! Must go, even if it’s just for the food in restaurant GALERIE.
Restaurant is situated at very good location .
Service is very friendly, food is nice and being small restaurant, it does give a homely feeling. Nice place for a romantic dinner :-)
We Recommend the hotel, staff and Very good Restarant.
You seriously want to stay here when you come to Prague.
BIG Thank you

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter, Corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast,N.Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Small, chic, friendly. Very comfortable room, helpful staff & amazing breakfast! Location perfect for exploring Prague....walking distance to Old Town, but far enough out to ensure a peaceful night's sleep...................

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I have spent a couple of nights in this hotel at the beginning of November together with a couple of friends. We had booked a parking place beforehand, which had been approved, but upon arrival we have been told that no reservation has been made. We were supposed to get supreme rooms, but got normal ones (which are extremely tiny for a 4 star hotel standard), and were given false explanations and excuses for why this had happened.

The people at the reception counter were very unfriendly and were hard to deal with. The rest of the personnel were extremely friendly .

We have been given rooms with extreme smell of cigarette smoke and had to change them for ones with extreme chlorine smell.

We had been promised a great dinner, unfortunately the traditional Czech cheese plate turned out to be the same cheese we had on the buffet in the morning... Other dishes served that night were truly disgusting..

I don t want to sound to picky, but this is not a 4 star hotel. It might be a quite ok 3 stars hotel. So if you don t have a problem with booking and paying a 4 stars hotel and getting less then you should, then probably it's a good place. Other then that i would not recommend it.

Room Tip: the rooms not facing the street are larger (visible in the printed floor plans in the hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my family during end of Oct and found this to be a very nice hotel. Its neat and clean and has all facilities you would expect in a 3 to 4 star hotel. The room we stayed in was compact (not huge) but good enough for 3 people. It has tea/coffee making facilities and the towels etc were changed every day. The beds are firm as some other reviews have pointed out, but that is our preferred option anyway. The hotel itself is quite nice and has a cosy feel about it. Breakfast was quite good and has lots to keep you full till lunch.

The hotel is in a leafy suburb with lots of apartments and restaurant's around. It feels safe and is quite convenient for the metro and tram which we used extensively. As reviewers have pointed out walking to the main areas is an option (could take 20-30 mins) but we didn't try it mainly because it was freezing with snow and rain when we were there and so the 3 day adult ticket for 310 czk which includes a free child ticket was great value and let's you travel on all modes of transport. The transport service is excellent on the metro and tram and so we used it extensively.

We also dined at one of the local Mexican restaurants (Las Adelitas) which was excellent value and very authentic.

The receptionists were very knowledgeable and helpful and spoke good English which helped as it was not uncommon to meet locals who struggled with it though all of them we met were extremely helpful and tried their best to help using signs etc.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay and would recommend the hotel as long as using public transport is something you don't mind having to use.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Clean hotel, modern spacious rooms, clean toilet, decent breakfast menu, staff spoke enough English to get things done.

But we think there are reasons its price is lower than the market price. For instance: (1) We could not set the temperature in the room, it was so hot that we had to turn the heating off and open the window, the whole hotel was like an over-heated room and mind you we are not good at bearing cold, this affected our sleep (2) There was only one person at the check in/out counter, customers had to queue up and wait, then his printer stopped working and we kept waiting, he did what he could to speed things up but he can't do the job of two (3) We requested a dining chair for a toddler for breakfast and the one given was made such poor design that only babies of certain size could slide into it.; apparently little thought had been given to baby-seats (4) Location is less than great and away from the main tourist attractions, although you can make up for it by catching public transport to city center.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel is located in Vinohrady district of Prague which is very comfortable for living with kids especially because the place is very quiet and calm, with a lot of parks and playgrounds around. Breakfast was good, fruits and melons, omlette, eggs, saussages, juices. The room itself was small but clean and cosy. We just didn't like spiders which lived on the ceiling and came in the room every time when we opened the window.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ametyst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ametyst

Address: Jana Masaryka 523/11 | Vinohrady, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Vinohrady & Vrsovice , Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#147 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#169 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ametyst 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ametyst Hotel Prague is a favoured 4 Star Boutique Hotel and Art Gallery Hotel located in the city centre of downtown Prague renowned for its fair value for money, award winning restaurant and excellent breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ametyst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Ametyst Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ametyst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.