We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked all the boxes nicely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Alta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Alta to your Saves list
Plaza Alta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ortenovo Namesti 22, Prague 170 00, Czech Republic (Praha 7)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #257 of 663 Hotels in Prague
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ticked all the boxes nicely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Nice size room, friendly and very helpful staff, great breakfast buffet with everything imaginable, bath in the bathroom not just a shower, proper glazed windows that blocked out noise and a/c that worked and a comfortable bed. This is not in the city centre, but it was easy to use the trams and metro to make the short trip in. Plus it is near the Modern Art Museum. I would go back!

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    169
    42
    14
    0
See reviews for
40
182
16
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
152 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although it's outside the city centre, it's very easy to get into town. The number 12 and 24 trams stop outside the door and it takes 10 minutes to the old town. Alternatively the metro is a 5 - 10 minute walk and it is 3 stops to Charles Square. You can buy a 24 hour ticket from Reception which covers all forms of public transport and it costs around 100 czech crowns.
The rooms are fine and the breakfast was quite good.
Be warned, the bar closes at 11.00pm prompt. Bar service was very slow and the staff were rather miserable.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalta_GM, Generální ředitel at Plaza Alta, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Stephen1717,

Thank you very much for your stay at the Plaza Alta Hotel and for sharing your experience with us.

Thank you for mentioning the hotel’s location. The hotel is located just next to tram stops and within a walking distance to metro station and Holešovice train station.

Kind regards,
Michaela Hajnová
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

this hotel even though located outside the city center but with an easy access with tram to city center.its a good place to rest,from most hotel in prague,this hotel in term of sleeping quality is one of the best I have experienced.
lobby is small but theyre check in procedure is quite efficient,they also have a nice mexican restaurant in the same premises with them which serving a good quality mexican restaurant.
100 m from restaurant there is also a small asian store where you can buy fruits and snacks
dont expect too much with the wifi though,some rooms barely can get a signal .

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalta_GM, Generální ředitel at Plaza Alta, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mariop79,

Thank you for choosing the Plaza Alta Hotel for your stay in Prague.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay, our comfortable beds and linen and our Mexican restaurant 7 Tacos Steak & Grill.
Regarding the weak wi-fi signal, occasionally, when extremely a large number of people connect to wi-fi in the same time, the signal can appear weaker. Anyway, we do our best to solve the problem and strengthen the signal.
You can count on our entire team to exceed your expectations on your next visit of our hotel.

Kind regards,
Michaela Hajnová
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed at Alta Plaza for 2 nights during our visit to Prague in June 2015. The hotel is quite modern with good wifi connections. The breakfast buffet was pretty good - although we did not enjoy the dinner at the restaurant that much. There is a Chinese restaurant next to the hotel which we liked better. There is a tram stop nearby which can take you to the City center (avoid taxis in Prague - they can charge you exorbitantly). Overall a nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalta_GM, Manager at Plaza Alta, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

We are so happy to read that you had a lovely time in the Plaza Alta Hotel! I´m very pleased that you were saftisfied with your stay. I´m really sorry you didn´t enjoy your dinner in our restaurant 7tacos. We offers traditional Mexican cuisine but if you don´t like it you can choose from Czech cuisine as well.

We hope to welcome you at the Plaza Alta Hotel in Prague again!

With warm regards,

Michaela Hajnová
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

We have just returned from a few days in prauge and stayed at this hotel after an initial problem trying to get into our from which to be honest was more funny than annoying our stay turned out to be very pleasant the rooms were spacious and very clean with a daily maid service although this hotel is out if the city the local trams stop just outside the hotel and although a little daunting at first it soon became apparent that the tram system was easy to master. The breakfast was continental but very nice and the staff very friendly and efficient I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to explore this beautiful city

Room Tip: Try not get a top floor the wifi gets weaker the higher you are in the hotel second floor was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalta_GM, Manager at Plaza Alta, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for this warm review and for sharing your experience with us. I´m very pleased that you finally had a wonderful stay in our hotel and we hope to welcome you at the Plaza Alta Hotel again.

With best regards,

Michaela Hajnová
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

We booked a package through Broadway Travel which included Flights, Hotel, two day hop on hop off sightseeing bus, walking tour of Prague Castle and the Jewish Quarter. We opted to pay extra for transfer to and from the airport. The hotel is about 30 mins from the Airport. In this respect the taxi's were on time, in fact on the return journey they were half an hour early. The flights were with Ryan Air and for those of us who use them regularly you know what you are going to get. As an aside, if you are coming back through Stansted on a late flight (ours was mid-night) there are not enough staff at passport control and it took 45 mins to get through. If you have a digital passport then this of course does not apply but otherwise be warned everyone goes through the same exit process.
The Plaza Alta hotel was excellent, our rooms were ready on arrival and were spotless. There was plenty laid out for breakfast, both hot and cold. Breakfast is eaten in their Mexican restaurant which is also open for lunches and dinner and offers a varied menu. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is well placed for transport to get into central Prague both by tram and metro. Transport prices are reasonable and if you are over 55 even more so!!!
Our thanks to Broadway Travel for such and excellent deal.

Room Tip: Ours was a standard room as it was part of a package and was more than adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalta_GM, Generální ředitel at Plaza Alta, responded to this review, June 9, 2015
Dear Michele1945,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and share your experience with us and the entire TripAdvisor community!

We really appreciate your kind words about our hotel and its services and especially our helpful team.

Thanks again for recommending us.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you here again.


With warm regards,

Michaela Hajnová
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

We booked our room and stayed there during summer. Unfortunately, Air cond spoilt the whole floor and we hv to suffer 1 night without aircond...

Basic toiletries like conditioner, shampoo and face tissue were not provided. A bit noisy due to traffic noise.

Pros - nearby has a mini market and Asian food stall.

Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalta_GM, Generální ředitel at Plaza Alta, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear JIchannel,

I would like to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are so sorry to read you were not 100% satisfied with our hotel and services. Also please accept our apology for missing toilet amenities in the bathroom. We really do not know how that could even happen – there are always organic cosmetics Eco Boutique products included a shower gel, hand-wash, shampoo & conditioner and face tissues in every bathroom.

We will do our best to improve the mentioned inadequacies and you can count on our entire team to exceed your expectations on your next visit of our hotel.


Kind regards,
Michaela Hajnová
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 7
Absolutum
Absolutum
#290 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Praha 7
Expo
Expo
#343 of 663 in Prague
3.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#157 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 7
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#320 of 663 in Prague
3.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Praha 7
Art Hotel Prague
Art Hotel Prague
#215 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Praha 7
Parkhotel Praha
Parkhotel Praha
#207 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Alta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Alta

Address: Ortenovo Namesti 22, Prague 170 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 7
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#180 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaza Alta 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Multistory Hotel situated in quiet residential area; 1 km to Exhibition Ground; 4 km to downtown; 17 km to airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Plaza Alta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Prague
Prague Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Alta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.