We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in city centre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Alcron Hotel, Prague

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Alcron Hotel, Prague to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Alcron Hotel, Prague
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   StEpanska 624/40 | Praha 1, Prague 11000, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #50 of 661 Hotels in Prague
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel in city centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Everything perfect here.
Good hotel in the city center close to the Old Town ans Wenceslas Square.
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Wide choice at breakfast.
Room was comfortable and clean.
Good value for money.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluAlcron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Alcron Hotel, Prague, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your kind feedback shared here on TripAdvisor.
It is very rewarding to know you have enjoyed the stay and that you recommend our hotel further.
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

With kind regards,

Michal Chour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    335
    75
    11
    6
See reviews for
150
524
84
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Colorado, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel's service was so wonderful, but the hotel itself could use a deep cleaning and a little maintenance. It was not dirty, per se, but just lacked the cleanliness that one would find at this level of property. One thing that was unusual -- there was no shower curtain or complete covering in the shower; but only 5-6" of glass from the left-wall of the tile, connecting to the tub. Perhaps there is a trick to not getting the bathroom floor soaked, but it seemed like a waste of towels and laundry to have to continually soak up the water on the floor. Also, the central cooling system was noisy, and on the blink. Yes, a maintenance person came right away, and pointed out the obvious: it was 23 degree Celcius, and that was as cool as it gets in the rooms -- approximately 73 degrees Fahrenheit.

The food and bar service are wonderful, the presentation beautiful, but your choices are somewhat simple. For me, this was not a detriment, but more of the simplicity of Prague, with a beautiful presentation that seemed to surround the City. The breakfast buffet is plentiful and well worth the extra expense to start your day beautifully. A glass of wine in the dimly lit bar at night is a lovely way to end your day.

Please talk to the concierge (and they can get quite busy) to arrange your transportation needs before you arrive. Invest in an app for your tablet that lets you see how very easy it is to get around by foot, and save the many extra dollars in cab fares because so many streets are pedestrian only. For example, I spent $50 USD traveling approximately 3/4 mile because of the many one-way streets and pedestrian only streets -- walking back to the hotel took less than 20 minutes.

The Czech English is quite good -- you will not need to speak Czech at this hotel, but remember it is their second language and speak slowly an wait patiently for an answer. This is a different world -- a different pace -- different values and it was odd to see that all seemed in order in Prague.

All in all, a lovely visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit with the least amount of A/C noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluAlcron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Alcron Hotel, Prague, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel from September last year.
First of all I would like to point out that we are currently testing alternatives to the shower partitions in order to avoid the shower situation you have described. We apologize for the inconvenience this and the A/C functionality have caused.
The historical Prague is indeed mostly pedestrian, so we advise our guests to walk when they go for sightseeing or restaurants located within walking distance. Our Concierge can definitely advise the best way to get to and from various places. Hailing a cab in Prague can be tricky, as there are many private cab drivers that tend to overcharge tourists, therefore the best is to call a taxi rather than hail one.
Thank you once again for your detailed feedback and we hope to welcome you in our hotel in the future.

With kind regards,

Michal Chour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great Hotel and location. Staff very friendly and helpful Nothing was too much trouble. Great location for both business and pleasure. I will most definitely be booking back into the Radisson on my return trip to Prague in the future

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluAlcron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Alcron Hotel, Prague, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your great comments about our hotel with the TripAdivosr community.
We are pleased to know you will have Radisson Blu as your hotel in Prague and we look forward to your next visit.

With kind regards,

Michal Chour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in an excellent position and great for the first time tourist. A little bit far from the Old Town but still reachable after a brisk 15-20 minute walk!

Our room had that dreadful musty and wet smell about it that many world hotels have, still, you adjust to it after a while and then it is not so noticeable.

All staff are very friendly, courteous and helpful.

Breakfast is great but also an absolute disaster when the crowd is there! We were pushed and pulled everywhere trying to find a suitable table for five of us and finally finished up in the Ballroom where we had to wait at an uncleaned table for some fifteen minutes before being served. The meal however was excellent! Hint!!! Get there early around 7-7.30 am!

We were staggered at the prices for phone calls that were an absolute rip off but this is very common world wide so probably not an issue.

Any complaints are attended to very promptly and the atmosphere of the entire hotel is to please the guests.

