We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel in quiet location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amadeus

Save Saved
You added Hotel Amadeus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Amadeus
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Dalimilova 10, Prague 13000, Czech Republic   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SUMMER OFFER
Ranked #361 of 668 hotels in Prague
Bamberg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good budget hotel in quiet location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I just returned from a 3-day stay in this hotel and here are my pros and cons about it. I am a 56-year-old who has also traveled to Paris, Vienna, Dresden, Croatia, Italy, and other locations.
PROs:
* Excellent value
* Clean, spacious room
* Helpful, friendly reception desk
* Quiet neighborhood off the city center
* Good restaurants in the immediate area if you are tired at the end of a long day
CONs:
* Although this hotel is in a quiet location, the rooms form a U shape around a courtyard. When my window was open, I could hear the other guests coming and going, and a security light would go on after dark. Using earplugs and drawing the curtains solved this issue for me.
* The included breakfast is OK but nothing special. After the first day, I opted to eat in a cafe instead. The coffee is fine.
* The location might be problematic for people who aren't comfortable using public transportation or walking (about 15 minutes into the center). It's easy to use the buses, trams, and underground, though. My friend and I took the metro to a large flea market on Sunday, and it was a lot of fun.
* Another reviewer mentioned thieves in the area, but we (2 women) walked all over, including at night, and never felt the slightest anxiety. If you don't like seeing sex cinemas, tattoo parlors, and graffiti, then you probably shouldn't go to Prague. It's a big city, with all that implies!

I gave this hotel an average review because four stars seems like too much, but it really is fine if you would prefer to spend your money on food and entertainment, rather than where you sleep.

Room Tip: I was in room 20, which is a corner room, and I noticed that it is larger than my friend's room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amadeus_manager, Manager at Hotel Amadeus, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Madam,

thank you for your review, it is very valuable for us to get real comparison with other hotels.
I wish you great experiences on your journeys
With best regards
Mirka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    40
    27
    13
    5
See reviews for
10
34
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I've stayed here 3 times now, and would happily go back. Amadeus is a good hotel, and is situated on a very quiet back street which is great if you want to get a good nights sleep. The breakfast area is small, but I never had a problem finding a seat. There is the usual buffet of ham, eggs, cheese, salad, cereal, breads.....that you find in most prague hotels. I had plenty to eat and was satisfied with the selection. Also in the evening, the breakfast room doubles as a restaurant. I've eaten there and it was first class cuisine. The rooms are a good size, and some also have kitchen areas with a sink, hob, fridge. Everything was clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff on the front desk were very polite, and seemed happy in their work. All in all, a good value hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amadeus_manager, Manager at Hotel Amadeus, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Jonny S,

thank you for you nice words, we appreciate them.
We would like to see you again
With best regards
Mirka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

The one who gave the hotel 3* was blind or bribed!!! The only thing what was 3* was the room size. We had two double rooms and both were dirty. The matresses were veeeery old but no matress cover; only a very thin bed sheet covered with stains and hair from previous guests. The toilet was stinky and the shower was mould infested (in the corners).

The small TV had no remote control but the signal was bad anyhow!!

The only good thing were: T
1) the breakfast is actually not served by the hotel, but in a more or less decent Restraurant that is actually in the same building - so the quality was on a 3* standard.
2) The main Bus station is just an 8mins walk away and by tram it takes only 6 stops to get to Wenzel square!!

Conclusion: There are other hotels for maybe 5€ more, but they are well spent!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amadeus_manager, Manager at Hotel Amadeus, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hi,
thank you for your opinion.
Yes, hotel isn´t newly opened, I think it always depends on what each client expecting.
I didn´t seen rooms in state you have described, unfortunately no one informed reception desk neither me. After problems with remote controls we have exchanged them and also Televisions. thank you for good point as a breakfast, but venceslas Square is only 3 stops by tram NO. 9 from hotel.
I wish you nice time
With best regards
Mirka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omsk, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I have been visiting the Amadeus Aparthotel for two years running. I am planning to visit them agian in the September/October period. The Amadues is about 200 meters away from the nearest Tram rail which will take you all over the city. The staff is swell and always go the extra mile to ensure your needs are met. Unless I have been put into a palatial suite by mistake (twice) my 'home' was really just that. From a small kitchen and stove, working and hygienically clean fridge , to the clean and well looked after bathrooms it was just a pleasure to be in the hotel. Never a complaint about a unmade room or filthy bedding or towels . This place is a small treasure. Do not advertise it too widely. My fee per night will rise and I will be forced to seek cheaper and - with some luck- real bad lodgings. My only and single comment is that the hotel could be more involved in the morning breakfast and do try and break a very monotonous menu

