We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, great breakfast, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Design Hotel Josef Prague

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Design Hotel Josef Prague to your Saves list
Design Hotel Josef Prague
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rybna 20, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Praha 1)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Palm Beach Gardens
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Staff, great breakfast, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We loved this hotel. It is not overly fancy and the rooms are a bit small. However, it is clean and the staff is amazing. The breakfast is the best. The location is convenient to see all the sights. The concierge staff is first rate.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear rmh12345,

We would like to thank you for sharing your nice review with us and other readers on TripAdvisor about Hotel Josef.
It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are happy that we could contribute to a nice experience in Prague. Thank you also for mentioning how much you appreciated the assistance of our staff, it is great motivation to hear such positive feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,292
    339
    40
    13
    8
See reviews for
181
818
88
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

From the outset I have to say this is probably one of the best hotels we have stayed in recently. Many factors work so well together: the helpful staff, the comfortable, clean and attractive rooms, the yummy breakfast and the position of the hotel. Firstly the staff - they couldn't be more delightful and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and every request or question was responded to cheerfully and efficiently. This was true from the from desk, to Marta [the lovely concierge] to the breakfast staff and even the hotel drivers. The rooms are large, beautifully appointed, quiet, and the beds extremely comfortable. The breakfast was delicious with multiple options to suit every palate: pre-cooked and freshly prepared to order. The extra nice aspect was that breakfast was available until 11.30 am so one could linger and never experience the sense of being rushed out. The position was also excellent. Close enough to all the major sites but far enough away to avoid the seas of tourists and their associated noise.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough - we enjoyed our stay immensely.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear SueFischer,

Thank you so much for providing us with your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at Hotel Josef.
It was lovely to read that you were satisfied with so many factors of the hotel. We would also like to thank you for sharing your experience with us about our staff; everyone was really happy to hear your wonderful feedback, especially our Concierge team.
We would be pleased to have you staying with us again in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Based on prior reviews in this site, we booked into this hotel. My first impression was DIVE.
I am picky. The physical condition of the hotel only merits 3+ stars - but i have NEVER ever, not in the finest hotels world wide, have ever had such KIND ATTENTIVE service.
There was almost nothing that the staff would not do. Kind, considerate, attentive.
The rooms are small - we booked on a travel web site, got a great deal, and probably would have been better off spending a little more for an upgraded room. The design is modern. Clean, though carpet needs a replacement. Bedding/linens are awful. Bathrooms very small but very clean and modern. Amenities good. GREAT location.
So here is the bottom line:
options that are really very close to the old town square are few. It is a good option but do NOT expect a Ritz. Also - a shout out for the awesome breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: if rates are good, upgrade to the best room you can afford. Also - overlook the courtyard. It is pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, General Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear RSM6300,

First of all, please allow us to thank you for your detailed feedback about your recent stay at Hotel Josef as well as for having chosen us in Prague.
We are grateful for your positive comments and kind recognition of our staff for the attentiveness and helpful service they provided you with and for their efforts in contributing to a pleasant experience and enjoyable time here.
Your feedback about our property’s physical features is also really important to us – your honest opinion gives us the opportunity to improve. We are constantly renewing and renovating different parts of the hotel and the points you mentioned are on our to do list.
We really appreciate your comments and hope you will come back to see the changes.

Kindest regards,
Manfred Tobolka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Just had a 3 day business trip to Prague. Hotel is modern, with a central Prague location. The bar was open late, breakfast was very varied, and for those in a rush, free pastries and orange juice from reception. WiFi was fast, and free. didn't have evening meal in the hotel so can't comment on that. Reception staff spoke such fluent English I wondered if they were English. No queues on checkout. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have been renovated and are very modern - ask for one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear AddlestoneFamily,

Many thanks for your nice review as well as for having chosen Hotel Josef in Prague. It makes us really happy to know that our property met your expectations for a business stay.
We truly appreciate your nice comments about the aspects you liked here, such as our breakfast and WiFi connection. We were also pleased to read your kind words about our team, it is great motivation to hear such feedback.
We sincerely hope that we could contribute to a successful and smooth business trip and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and found the location great; within easy walking distance of all the main sights but in a relatively quiet area. Staff are friendly and helpful and the concierge, Mirka, smoothly arranged services, a concert, etc.
The breakfast is wonderful with a fabulous selection of hot and cold foods and you can make your own fresh juice or smoothies.
My only hesitancy in recommending this hotel is the bathroom has walls of glass and limited privacy so may not be suitable if travelling with a friend or child.
But overall would definitely recommend, and great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear AtticusShmatticus,

We would like to thank you for leaving your positive review on our TripAdvisor page regarding your recent stay at Hotel Josef.
It makes us glad to know that you liked so many features here. We were especially happy to hear your feedback about our staff and thank you also for mentioning Mirka for the kind service she provided you with.
We appreciate your feedback about our glass bathrooms - we also have regular, lime-stone bathrooms and we are always happy to accommodate requests according to our guests' preferences.
Thank you once more for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Very good hotel with an amazing breakfast buffet. Unfortunately, when we arrived we had to be relocated for a first night because of a technical problem. Interestingly, we bumped to other people who had a similar experience even at the sister hotel. The alternative hotel was very good, nevertheless, and only a couple of minutes from hotel Josef and we were sent a taxi in the morning in time for breakfast. We were compensated for the inconvenience - two free cocktails from the bar, a free lunch for two with drinks and a bottle of wine in our room. The staff were very friendly. The rooms were modern and very stylish with very comfortable bed and pillows. It could not be faulted. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear DavJo12,

Thank you for your time to write and post your kind review on TripAdvisor.
We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Josef and appreciated the compensation for the inconvenience in the beginning. We also loved to read your feedback about our breakfast, your room, bed and pillows and it makes us really happy to hear your positive comments about our staff.
It would be our pleasure to see you again!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed 5 days at Hotel Josef in early June in room 704 with two walls of glass and stunning views over Prague. The room is very comfortable: bed, chairs, desk, etc. The bath is exceptional and the shower spectacular! The staff went out of its way to be helpful. The concierge, Marketa, was among the best I've dealt with. Breakfasts were more like brunch; you certainly didn't' need a midday meal after the variety and excellence of the choices from the buffet or the menu. My only complaint is that in their desire to preserve the minimalist look of the room (which is most pleasing) there are not a lot of drawers to keep clothes. In sum, I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We loved 704 with its terrace, glass walls and views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear rabddoug,

Please allow us to thank you for taking the time to write and post your wonderful review on our TripAdvisor page regarding your stay in June at Hotel Josef.
We were really happy to read your nice comments about the facilities you enjoyed here and we would like to thank you for mentioning all the aspects that you liked, such as our breakfast and your room - however, we are sorry to know that you were not entirely satisfied with the storage space provided.
Furthermore, we would also like to thank you for mentioning how much you appreciated the assistance our staff provided you with - Marketa was especially happy to see her name in your comments.
We are glad to know that we could contribute to a pleasant time in Prague and we would be happy to welcome you back!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Address: Rybna 20, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#16 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#16 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#18 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Design Hotel Josef Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.