We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot, attentive and kind staff -great attention to detail!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Design Hotel Josef Prague

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Design Hotel Josef Prague to your Saves list
Design Hotel Josef Prague
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rybna 693/20, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect spot, attentive and kind staff -great attention to detail!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The location was perfect - a few blocks from old town and shopping area. The hotel is beautifully designed, modern yet comfortable and very clean. The staff is so kind and helpful. I am impressed and will stay here again. Clean, Quaint and kind.

Room Tip: Room was modern, comfortable. I was rarely in the room. Work and then walking the city. It was ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, General Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Dana S,

I would like to thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor about Hotel Josef.
It was my great pleasure to read that you had a pleasant stay here. Our entire team were happy to hear how much you appreciated the service they provided you with.
I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a future stay!

Best regards,
Manfred Tobolka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,449
    400
    51
    13
    10
See reviews for
212
927
99
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prievidza, Slovakia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This hotel is amazing! Its located in the old city Centrum, Prague 1, so its very close to the best restaurants, pubs and historical sites. The hotel has an amazing design. There are two part of the hotel, the Pink and the Orange house. I stayed in the Pink House. The design of the rooms is the same but I saw one room in the Orange house which was actually better. It had glass bathroom, milk glass toilet door, glass shower and glass sink. Very stylish. The hotel is very clean, did not have any problems what so ever, the reception staff is very polite and helpful. The staff is international with perfect English and some very nice Czech as well. The breakfast is exquisite. Fresh, warm bread, different type of cheese, hot and cold buffet. They even make cappuccino for you and they also make fresh juice on request (or you help yourself). They prepare fresh pancakes and smoothies. All you can wish for. And the best thing is that the breakfast is available until 11:30 am and can be brought to the room. This hotel is amazing, perfect location, perfect service and perfect food.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Jana M,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this kind review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed so many features of our hotel such as the unique design and the wide variety of our breakfast.
We pride ourselves in providing our guests with great service and therefore it is delightful to see the positive comments you shared about our staff.
We would like to thank you once more for choosing to stay at Hotel Josef in Prague and hope to see you in the very near future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

My husband and I recently travelled to Prague a couple of months ago and stayed at the Hotel Josef. The hotel is a fusion of all that is contemporary along with avant-garde Czech designs that give it a beautifully artistic and modern look. Our guestroom was spacious and overlooked the Zen-inspired courtyard which was simply magnificent. I also availed some of the services including a relaxing massage at the hotel’s sauna and massage room. Strategically located at the heart of Prague, it is walking distance from the Old Town Square, Charles Bridge and the opera halls if you are a connoisseur of music. Our bathroom had a tub and other basic amenities. What I liked most was the fact that the rooms are sound-proofed, which made us quite oblivious to the outside world. Room-service was excellent and the food tasted delicious as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear PolitMoodiTraci,

Thank you so much for recommending us on TripAdvisor and also for having chosen us for your stay in Prague.
We appreciate your kind comments regarding all the features you liked here, such as our design, atmosphere and location, and we are really glad to know that you enjoyed our facilities.
We will look forward to your return visit!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

My husband & I stayed 3 nights for my birthday and had a wonderful experience. The room was spacious, brightly decorated, quiet and clean. Our only complaint was the cost vs. the quality & quantity of the buffet breakfast. It was too expensive and everything was cold. I have had Eggs Benedict many, many times and I have never had it served completely cold with only one egg.
Loved the location... short walk to Old Town Square and lots of good restaurants within close proximity to hotel. We will definitely stay here again... just skip the breakfast.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Operations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear luxpoet,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write and post your review on our TripAdvisor page about Hotel Josef. We are delighted that you have chosen us for such a special occasion as celebrating your birthday. It was great to read your kind comments regarding your spacious and quiet room and our prime location.

We are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the quality of our breakfast and the dish that you had ordered. We take great pride in our extensive breakfast selection which contains cold and hot food prepared to order and is included for all guests who book directly with us. We are sad to read that in your case we could not meet your expectations. Your comments have been taken on board and passed on to our head chef.

Once more, thank you for providing us with your feedback and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Florentine Rehm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed in an apartment most of our time in Prague but booked this hotel for the final three days and were very happy! The hotel is in a great location. Just a short walk to Old Town Square. The staff were very helpful and friendly. If you don't want to book an apartment, this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear 11Wanderlust11,

We would like to thank you for sharing your nice review with us on our TripAdvisor page! We are glad that you liked Hotel Josef and enjoyed many aspects of your styay with us.
It was delightful to read how much you appreciated the location and that you were also satisfied with the assistance of our staff.
We hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I spent 3 days at this hotel with my wife, my in law and 2 children, one is still a baby. we had quite a large room. I love that our room is equipped with Nespresso machine and the Nespresso is re-stocked everyday.

I also liked that the staff is very thoughtful, they provide a baby basinet for our baby...although we end up not using it, its the thought that counts.

The hotel it self is very modern, quite a contrast to the old prague. It is also very clean and neat.

The breakfast was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, General Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Ken I,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your recent stay at Hotel Josef. We pride ourselves in proving the best service at all times and I am very happy to hear that we have exceeded your expectations regarding so many aspects.
On behalf of the whole Josef team, I would like to thank you for being our guest and I hope to see you very soon for a future stay.

Best regards,
Manfred Tobolka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Austria, Austria
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We got a great deal for a long weekend, incl. breakfast and parking (which is not a bargain in Prague). At arrival, our luggage was unloaded by a staff member who showed me the parking place as well. The employee at the reception desk was also very friendly.

The room (no. 502, street view) was very spacious, but a little bit noisy. However, as the traffic during night time is very limited, it was not a problem to get a proper sleep. The bed was also very cozy. The bathroom offered a nice shower.

Buffet breakfast was really great, offering a wide choice of bread, cheese, eggs, cerials,.... An additional plus - you can make your own fresh fruit juice. The staff was very attentive, asking if we would like to have an omelette, fried eggs,... They have an Nespresso machine to make coffee on your own, or you can simply order one.

The location is realy a big asset of Hotel Josef, as it only takes you some minutes by feet to get to the city center, a metro station is also within a short waling distance (Namesti Republiki, line B).

The only thing that does not allow an "excellent" rating is the fact that our room showed some damages on the furniture and dirty spots on the carpet, something you would not expect in a hotel of that category (

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Christof B,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review regarding your recent stay in Hotel Josef.
We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed the friendly attitude of our staff and the breakfast. Our team strives to provide guests with the best possible service at all times and we are glad that we succeeded in these aspects of your stay.
We are also happy that you appreciated the spacious room provided to you as well as the central location of Hotel Josef; however we are sorry to hear that you found damages in the room. Thank you for pointing this out; we are currently working on renovating the hotel rooms by replacing the damaged furniture and carpets.
The whole team at Hotel Josef would like to thank you for choosing us for your recent stay in Prague and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#21 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,508 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,119 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#34 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#22 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#19 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#29 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Address: Rybna 693/20, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#27 Family Hotel in Prague
#30 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#33 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Design Hotel Josef Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.