We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Light and airy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St. Vitus Cathedral

St. Vitus Cathedral
Prague Castle, Prague, Czech Republic (Hradcany & Letna)
420 224 373 368
Website
Improve this listing
Visit St. Vitus Cathedral like an insider
Special Offer
$21*
and up
Walking Tour of Prague's Royal Route
Ranked #5 of 1,243 things to do in Prague
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Situated at the Prague Castle, St. Vitus Cathedral is the most important and largest church in Prague. The cathedral is the burial place of the former Czech kings and a home of the Czech Crown Jewels.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
93 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Light and airy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

If you want to explore the detail of the cathedral you must purchase an entry ticket. However you can enter the rear of the nave like we did and admire the grandeur of the architecture. It is especially light for a cathedral of this era.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,433
    1,366
    268
    38
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This is a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I turned the corner from the entrance to the castle grounds and my breath was taken away with how beautiful this is. Once inside I was left speechless for the whole time. Words can not describe the feeling of awe once inside. This is a total must when visiting Prague

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Historic.... for a price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Truly enjoyable castle. Unfortunately, we arrived early to book for the 11 o'clock English tour. However, upon arrival we were informed that due to 60 students visiting the castle, the tour would not be available. We did rent the audio tour guide which was great but expensive. The entire day cost about 23pounds but would have been half the price if the tour would have been available. The castle itself is a must-see but I was slightly dissapointed with the total price.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Ornate exterior and even more stunning interior. Definitely worth buying the ticket to enter. The stained glass work is amazing in every nook of the church. Look for the huge organ bay about half way down.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful stained glass but very cold in Feb!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

St Vitus was a lovely cathedral to look around but it wasn't my favourite site in Prague. I guess this depends on personal interest so this is a purely subjective view! The stained glass in the cathedral is very beautiful. There are many points of interest within the cathedral and an audio guide for those sufficiently interested. However there isn't really much info in the cathedral if you don't have an audio guide. The Wencelas Chapel is a highlight but it is very cold inside in Feb,

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. Vitus Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Vitus Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.