Would we stay there again? Most definitely!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluAlcron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Alcron Hotel, Prague, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review shared here on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to know you would stay in our hotel again. For future travelers I would like to point out that the hotel is located on a quiet side street away from the crowds of tourists from the Wenceslas Square, however within a 10-15 minutes walk to the Old Town Square.
We do apologize for the concerns expressed here and we assure you that your comments have been heard and action will be taken to avoid such situations again.

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to prove to you that we can meet and even exceed your expectations.

With kind regards,

Michal Chour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai,India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Just stayed at the Radisson Blu Alcron hotel and I was very impressed with the service as well as the quality of the hotel and rooms.
Also as the hotel is situated very close to Wenceslas Square it is very convenient to move around and visit Prague.
Only criticism I had was against the fact that no bottle water was provided in the rooms and the morning breakfast had few vegetarian options.
Other than this was very impressed by the hotel, staff and facilities.

Room Tip: Take a larger room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluAlcron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Alcron Hotel, Prague, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for kindly sharing your experience in our hotel with the TripAdvisor community.
We are happy you enjoyed our hotel, the service and the facilities offered. You mentioned that we do not provide bottled water in the room. I would like to take the chance to inform our future travelers that the water is available in the room part of the minibar, however the tap water in the city is drinkable, that is why we do not provide bottled water complementary.

We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to welcome you again to our hotel.

With kind regards,

Michal Chour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have stayed in Radisson Blu Alcon for at least 8-10 times in the last year and I think therefore I have quiet a good knowledge about this hotel. To conclude this is an excellent hotel in every sense, and here are my reasons for saying so.

To start with, the location is great. It´s located very near Vaclavske Namesti which is a good starting point for any traveller, no matter if you are here as a first time tourist or already know the city quite well or if you are here on business. I think the location could not be much better. From here you have easy access to both the trams and the metro and you are on a short walking distance from both main shopping areas and tourist attractions like the old city and the Charles Bridge.

The hotel´s entrance doesn´t look very impressive which is misleading since once you enter the lobby you immediately feel the atmosphere of a 5-star hotel, however with a more relaxed feeling than in some other 5-star hotels I´ve tried in Prague. Here you always feel very welcomed but also relaxed. The staff at the reception is friendly and speak good English.

I have tried both the standard room, the junior suite and the executive suite. All the rooms are great, clean and nice. In the suites the minibar is ususally complimentary and included in the room price. The wifi works excellent and I´ve never had any problems with getting connected or to stay connected. The bathroom is very clean and nice in all the rooms. In the executive suite you get two bathrooms.

The breakfast buffet is very nice, but be sure to avoid the most hectic hours, since it can be somewhat crowdy then. About 8.30-8.45AM is a perfect time since many guests seem to come at 9AM. They have a great selection of both cold and hot dishes, and I really like the machine for making fresh orange juice.

The room service is good, and the only thing I have complained about is that during one stay they forget to fill up the minibar from the night before, but I got a prompt response to this complain and since then there have never been any problems.

I´ve also tried the hotel´s 1-star Michelin restaurant Alcron which was a great experience too.

So if you want to stay in an excellent 5-star hotel in the heart of Prague I would very highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluAlcron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Alcron Hotel, Prague, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Mr. Anders,

Thank you for being a loyal guest and for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community.
We are delighted that you had pleasant experiences all throughout your several stays with us. We are here to make our guests happy, and it comes as a rewards knowing you have left our hotel satisfied every time.
Your comprehensive review will come in handy to many future travelers, therefore thank you for your feedback once again and we look forward to welcoming you again.

With kind regards,

Michal Chour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Had 4 night short break at hotel, end February.
Hotel was very nice, breakfast great plenty of choice.
Very nice bedrooms.
Alcron restaurant in the hotel was the best meal we had in Prague.
Hotel is within walking distance for sightseeing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBluAlcron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Alcron Hotel, Prague, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the nice comments about out hotel shared here on TripAdvisor.
We are happy to know you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your future stays.

With kind regards,

Michal Chour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Alcron Hotel, Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Alcron Hotel, Prague

Address: StEpanska 624/40 | Praha 1, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#42 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#44 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#62 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Alcron Hotel, Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alcron is ideally located in the heart of the cultural, historical, shopping and business areas. In May 2008 all 206 guest rooms were refurbished in the Art Deco style to reflect the ambiance of a bygone era while including all modern conveniences and unsurpassed amenities. Exquisite dining opportunities in two award-winning restaurants and live music programs ensure that your stay will be memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Alcron Hotel, Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Alcron Hotel, Prague Hotel Prague
Radisson Prague
Prague Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Alcron Hotel, Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.