We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Design, nice breakfast, stylish rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Design Hotel Josef Prague

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Design Hotel Josef Prague to your Saves list
Design Hotel Josef Prague
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rybna 693/20, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 663 Hotels in Prague
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Design, nice breakfast, stylish rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The hotel is conveniently located in the center of Prague and offers very modern rooms, a nice breakfast buffet and overall a stylish design from the reception area to the rooms. I enjoyed staying in the Pink Tower and spending a few nights on a business trip become all the more pleasurable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear martuetz,

We would like to thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor about our property.
It is so nice to know that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Josef and we truly hope that we contributed to a pleasant time in Prague on your business trip.
We will be looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,449
    400
    51
    13
    10
See reviews for
212
927
99
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights ,I think it was very good hotel in different ways ,first the location was very good you can walk to old town and many beautiful places in around 10 min(we joined to one off the walking tours and it was really good).Second the breakfast was very good specially the bakery part which baked fresh bread also you can make fresh juice or order it also remember you can order breakfast with is in the menu .Third our room was clean and has extra bed for my child (I have forgotten to tell you on first day they gave a box of toy to my daughter which she enjoyed a lot) . We reserved our room with internet so they gave us a free diner ,we ordered burger and pasta and … which were very delicious.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Yas007,

Many thanks for your nice review and also for having chosen Hotel Josef for your stay in Prague.
We loved to read that you enjoyed our facilities and the little touches we added, such as the box of toys upon arrival for your child. Thank you as well for mentioning other aspects and features of our hotel that you were satisfied with - it is especially nice to know that you liked our bakery in the breakfast restaurant.
We hope to see you again for a future stay!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stayed here for two nights. The hotel, its location, and the staff are terrific. Its a 5 minute walk from the old town center square and yet is quiet. I walked all over Prague with this hotel as the hub. The rooms are modern, clean and sleek. Its not overly fancy and the rooms are small. Even my local friends were impressed that I was staying there. Thanks to trip advisor, i found this property and would stay here again in a heartbeat. They also arranged for transportation, at a reasonable price, to the airport very early the next morning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear motowninchapelhill,

Thank you so much for having chosen us in Prague as well as for leaving your wonderful review on our TripAdvisor page.
We are so happy to know that we managed to contribute to a pleasant stay at Hotel Josef during your business trip. It was especially nice to read that you were satisfied with the service our staff provided you with.
We all look forward to seeing you again here!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Let me get straight to my point. We were very disappointed right at check-in to be told that breakfast is not included because we booked through Expedia. We make our bookings through travel sites so we can pay in US Dollars and have a single itinerary. The rates were the same on Expedia and the hotel's website ... except Hotel Josef wants to recover the commission by cutting breakfast to those who book through a travel site. We complained twice, and both times got a very dry "sorry that's our contract" response. Otherwise, the room was spacious, modern and clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Rafi P,

Thank you for having taken the time to write and post your review on our TripAdvisor page as well as for having chosen us through one of our partners for your stay in Prague.
We were pleased to read that you were satisfied with the cleanliness and design of your spacious room and we appreciate your positive comments.
Concerning the breakfast, please let me point out that we would appreciate not being held responsible for the terms and conditions which you have agreed to with our partner and we hope that the confirmation provided by Expedia stated exactly what your booking included. I would also like to add that I personally sent you an email prior to your arrival about your breakfast not being included, offering you the possibility to add it to your reservation.
We are sorry to hear that this issue negatively affected your vacation and we sincerely hope that you still had a pleasant and enjoyable time in Prague.

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We are just back from a 4-night break at the Hotel Josef for a special birthday celebration. Prague is a great destination for a city break and this hotel really is an ideal base.

The first advantage is the hotel's location: it's 5 minutes walk from the Old Town centre square yet tucked away on a quiet side street. It's bordering the exclusive designer shopping street/area so the neighbourhood has a nice vibe; think South Kensington rather than Kings Cross. That said, there are plenty or bars and eateries catering for all tastes and budgets close by.

Secondly, there's the design. Many hotels we looked at before booking looked fussy and quite traditional; this is the complete opposite with brightly lit public areas, expanses of glass and nice modern features.

The room we had (706 with balcony) was clean, very comfortable and with every amenity you could need. Admittedly, with an inward view, it wasn't that inspiring but on the plus side, very quiet - no traffic noise whatsoever. The Nespresso machine was a great touch.

Breakfast, like other reviewers say, was amazing and catered for everyone; fried English, cereals, continental cheese and ham, yoghurts, Actimel drinks - you name it, they had it and facilities to create your own fresh fruit smoothies. And the staff were very attentive and would get you anything, even if it wasn't catered for.

Throughout our stay, the staff were friendly and really helpful. Nothing seemed to phase them and when we had one minor niggle, it was dealt with very efficiently.

So, considering the location, quality, comfort and overall experience, this was a great value hotel and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to friends and family.

If we come back to Prague, we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Balcony's are great, but small Inward facing rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear gpglos,

We would like to thank you for sharing your detailed and really nice review about your stay at Hotel Josef and thank you also for having chosen us for such a special occasion as a birthday celebration.
Our entire team loved to read your nice comments; it is great motivation to hear your feedback. We appreciate your positive words about our convenient location, design, your room, breakfast and it is our greatest pleasure to know that you were satisfied with the service our staff provided you with.
We would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Full disclosure- I work for a Five Star Hotel company in America. That being said, Hotel Josef is a phenomenal Hotel and excellent value! I can't say enough nice things about this hotel. I was impressed the moment I received an email months before our arrival, asking if we needed help with anything (tours, restaurant reservations, etc). We used the hotel's car service to pick us up from the airport and not only was the service prompt and professional, the car was clean and comfortable and the driver was friendly and acted as a your guide the whole drive into the city! The hotel is clean, modern, and in a great location. The staff was incredibly friendly and always going above and beyond whenever we needed anything- we asked about trains to Vienna and the FD agent offered to look at all the options available and leave a printed copy in our room! The room was spacious, clean and the bathroom amenities were great. The breakfast is out of this world! They make their own pastries, have tons of delicious offerings on their buffet and even have a daily special each day. The breakfast is a huge value-add.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I would absolutely return. First Class, Hotel Josef!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear kellynicole2014,

We would like to thank you for sharing your fantastic review regarding your recent stay at Hotel Josef with us and other readers on TripAdvisor!
We are so humbled and delighted to hear your wonderful feedback about the features of our hotel and the aspects of your stay that you were satisfied with. It is so encouraging to know that you appreciated the little extras we add to our guests' stay and our entire team were happy to hear your kind comments about the service they provided you with.
We sincerely hope you will be visiting us again soon!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We loved this hotel. It is not overly fancy and the rooms are a bit small. However, it is clean and the staff is amazing. The breakfast is the best. The location is convenient to see all the sights. The concierge staff is first rate.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear rmh12345,

We would like to thank you for sharing your nice review with us and other readers on TripAdvisor about Hotel Josef.
It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are happy that we could contribute to a nice experience in Prague. Thank you also for mentioning how much you appreciated the assistance of our staff, it is great motivation to hear such positive feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#21 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,510 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,121 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#31 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#22 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#19 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#29 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Address: Rybna 693/20, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#25 Family Hotel in Prague
#29 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#33 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Design Hotel Josef Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.