Room Tip: The Hotel Amadeus does offer a currency exhange at very favorable rates that makes th first day in P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

+ price
+ our room was quite big
+ the breakfast was ok
+ we could leave our luggage in the 'luggage room' for all day
+ the location was fine

- the biggest disadvantage was that the room wasn't clean - there were someones' hair under the pillow, there was MOULD in the shower. Because of that, the whole apartament stink - it was disgusting.
- the neighbourhood wasn't safe - I wouldn't recoomend it for girl-friends
- the dinnig room was really nice but too small - some people had to wait for the table

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amadeus_manager, Manager at Hotel Amadeus, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear Agnieszka,
I thank you for your reviews, Please, accept my apologies for the inconvenience.
We know about problems with some shower tubs they are worn out with peeled paint.
We have already started to change them, I feel very pity you didn´t ask receptionist for other room. Please, don´t hesitate to contact receptionist or me anytime.
With best regards
Mirka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

The hotel room was excellent. We rented a kitchenette for a very reasonable price. The room was big, had a fridge and stove, a balcony facing in to a beautiful common patio area, and also had a view of a not so nice backyard of someone else...

The front staff could learn a thing or two on how to treat there guests, or even how to put a smile on their face. Otherwise the price point for this room was fantastic, and it is only a couple few blocks walk to a tram stop which will help get you to any place you like. The tram and metro transportation system in Prague is excellent, you should never have to rent a taxi.

The continental breakfast here was fairly good. They had cold cuts for meat, cheese spread, taost, coffee, orange juice, cereal, yogurt, hot dogs, and a few other things. I was satisfied every morning :)

If friends needed to I would say to look at this hotel, but I myself would try something else next time that is a little closer to the main attractions. It felt just a little to far off from things which made we want to stay in at night rather than go adventure out. And not feeling welcome made this place feel a lot lest comforting.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amadeus_manager, Manager at Hotel Amadeus, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Hello,
thank you for your opinion.
I am sorry for your feelings, We have been trying to keep our hotel welcoming, but sometime someone fail it on expense all hotel staff..
We will glad to see you again, but understand if not.
Have a nice time and lot of nice experiences from Prague
With best regards
Mirka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samara, Rusia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

It is a simple hotel, but I really enjoyed my stay there. It’s not expensive, situated in quiet district. You can easily get the centre of city by tram (just a few stops). The nearest stop is at a distance of 200-300 metres from hotel. Breakfasts are average, nothing impressive. The restaurant in the hotel offers a good food at a rather high rate, but there are a great number of restaurants, cafes and bars (especially on Vilkova and Borivojova streets) so you can easily find place to eat.
Rooms, that we’ve got was not very spacious but quite comfortable and a single one has separate bathroom and toilet. A room which was close to reception was a bit noisy, so try to avoid it.
I’d say it a good place for economical stay in Prague, I would return there.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Amadeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amadeus

Address: Dalimilova 10, Prague 13000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #361 of 668 hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Amadeus 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amadeus hotel and aparthotel in category 3* in Prague. Hotel is only 3 tram stops far from Venceslas Square and city centre. All standard rooms, studios and family apartments have own bathroom (shower+WC), small Sat-TV, dial telephone and FREE WIFI connection. Some double rooms and apartments have kitchenette and balcony. Five storey building with lift and three storey building without lift with attic windows on third floor. Secure garage in hotel, summer terrace, reception desk non-stop, coffee and beverages at reception desk, packages, and special offers, also tickets, Folklore evening, guides, sightseeing tours atc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Amadeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amadeus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.