We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what you would expect!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Alta Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Alta Hotel to your Saves list
Plaza Alta Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ortenovo Nam 22, Prague 170 00, Czech Republic (Praha 7)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #236 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Slough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“not what you would expect!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and it definitely wasn't the stay we were expecting afer reading the reviews. To start with the welcome we had from the receptionist with half her hair shaved off was hardly welcoming or friendly. When we got into the room we noticed it was nothing like the pictures on the internet the rooms aren't awful but not what you would expect from a hotel with a 4 star rating and there was always a funny smell in the room and corridor! The breakfasts are also not as advertised, nothing about them is American and on 2 occasions there was no hot food out. on one of the days there was nothing and on the second it was made to order but came out very quickly considering it was meant to have just been cooked! There was a photo in reception of the breakfast which was not even close to what it really was, there was hardly any hot food out at all! On the third morning we had the choice of 2 different types of sausage and a fried egg! When we came to have dinner here it was disgusting! The burger looked and tasted like cardboard and my partners fajitas were greasy, chewy and little taste we were extremely disappointed! I would not stay here again nothing about it was relaxing, enjoyable or anything like it's a dvertised! An all round disapointment!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAlta, General Manager at Plaza Alta Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback to your recent stay in our hotel, however I regret to read that your experience with our hotel did not fully meet your expectations.

I am surprised to hear about your impression of our reception staff that was not friendly enough as they usually get positive feedback from the guests.

Regarding to your comment about hotel room (star rating) I would like to inform you that our hotel meets all list of the mandatory requirements of the European hotel classification for the category hotel - 4* rating. Classification is checked by the Czech Association of Hotels and Restaurants regularly.

Also, I am sorry about your dinner experience, as these two mentioned dishes are among the most popular ones in our restaurant.

Please accept my apology for our breakfast selection. During low season we prefer to serve hot meals on a la carte basis because of the freshness.

I would like to assure you that your feedback was shared and discussed with my colleagues and I am very sorry not to have the possibility to discuss all your comments already during your stay personally with you.


Yours faithfully,

Ivana Holubová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    147
    41
    13
    0
See reviews for
35
169
16
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Although located outside the city centre getting into the city is really easy, number 12 tram stops a 2 minute walk away and the metro, a 10 minute walk gets you to Wenceslas Square very quickly.
We were on the 4th floor ( exec room) and like other guests noticed an odd smell in the corridor. The room was clean and had all we needed, except for the powdered milk:-(. There is a shop over the road where proper milk can be bought.
The lighting ( Eco lighting) took a while to warm up so you needed to turn the bathroom light on about 10 mins before you needed it. Unusually there was a separate toilet and bathroom, very useful after all the cheap beer!
Room was clean and housekeeping good.
7 Tacos restaurant was a good choice for 1st night dinner after arriving about 8pm.
Breakfast was a typical European breakfast (which bore no resemblance to the picture near the lifts) smoked sausage, funny bacon and strange looking eggs but the continental option was good. The self service bean 2 cup coffee machine was great with good quality coffee beans to ensure we got our caffeine fix.
Most of the guests were German, don't think I heard English once during our stay but that wasn't a problem.
Would I stay here again? Probably not, we would like to be a bit closer to the town but all in all it is a reasonably good hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Just spent 4 nights here as part of a package. I have stayed in Prague many times before, and this hotel was very good, much better than some that i have stayed at that were located in the centre, charging more money. Please don't be put off about it's location, although it is in the suburb of Holesovice, it is only around 12mins into the centre on one of the trams. The tickets can be bought in reception (only 110kc for 24hr). The trams are extremely efficient, never seemed to wait more than five minutes for one, and the stop is across the road, they really are very simple to use, just remember to validate your ticket on entry (the yellow box), or risk a fine.
The hotel staff we found to be extremely helpful, and all spoke perfect english, very keen to help with any queries you may have, or give friendly advice. The room was comfy and functional, and comes with a mini bar and snacks, with prices clearly displayed. There is also a safety deposit box in the room which is free of charge. The whole hotel was impeccably kept, and very clean. The breakfast was fantastic, plenty of choice for everyone with a hot and cold buffet, and was delicious everytime. Worth staying for the breakfast alone!! There is also a gym, for which we were told there was no charge. The onsite restaurant has a Mexican theme, couldn't comment on the evening food as we didn't eat there, but the prices looked quite reasonable.
Please note, there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, we took our travel kettle and adapter, and some cups and teabags, milk and sugar are easily available from the shop across the road, so if your a tea/coffee lover, take your own stuff.
All in all, a great base to stay for enjoying this wonderful city, we would stay here again with no hesitation whatsoever

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed here recently for 2 nights with my husband. The hotel is located in the outskirts of Prague, but as others have stated it is pretty easy to get around on the trams (you can buy tickets from Reception and the stop is literally across the road from the hotel). The male receptionists were a lot friendlier than their female colleagues. The bar area is nice, although rather small and the automatic doors mean it's constantly freezing as they open as soon as anyone walks by. Our room was on the 1st Floor and was basic, but clean. There was a strange smell in the corridor and the room itself. If i return to Prague in the future, i would not stay here again because i would prefer a hotel a lot closer to the action.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I have nothing but good things to say about the Plaza Alta. The location is just outside the main city, so its nice and quiet at night. The tram stop is a few feet up the street and a metro station about 6 minutes walk. Once on public transport it takes about 10 minutes to get into the city centre (you can buy tickets from the hotel reception). The hotel is clean, modern, comfortable and the staff are very helpful. It has a good restaurant with reasonably priced food that was very tasty. The car parking was a little expensive, but then most people say don't take a car to Prague so the hotel parking was convenient. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We have visited Prague 5 times and stayed in this hotel on every occasion both as a couple and as a family. It is very clean and modern and staff are both friendly and helpful. Rooms are large and have all the necessary amenities. Breakfast is varied and changes each day to some degree giving a nice variety. It is right next to a tram stop and about 10 15 mins into the new or old town depending which one you take. Can't recommend enough.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights here. We arrived via red-eye flight and had no problem checking in at 11am (despite official 2pm check-in time). The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly, giving us city maps and pamphlets with suggested tours and booked a few tours for us (although we had to pay with cash because they weren't allowed to take credit cards by the tour company).
The location is convenient (2-3 minute walk) to the #12 tram line that drops you off near the Charles Bridge and a 10 minute walk to the nearest metro stop (Nadrazi Holesolice station). If you don't want to use Prague's public transportation then this hotel is too far to walk into town and probably a little expensive for frequent taxi rides to/from the Old City.
Wi-fi worked well throughout the hotel. Our 4th floor room was comfortable. Despite facing the street we didn't find it particularly noisy except for an occasional siren. The A/C worked well. The room had a refrigerator which we discovered the second day, "hidden" behind a wood cabinet door under the flat-screen TV, but no safe for valuables.
The only negative thing about the room was that our combo tub/shower had a high step-over sill to get into and out of it, a problem for those that are less mobile.
The buffet breakfast was very good, the staff was very attentive about restocking depleted items. For lunch and dinner the Mexican restaurant in the same place puts out decent food, maybe slightly different than the Tex-Mex we're used to in the US.
If we ever return to Prague this hotel would be definitely considered.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Alta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Alta Hotel

Address: Ortenovo Nam 22, Prague 170 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 7
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Best Value Hotel in Prague
#161 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#212 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaza Alta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Multistory Hotel situated in quiet residential area; 1 km to Exhibition Ground; 4 km to downtown; 17 km to airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Plaza Alta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Prague
Prague Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Alta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.