We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great history!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jewish Quarter (Josefov)

Jewish Quarter (Josefov)
U Stare Skoly 1, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Praha 1)
222 749 211
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$19*
and up
Prague Ghost Walking Tour
Ranked #61 of 277 Attractions in Prague
Type: Historic Sites, Neighborhoods, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This historic pre-war Jewish neighborhood now stands as a silent memorial to its people.
Sestrières, Piemonte, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great history!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great place to visit if your interested in Jewish history. Synagogues are beautiful!!! the only down side is its a bit money grabbing compared to other places but well worth the money if history is your thing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    140
    66
    44
    21
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pretty architecture, but pushy and expensive shops”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had planned to go on the guided tour as there seems to be some sort of package tour that you have to buy to see inside the sites in Josefov but we decided against because of the price and the apparent quality of the tour. Instead we had a look around the streets, which are beautiful, and a stop down the market. Throughout the rest of our trip in Prague, shop assistants aren't overly pushy, they normally just keep an eye on you but on this market behind the walled off sites, I felt harassed by sales people. Even when I said I'm not interested they followed me and my partner to the next stall trying to sell their products and this happened a few times (in the tourist shops also). It massively took away from the atmosphere of the area.
Good things about the area - National Gallery, the architecture, the luxury shops if you're into that.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brasil
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Make sure to have a tour guide with you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We loved our tour of the Jewish Quarter with Rabbi Ron Hoffberg. Being a Rabbi who lives in Prague for a long time now, he has tons of information to give you about every street stone of the Jewish Quarter. If you are interested in the history of Jews of Central Europe, a tour of the Jewish Quarter of Prague is a must! Each of the synagogues has an interesting story, and the old cemetery is really unique! If you cannot book a tour with Rabbi Hoffberg, he can help you finding other skilled tour guide to make your visit to the Josefov really interesting.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Highly recommend Roman's tour of the Jewish Quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Roman took us through Josefov on a rainy December day, and it was the highlight of our visit to Prague. He is extremely knowledgeable of the history and significance of the sights in the Jewish Quarter. Many things you do and see on vacation end up clouded in memory, but Roman was able to impart meaningful events and facts in a memorable way.
The museums and sights are not cheap, though we considered it to be worth the cost.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Josefov”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I love history and found this area very moving, sad and significant. It is very poignant to see the absence of an entire generation of people from Prague, that was at one time was so vibrant.

Prague once had nearly 40,000 Jewish citizens prior to the German occupation. It was especially heartbreaking, to view the children's art from Terezin concentration camp. There were also a few pictures of these talented children with their art, prior to their transport to death camps and gas chambers. The Germans used Terezin as a show-place to the complacent, Swiss Red Cross, who turned a blind eye to the realities of The Holocaust.

Having read many of the reviews here comenting on collecting money, especially by people from europe, one can see that covert racism is still alive post WWII. Most of the bored venue workers in these Josefov sites are non-Jews and some, seemed bored with their jobs. The Judaica stalls on the street were run by Russians, Slovacs, etc. who had no idea of the background of the items they were selling. Even most of the antique stores in the quarter, were not Jewish and the staff had no idea of the provenance of the items dating from before the liquidation of the Jewish population. It gave one the impression, that the plunder from the dead were being sold again and again...at the expense of the victims.

It is imperative, that people visit these sites, read and ask questions to learn the historical facts beyond their superficial assumptions and pre-judgements...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewish Quarter (Josefov) also viewed

 

Been to Jewish Quarter (Josefov)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jewish Quarter (Josefov), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.