We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was ok area was poor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Alta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Alta to your Saves list
Plaza Alta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ortenovo Namesti 22, Prague 170 00, Czech Republic (Praha 7)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #258 of 663 Hotels in Prague
1 review
“Hotel was ok area was poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I didn't have a problem with the hotel it was fine, apart from the lack of sleep I was kept awake most of the night dude to noisy people as you can hear everything going on in the corridors, and I was woken very early in the morning by the maids crashing around upstairs i thought they was going to come through the ceiling at one point, and outside our door they just slammed doors and threw things around. other than that not a problem with the hotel. Whereas the area was terrible we felt like we was in a rough area and we didn't feel safe walking around at night not like there's anything to do at night. There's nothing at all no bars no shops just a little shop to buy pop and crisps from its dark at night and really boring. There is graffiti everywhere it looks horrible. So everyday we took the tram into the old town where we felt safer and we didn't come back until late evening. The old town I also thought wasn't the prettiest it's a run down county and needs a lot of work to make it look more appealing to the eye but this is my opinion. Another problem I had was the residents they are rude and ignorant and manners don't cost anything they would walk into u and glare at u and they would make you feel like you shouldn't be here. They never smiled at you or even seemed greatful when we left a tip at restaurants. I didn't have a good time at all all I wanted was a nice city break with my partner. I won't be coming back again. We're not snobs or anything we genuinely didn't like it.

Anonymous 24. UK

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    168
    42
    14
    0
See reviews for
40
181
16
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Plaza Alta does not look much from the outside but the service, cleanliness and jhelpfulness of the staff make up for this.
Check-in was flawless and the room was a good size for the price.
Staff in the bar and restaurant were pleasant and accommodating (even returning late to the hotel they kept the bar open to serve myself and my colleague even though it was past closing time).
Breakfast was adequate and well presented and check-out was again flawless.
Overall, a well positioned (location-wise - tram stops 10 metres away going into the centre in less than 10 mins) and well run, friendly hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

A really good hotel in this price category, with very friendly staff and great, clean rooms. Inner city can be reached within 10 minutes by tram, just ask at the reception for details.
We didn't try the restaurant ourselves, but the breakfast was totally OK.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was in a good place tram stops right outside etc, was always clean, restaurant was lovely (the Mexican) could of eat there everyday. Staff were moody we never got a 'hello' just got stared at which was weird whenever we walked into the hotel after being out for the day felt like we didnt belong. Rooms were comfortable. I would go back there for the fact of close to everything and nice food and comfy bed but they all really need to work on their people skills

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located near the metro station. We got a corner room at the 3rd floor with a very nice view of the streets and the buildings across the hotel. we can even see the incoming and outgoing metro trains.The rooms are spacious, they have free wifi anywhere within the hotel area including the restaurant cafe. There's wired internet in the bedroom if you prefer to use your laptop instead of tablets. The restaurant cafe at the ground floor serves really good food. The breakfast buffet offers a wide variety of food from cereals, fruits, cold cuts, ham, eggs, breads, coffee and juice. They have a barista so their coffee is excellent! I will definitely stay at this hotel the next time I'm in Prague.

Room Tip: Corner room with a view of the metro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The best part about this Hotel was it was close to everything. City Center, my work place and all the place of importance. There was a tram station just 200 meter from the Hotel. The train station was just 1 km away. The rooms were cozy and extremely clean. The breakfast was nice. There was a Mexican restaurant in the Hotel which was awesome. The staff was very courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: You can buy the tram tickets from the reception of the Hotel. they will also give you the city map...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed at the Plaza Alta in April 2013 and it was very comfortable. Restaurant was reasonably priced for a hotel - cost approx £40 for a main meal and drinks for 4 people and 3 of us had desserts.
Breakfast was hot and cold buffet style which included 2 types of sausage, either poached, boiled or scrambled eggs, a hot pastry, cheese, cooked meats, salad, bread, yoghurts and some pastries. There is a self service toaster but it takes ages to cook anything as well as coffee, tea and juice. More than adequate for a day of sight seeing.
The hotel is a bit out of the way but the metros are a 2 minute walk away and are very reliable.
No tea and coffee in the room though.
Considering how cold it was the rooms were very warm with a tv showing a couple of English news channels. Shower was powerful.
All in all a good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 7
Absolutum
Absolutum
#290 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Praha 7
Expo
Expo
#342 of 663 in Prague
3.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#160 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 7
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#321 of 663 in Prague
3.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Praha 7
Art Hotel Prague
Art Hotel Prague
#214 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Praha 7
Parkhotel Praha
Parkhotel Praha
#208 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Alta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Alta

Address: Ortenovo Namesti 22, Prague 170 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 7
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#180 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaza Alta 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Multistory Hotel situated in quiet residential area; 1 km to Exhibition Ground; 4 km to downtown; 17 km to airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Plaza Alta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Prague
Prague Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Alta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.